A A A

Bringing cancer out of hiding - A Sherbrooke researcher funded by the Canadian Cancer Society removes the “cloak of invisibility” from cancer cells

04 September 2014

Sherbrooke -

Thanks to research at the Université de Sherbrooke funded by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), the immune system may recognize cancer cells more easily, which could lead to new treatments.

Cancer knows how to hide from the immune system, that is, the body’s defence system. Fortunately, cancer cells could soon lose their “cloak of invisibility” through the work of Dr Subburaj Ilangumaran, an immunotherapy specialist at the Université de Sherbrooke. Immunotherapy is a treatment that stimulates or enhances the immune system to protect the organism.

Dr Ilangumaran and his team’s work on the NLRC5 protein appears to be very promising. The protein is present in most types of cancer and controls the production of several other proteins necessary for the “immune visibility” of cancer.

This research could give rise to additional cancer treatments. “Chemotherapy and radiation therapy work in the short term,” says the researcher. “By facilitating the detection of cancer cells by the immune system, we may be able to reduce the risk of recurrence and offer a more long-term treatment.” This novel idea was identified as one of the most important scientific breakthroughs of the year 2013 by the prestigious Science magazine.

Dr Ilangumaran is one of the 14 researchers in Quebec who received a Canadian Cancer Society’s Innovation Grant. Among them is also Vanessa Dumeaux, of McGill University, who is studying the body’s response to the presence of a tumour and how this influences the course of the disease.

Poop that lights up when cancer is present

In total, some 51 researchers were awarded $10 million by the Canadian Cancer Society. Of these, two McMaster University researchers are currently developing what could become an inexpensive and simple test to detect colorectal cancer. Dr Yingfu Li, biochemist, and Dr Bruno Salena, gastroenterologist, are developing DNAzymes that will become fluorescent upon contact with cancer markers in stool samples. This could one day become a non-invasive alternative to colonoscopy and help treat cancer at an early stage to increase the chances of recovery.

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. With the support of thousands of Quebecers, donors and volunteers, we fight to prevent more cancers, enable our researchers to make more discoveries, and help more people touched by the disease. Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

Faire sortir le cancer de sa cachette - Un chercheur de Sherbrooke financé par la Société canadienne du cancer enlève aux cellules cancéreuses leur « cape d’invisibilité »

04 septembre 2014

Sherbrooke -

Le système immunitaire reconnaîtra plus facilement les cellules cancéreuses, ce qui pourrait mener à de nouveaux traitements, grâce à des travaux à l’Université de Sherbrooke financés par la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC).

Le cancer sait se cacher du système immunitaire, c’est-à-dire du système qui assure la défense de notre corps. Heureusement, les cellules cancéreuses pourraient bientôt perdre leur « cape d’invisibilité » grâce aux travaux du Dr Subburaj Ilumangamaran, un spécialiste en immunothérapie de l’Université de Sherbrooke. L’immunothérapie est un traitement qui déclenche ou accentue la protection de l’organisme par le système immunitaire.

Le Dr Ilangumaran et son équipe travaillent sur la protéine NLRC5, qui semble très prometteuse. Elle est présente dans la plupart des types de cancer et elle contrôle la production de plusieurs protéines nécessaires à la « visibilité immunitaire » du cancer.

Ces travaux pourraient conduire à des traitements additionnels contre la maladie. « La chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie agissent à court terme, explique le chercheur. En facilitant la détection des cellules cancéreuses par le système immunitaire, nous pourrions réduire les risques de récidives et offrir un traitement à long terme. » Cette idée, très nouvelle, a été consacrée l’une des percées scientifiques les plus importantes de l’année 2013 par le prestigieux magazine Science.

Le Dr Ilangumaran est l’un des 14 chercheurs du Québec ayant reçu une Subvention pour l’innovation de la Société canadienne du cancer. Parmi eux, mentionnons Vanessa Dumeaux, de l’Université McGill, qui étudie la réaction du corps en présence d’une tumeur et comment cette réponse influence le déroulement de la maladie.

Des selles fluo pour détecter le cancer colorectal

Au total, quelque 51 chercheurs canadiens se sont vu décerner 10 millions de dollars par la Société canadienne du cancer. Ainsi, deux chercheurs de l’Université McMaster développent actuellement ce qui pourrait devenir un test peu coûteux et simple pour détecter le cancer colorectal. Le Dr Yingfu Li, biochimiste, et le Dr Bruno Salena, gastroentérologue s’emploient à mettre au point des molécules d’ADN catalytique devenant fluo au contact de traces de cancer dans des échantillons de selles. Cela pourrait devenir un jour une solution de rechange non invasive à la coloscopie, laquelle permettrait de traiter le cancer à un stade précoce pour améliorer les chances de guérison des patients.

Chaque jour, la Société canadienne du cancer travaille à sauver plus de vies. Grâce à des milliers de Québécois, donateurs et bénévoles, elle lutte pour prévenir plus de cancers, permettre à nos chercheurs de faire plus de découvertes et aider plus de personnes touchées par la maladie. Sauvons + de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444