The Canadian Cancer Society’s exclusive study: 5,000 children have already tried an electronic cigarette in Grade 6! One in three high school students have already smoked it (142,000 youths).

13 August 2014

Montreal -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division this morning revealed the results of a study that shows the popularity of electronic cigarettes among Quebec school students. According to the data gathered in 2012-2013, some 5,000 students in the final year of elementary school have already tried electronic cigarettes. High school students are no less tempted. While 8.5% of Grade 6 students in elementary school have used electronic cigarettes, the figure rises to 22% in the first year of high school. That’s more than a third of high school students – around 142,000 students – who’ve smoked electronic cigarettes.

Another cause for concern: even if electronic cigarettes are attractive to students who are already smokers, 18% of high school students – around 48,000 – who’ve never smoked have also tried them. In addition, 31% of high school students (around 84,000) who’ve never smoked an electronic cigarette are interested in giving it a try in the future.

“As far as the CCS is concerned, the government must act urgently to amend the Tobacco Act so that electronic cigarettes are not sold to minors and don’t create a fad among school students. Youths should be prevented from smoking in schoolyards,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director, CCS – Quebec Division.

So, the CCS wants the regulation of electronic cigarettes to be included in the Tobacco Act to lead to a:

  • Ban on e-cigarette sales to minors (currently, no such regulation stops a merchant from selling electronic cigarettes to a minor)
  • Ban on using electronic cigarettes in public places where tobacco is not allowed
  • Regulation of advertising/promotion
  • Regulation of product ingredients and emissions

The CCS urges the government to act without delay because it has become child’s play to buy e-liquid refills containing nicotine, an illegal product, on the Web or at a shop. “These data are especially worrying because the industry is working very quickly to make electronic cigarettes more widely available by increasing the points of sale,” adds Ms. Dubois.

Canadian Cancer Society-funded study
Use of electronic cigarettes by Quebec school students, 2012-2013

Use (%) Number of students
Grade 6 (Elementary) 8.5 5,000
Secondary 1 22.2 18,900
Secondary 2 35.3 30,800
Secondary 3 36.2 32,800
Secondary 4 38.1 30,200
Secondary 5 40.9 29,500
Total (Secondary 1 to 5) 34.3 142,100
Electronic cigarettes and minors:
  • 5,000 Grade 6 students in elementary school have already tried electronic cigarettes
  • More than one in three or around 142,000 high school students have already smoked electronic cigarettes
  • Some 48,000 high school students who’ve never smoked have already tried electronic cigarettes (18%)
  • More than 8 in 10 high school students have heard about electronic cigarettes

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. With the support of thousands of Quebecers, donors and volunteers, we fight to prevent more cancers, enable our researchers to make more discoveries, and help more people touched by the disease. Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

Étude exclusive de la SCC : 5000 enfants de la 6e année du primaire ont utilisé la cigarette électronique! Au secondaire, 1 élève sur 3 en a déjà fait usage (142 000 jeunes).

13 août 2014

Montréal -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec a dévoilé ce matin les résultats d’une étude qui révèle la popularité de la cigarette électronique auprès des élèves du Québec. Selon des données recueillies en 2012-2013, quelque 5000 élèves de la 6e année du primaire ont déjà essayé la cigarette électronique. La cigarette électronique séduit aussi les élèves du secondaire. Alors qu’ils sont 8,5 % à l’avoir déjà utilisée parmi les élèves de la 6e année du primaire, ils sont 22 % de la 1re année du secondaire à l’avoir fait. C’est plus d’un élève du secondaire sur trois qui a déjà utilisé la cigarette électronique, ce qui représente environ 142 000 élèves.

Autre élément inquiétant : même si la cigarette électronique est attrayante pour les élèves qui fument la cigarette, 18 % des élèves du secondaire qui n’ont jamais fumé l’ont déjà essayée, soit environ 48 000 élèves. De plus, 31 % des élèves du secondaire n'ayant jamais utilisé la cigarette électronique (environ 84 000 élèves) auraient un intérêt à l’essayer dans le futur.

« Pour la SCC, il est urgent que le gouvernement révise la Loi sur le tabac afin que la cigarette électronique ne soit pas vendue aux mineurs, d’autant plus qu’elle suscite un engouement chez les élèves. Les jeunes ne devraient pas pouvoir jouer à fumer dans les cours d’école », déclare Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale, SCC – Division du Québec.

La SCC demande donc d’inclure dans la Loi sur le tabac un encadrement de la cigarette électronique qui amènera un(e) :

  • Interdiction de la vente aux mineurs (en ce moment, aucune réglementation n’empêche un commerçant de vendre une cigarette électronique à un mineur)
  • Interdiction de fumer la cigarette électronique dans les lieux publics où le tabac est interdit
  • Encadrement de la publicité/promotion
  • Réglementation sur le contenu du produit et de ses émissions

La SCC demande au gouvernement d’agir sans délai car c’est désormais un jeu d’enfant que d’acheter des recharges e-liquides contenant de la nicotine, un produit illégal, via Internet ou en boutique. « Ces données sont particulièrement préoccupantes puisque l’industrie s’organise rapidement en multipliant les points de vente pour rendre la cigarette électronique de plus en plus accessible », ajoute Mme Dubois.

Étude financée par la Société canadienne du cancer
Utilisation de la cigarette électronique par les élèves du Québec, 2012-2013

Utilisation (%) Nombre d'élèves
6e année du primaire 8,5 5000
1re secondaire 22,2 18 900
2e secondaire 35,3 30 800
3e secondaire 36,2 32 800
4e secondaire 38,1 30 200
5e secondaire 40,9 29 500
Total (1re à 5e secondaire) 34,3 142 100
La cigarette électronique et les mineurs :
  • 5000 élèves de la 6e année du primaire ont déjà essayé la cigarette électronique
  • Plus d’un élève sur trois du secondaire a déjà utilisé la cigarette électronique, soit environ 142 000 élèves
  • Quelque 48 000 élèves du secondaire qui n’ont jamais fumé la cigarette ont déjà utilisé la cigarette électronique (18 %)
  • Plus de 8 élèves du secondaire sur 10 ont entendu parler de la cigarette électronique

La Société canadienne du cancer travaille à sauver plus de vies. Grâce à des milliers de Québécois, donateurs et bénévoles, elle lutte pour prévenir plus de cancers, permettre à nos chercheurs de faire plus de découvertes et aider plus de personnes touchées par la maladie. Sauvons + de vies : visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444