Major advances in cancer vaccines in Quebec - The Canadian Cancer Society grants $2.3 M to three research teams in Quebec

26 February 2013

Montreal, QC -

This morning, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) announced that it will grant $2.3 million to researchers in Montreal and Quebec City who are aiming to develop cancer vaccines.

“We are excited by these strategies that take advantage of the patient’s immune system,” comments Melody Enguix, Scientific Communication Advisor, CCS – Quebec Division. “These projects demonstrate the strength of the immunology research community in Quebec.”

In addition to providing support for the work of Dr Claude Perreault of Université de Montréal, Dr Michel Tremblay of McGill University, and Dr Yves Fradet of Université Laval, the CCS is also providing 9 Impact Grants to Canadian researchers (for a total of $13 million). In Quebec, a total of 5 researchers are receiving grants ($4.7 million in all), including Dr Guy Sauvageau at IRIC for his work on leukemia drugs and Dr Robert Day of Université de Sherbrooke for his work on prostate cancer.

Cancer vaccines: a promising path

Cancer vaccines are not designed to prevent cancer; instead, they treat the disease and prevent its recurrence. Scientists refer to this promising strategy as immunotherapy. Its goal is to stimulate the immune system, the body’s natural defence against disease, which cancer cells can sometimes outsmart.

In Quebec City, Dr Yves Fradet’s team at Université Laval aims to apply this approach to bladder cancer. In 2012, this disease affected 7,800 people in Canada and 2,740 people in Quebec. Most notably, it is a form of cancer that often recurs in patients. “It’s a lifelong proposition,” says Dr Yves Fradet regretfully. His work aims to provide patients with a vaccine that enables their body to defend against recurrence.

Today, the standard treatment is a simple form of immunotherapy in which weakened bacteria (known as BCG) are injected into the bladder. As a result, immune cells are alerted and mobilized in the bladder where they discover the cancer cells, which become “collateral victims” of their attack. “Currently, this is one of the rare forms of immunotherapy available clinically,” explains Dr Fradet, “but it is too rudimentary.” As the immune system does not specifically target the cancer, it retains no memory of the cancer cells and cannot prevent recurrence. With the CCS’s $1 million grant, Dr Fradet and his team aim to create a vaccine with tumour proteins designed to enable immune cells to recognize cancer cells and remember them in the event of recurrence.

Dr Claude Perreault has found a means to educate immune cells. His team at the Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC) at Université de Montréal has shown that leukemia cells in mice feature typical surface proteins that can be detected and memorized by certain immune cells known as memory T cells. These immune cells are harvested, “trained” in the laboratory to recognize cancer-related proteins, and re-injected into the body. “We’ve cured enough mice,” says Dr Perreault, joking. He hopes to test the vaccine in patients soon. He receives a grant of $1.1 million to adapt this discovery for clinical use.

The third project, involving a team at McGill University, complements the above-mentioned initiative by aiming to make these vaccines faster-acting and more effective. The challenge when cultivating memory T cells in a laboratory is to ensure their survival and growth to enable them to launch a massive attack on the tumour once they are re-injected into the patient. Dr Tremblay’s team has discovered that by inhibiting one gene in these cells, they grow in large numbers. He receives a grant of $200,000 to apply this discovery to cancer vaccines.

“This year, the CCS celebrates its 75th anniversary. Since the beginning, it has chosen to invest in research for maximum impact against the disease. To date, over $1.2 billion has been provided in grants to researchers across the country,” states Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director, CSS – Quebec Division. “Today, thousands of people in Quebec survive cancer thanks to our researchers’ work. The Canadian Cancer Society wishes to accomplish even more in the future, because as our knowledge about cancer grows, we will see even greater progress.”

Much past research would not have been possible without major support from the Canadian Cancer Society, which has already contributed nearly $5 million in 15 years to these 3 researchers. The CCS is counting on these new Impact Grants, the largest-ever such contribution, to lead to tangible results for patients. To that end, it is investing major sums over 5 years (up to $1.2 million per project).

Two other projects are also receiving Impact Grants ($1.2 million each) from the CCS:

  • Dr Robert Day’s team in Sherbrooke aims to develop a drug for patients with advanced prostate cancer. His team has designed a promising future drug that stops tumour growth in mice. Anti-hormone treatment, which is the standard treatment for advanced prostate cancer, prolongs life by just a few years and does not cure patients. This research may lead to a new drug for these patients.
  • Dr Guy Sauvageau’s team at IRIC is studying 2 genes whose combined action plays a major role in some forms of leukemia. Their project is designed to find a molecule that disrupts this effect, thereby potentially paving the way for new leukemia drugs.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

De grandes avancées dans les vaccins contre le cancer au Québec - La Société canadienne du cancer verse 2,3 M$ à trois équipes de chercheurs québécois

26 février 2013

Montréal, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a annoncé ce matin qu’elle accorde 2,3 millions de dollars à des chercheurs de Montréal et de Québec qui visent la mise au point de vaccins contre plusieurs cancers.

« Nous sommes enthousiasmés par ces stratégies qui permettent de tirer profit du système immunitaire du patient, commente Melody Enguix, conseillère en communication scientifique de la SCC – Division du Québec. Ces projets montrent la force de la communauté des chercheurs en immunologie au Québec. »

En plus de soutenir les travaux des Drs Claude Perreault de l’Université de Montréal, Michel Tremblay de l’Université McGill et Yves Fradet de l’Université Laval, la SCC accorde ce matin neuf autres Subventions pour un impact (soit 13 M$ au total) à des chercheurs canadiens. Au Québec, ils sont cinq au total à recevoir des subventions (4,7 M$ en tout), dont le Dr Guy Sauvageau de l’IRIC pour ses recherches sur des médicaments pour la leucémie et le Dr Robert Day, de l’université de Sherbrooke, pour ses recherches sur le cancer de la prostate.

Les vaccins contre le cancer : une avenue prometteuse

Les vaccins contre le cancer n’ont pas pour but de prévenir le cancer, mais plutôt de le traiter ou d’éviter sa récidive. Les scientifiques parlent d’immunothérapie pour cette stratégie prometteuse, où on stimule le système immunitaire, système qui défend naturellement le corps contre les agressions, mais que les cellules cancéreuses parviennent parfois à déjouer.

À Québec, l’équipe du Dr Yves Fradet, à l’Université Laval, veut appliquer cette approche au cancer de la vessie. Un cancer qui a bouleversé la vie de 7800 Canadiens et de 2740 Québécois en 2012. Sa particularité est le grand nombre de récidives que connaissent les patients. « C'est un contrat à vie », regrette le Dr Fradet, qui veut leur offrir un vaccin dans le but de rendre leur corps capable de se défendre face aux récidives.

Aujourd’hui, le traitement standard est l’injection dans la vessie de bactéries affaiblies (BCG), une forme très simple d’immunothérapie. Alertées, les cellules immunitaires arrivent dans la vessie et y découvrent le cancer, qui devient une victime « collatérale » de leurs attaques. « C’est une des rares formes d’immunothérapie offerte aujourd’hui en clinique, mais elle est trop rudimentaire », explique le Dr Fradet. La réaction immunitaire ne s’attaque pas spécifiquement au cancer et les cellules immunitaires ne gardent pas en mémoire les cellules cancéreuses et ne pourront pas empêcher la récidive. Grâce à la subvention de 1 million de dollars de la SCC, l’équipe du Dr Fradet voudrait créer un vaccin avec des protéines de tumeurs pour que les cellules immunitaires les reconnaissent et s’en souviennent en cas de récidive.

Le Dr Claude Perreault a, quant à lui, trouvé un moyen d'éduquer des cellules immunitaires. Son équipe de l’Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie (IRIC) de l’Université de Montréal a prouvé chez la souris que les cellules de leucémie portent des protéines en surface typiques qui peuvent être repérées et mémorisées par certaines cellules immunitaires, les cellules T mémoire. Ces cellules immunitaires sont prélevées, « dressées » en laboratoire pour reconnaître les protéines typiques du cancer, puis réinjectées dans le corps. « On a guéri assez de souris », plaisante le Dr Perreault qui espère bientôt pouvoir tester son vaccin chez l’homme. Il reçoit 1,1 million de dollars pour adapter cette découverte à l’humain.

Un troisième projet, celui d’une équipe de l’Université McGill, apporte un complément qui pourrait rendre ces vaccins plus rapides et efficaces. Le défi, quand on cultive les cellules immunitaires T mémoire en laboratoire, est leur survie et leur multiplication pour qu’elles attaquent la tumeur en masse une fois réinjectées dans le patient cancéreux. L'équipe du Dr Tremblay a découvert qu’en inhibant un gène dans ces cellules, elles se multiplient en grand nombre. Il reçoit 200 000 dollars pour appliquer cette découverte aux vaccins contre le cancer.

« La SCC fête ses 75 ans cette année et depuis ses débuts, elle a choisi d’investir dans la recherche pour avoir le plus d’impact contre la maladie : à ce jour, plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars ont été accordés aux chercheurs du pays, indique Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC — Division du Québec. Aujourd’hui, des milliers de Québécois survivent au cancer grâce à leurs travaux et la Société canadienne du cancer souhaite en faire davantage dans le futur, car, à mesure que nos connaissances sur le cancer s’élargiront, nous assisterons à des progrès plus remarquables encore. »

Des pans entiers de ces recherches n'auraient pu se faire sans le soutien important par le passé de la Société canadienne du cancer, qui a déjà versé près de 5 millions en 15 ans à ces trois chercheurs. La SCC compte sur ces nouvelles Subventions pour un impact, les plus importantes accordées à ce jour, pour voir ce soutien déboucher sur des résultats concrets pour les patients. Dans ce but, elle investit sur cinq années des sommes importantes (jusqu'à 1,25 million de dollars par projet).

Deux autres projets reçoivent aujourd'hui une subvention pour un impact de (1,2 M$ chacun) de la SCC :

  • L'équipe du Dr Robert Day à Sherbrooke vise la mise au point d’un médicament pour les patients atteints d’un cancer avancé de la prostate. Son équipe a conçu un futur médicament prometteur qui arrête la croissance des tumeurs chez la souris. Le traitement standard du cancer de la prostate avancé, le traitement antihormonal, ne prolonge la vie que de quelques années, sans guérir les patients. Cette recherche pourrait déboucher sur un nouveau médicament pour ces patients.
  • L'équipe du Dr Guy Sauvageau à l'IRIC étudie deux gènes dont l'action combinée joue un rôle majeur dans certaines leucémies. Leur projet vise à trouver une molécule qui interrompe leur action et pourrait devenir à terme un médicament.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444