Canadian Cancer Statistics, 2012 - Cancer death rate down but increase in new cases

09 May 2012

Montreal, QC -

The cancer death rate is going down in Canada, resulting in nearly 100,000 lives saved in 20 years (from 1988 to 2007). These are two of the findings contained in Canadian Cancer Statistics, 2012, a report released today by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.

“Despite this drop in the death rate, cancer remains the leading cause of death in Quebec and across the country. The CCS believes that to ease the burden of cancer, we must prioritize the fight against smoking as well as the use of early screening in the years ahead,” states André Beaulieu, spokesperson for the CCS – Quebec Division.

Highlights from Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012

  • Between 1988 and 2007, overall death rates in all forms of cancer dropped by 21% in men and 9% in women.
  • During the same period, the decline in the death rate among women was smaller due to the increase in the lung cancer death rate (associated with smoking).
  • There was a decline in death rates of the four major cancers, namely lung, breast, prostate, and colorectal. These account for the majority (53%) of new cancer cases that will be diagnosed this year in Quebec and Canada.
  • In 2012, an estimated 47,600 new cases of cancer will be diagnosed in Quebec (186,400 in Canada[1]) and 20,000 deaths will be attributable to the disease in Quebec (75,700 in Canada).
  • On average, one person learns that he or she has cancer every 11 minutes in Quebec (every 3 minutes in Canada). Every 26 minutes, one person in Quebec dies from cancer (every 7.5 minutes in Canada).
  • Age is the leading risk factor. The number of new cases of cancer rises as the population of Quebec increases and ages. In 2012, 88% of new cancer cases and 95% of cancer-related deaths in Canada will occur among people aged 50 and older.

Prevention, smoking rate, and lung cancer

The drop in the cancer death rate among men is largely attributable to the decline of smoking. In Quebec, from 1984 to 2006, the lung cancer death rate fell by 29% among men and doubled among women[2].

This rise is essentially due to the fact that smoking among women began to decline in the 1980s, but has been dropping among men since the 1960s[3].

· Nearly a third (31%) of cancer-related deaths in Quebec (27% in Canada) are imputable to lung cancer.

· Every year, lung cancer kills more men and women in Quebec than prostate cancer, colorectal cancer, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, stomach cancer, and uterine cancer combined.

· Smoking accounts for about 30% of cancer deaths. It is associated with increased risk for at least 18 types of cancer, including lung, larynx, oral, stomach, pancreatic, and kidney.

 

In 2010, the smoking rate among men and women in Quebec was 20%, compared to 30% in 1999 and 50% in 1965. Smoking has declined sharply in the past 10 years. However, the battle is not won yet, since the rate has remained level since 2006 and, from a statistical standpoint, the number of smokers in Quebec has not changed.

“For each smoker who quits or dies, another person takes up smoking. Tobacco use accounts for one out of every three cancer deaths, and that is why the CCS continues to prioritize this issue. We believe that amending the Tobacco Act is critical and would save lives as well as reduce healthcare costs”, states Mélanie Champagne, Coordinator, Public Issues, CCS – Quebec Division.

In efforts to protect youths and prevent them from taking up smoking, key legislative and fiscal measures must promptly be adopted. Accordingly, the CCS calls for the following:

  • The government must get tough with the tobacco industry
  • A market freeze on tobacco products and ban flavours
  • Increased tobacco taxes, at least to the level in effect in Ontario (the province with the lowest tobacco taxes with the exception of Quebec)
  • Intensified efforts in the fight against tobacco contraband
  • Use of plain packaging (as in Australia and New Zealand)

The CCS was extremely disappointed at the federal government’s decision a month ago to cut funding dramatically for Health Canada’s tobacco control strategy. “The strategy has been very successful,” says Ms Champagne, “and these cuts will hinder current efforts to reduce the smoking rate. Considering the devastating effects of smoking, governments should be doing more against tobacco use, not less.”

The harmful effects of smoking in our lives

  • There are still over 1.5 million smokers in Quebec, and unfortunately 28% of youths in the province (aged 20 to 34) are addicted to smoking.
  • 90 youths in Quebec will take up smoking today—33,000 this year.
  • Every year, the government collects about $850 million in tobacco tax revenue; however, tobacco use generates total direct and indirect costs exceeding $4 billion annually in Quebec.
  • Smoking is responsible for about a third (32.6%) of full-day hospital stays in Quebec’s major hospital centres.
  • Smoking accounts for more deaths than road accidents, AIDS, drug use, alcohol abuse, fires, homicides, and suicides combined.

 

 

Prevention: kids/teens and artificial tanning

Skin cancer is the most prevalent cancer in Quebec (ranging from 22,000 to 35,000 cases a year according to sources). In the past 15 years, the number of melanoma cases has doubled: we must act quickly to reduce the incidence of melanoma. Currently, no legislation in Quebec regulates the hundreds of tanning salons operating across the province though they sell a carcinogenic product. On the strength of a petition signed by 60,000 people and support from 65 organizations (representing over 600 groups), the CCS urgently calls for a ban on the sale and promotion of artificial tanning services to minors and the establishment of a registry of businesses in this industry.

Improved early screening

The CCS also believes that we must do more to take full advantage of screening opportunities and further ease the burden of cancer. Fewer people in Quebec would die of cancer if certain screening programs were established or expanded. This is the case for the following screening tests:

Fecal occult blood test for colorectal cancer screening

The CCS considers that the establishment of a Quebec-wide colorectal cancer screening program could save hundreds of lives every year[4]. The CCS calls for a more rapid deployment of the Quebec Colorectal Screening Program (PQDCC) to everyone in the province aged 50 to 74 years with access to colonoscopies for persons at risk.

 

Mammography for breast cancer screening

The CCS is also active in the field in efforts to encourage more women in Quebec aged 50 to 69 to take part in the Quebec Breast Cancer Screening Program (PQDCS). Currently, only 58%[5] of women in Quebec in this age group officially take part in the program[6].

The Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012 report was prepared and distributed by the Canadian Cancer Society in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada, provincial and territorial cancer registries, and researchers based in universities or provincial and territorial cancer agencies.

The fight against cancer: other major issues in Quebec

Media Backgrounder: Canadian Cancer Statistics, 2012



[1] Not including the 81,300 cases of non-melanoma (basal and squamous cell) skin cancer.

[2] PORTRAIT DU CANCER AU QUÉBEC, 2006 published in 2010.

[3] It takes time before reductions in the prevalence of population-wide smoking translate into decreases in lung cancer incidence and death rates.

[4] The probability of curing colorectal cancer is 90% when it is detected early. Scientific data also indicate that the number of colorectal cancer deaths can be reduced by about 15 to 18% if 60% of the population at medium risk and aged 50 to 74 years underwent a fecal occult blood test every two years.

[5] Institut national de la santé publique (INSPQ), 2011.

[6] Several studies suggest the number of breast cancer deaths may be reduced by an estimated 25% if women aged 50 to 69 years underwent preventive mammography every two years. Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux - MSSS.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012 - Baisse du taux de mortalité par cancer, mais augmentation des nouveaux cas

09 mai 2012

Montréal, QC -

Images to be migrated

Le taux de mortalité par cancer est à la baisse au Canada, si bien que près de 100 000 vies ont été sauvées en 20 ans (de 1988 à 2007). C’est ce que nous apprennent les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012, que la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) fait paraître aujourd’hui, en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada.

« Malgré ce recul, le cancer demeure la principale cause de décès au Québec et au pays. La SCC est d’avis que si l’on veut alléger davantage le fardeau du cancer, la lutte contre le tabagisme et le dépistage précoce seront à prioriser au cours des prochaines années », déclare André Beaulieu, porte-parole de la SCC – Division du Québec.

Points saillants : Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012

  • De 1988 à 2007, le taux de mortalité global pour tous les cancers a diminué de 21 % chez les hommes et de 9 % chez les femmes.
  • Chez les femmes, la baisse du taux de mortalité est moins marquée, et ce, en raison de l’augmentation des décès par cancer du poumon (dus au tabagisme) pendant la même période.
  • On a ainsi observé une diminution du taux de mortalité pour les quatre principaux cancers, soit les cancers du poumon, du sein, de la prostate et colorectal. Ces derniers représentent la majorité, soit 53 % des nouveaux cas qui seront diagnostiqués cette année au sein de la population québécoise et canadienne.
  • En 2012, au Québec, il y aura 47 600 nouveaux cas de cancer (186 400 au Canada[1]) et 20 000 décès attribuables à cette maladie (75 700 au Canada).
  • En moyenne, toutes les 11 minutes un Québécois (3 minutes au Canada) apprend qu'il est atteint d'un cancer. Toutes les 26 minutes, un Québécois (7,5 minutes au Canada) meurt d'un cancer.
  • L’âge est le premier facteur de risque du cancer. Le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer s’accroît à mesure que la population québécoise augmente et vieillit. En 2012, 88 % des nouveaux cas de cancer et 95 % des décès par cancer toucheront des Canadiens de 50 ans et plus.

Prévention, taux de tabagisme et cancer du poumon

La chute du taux de mortalité par cancer chez les hommes est largement attribuable au recul du tabagisme dans cette population. Au Québec, entre 1984 et 2006, le taux de mortalité pour le cancer du poumon a baissé de 29 % chez les hommes alors qu’il a doublé chez les femmes pour la même période[2].

Cette hausse tient essentiellement au fait que le tabagisme n’a commencé à diminuer chez les femmes que dans les années 1980, alors qu’il était en régression depuis les années 1960 chez les hommes[3].


  • Près du tiers des décès par cancer, soit 31 % (27 % au Canada), sont imputables au cancer du poumon.
  • Le cancer du poumon emporte chaque année plus de Québécoises et Québécois que les cancers du sein, de la prostate, colorectal, de l’ovaire, du pancréas, de l’estomac et de l’utérus réunis.
  • Le tabagisme est responsable d’environ 30 % des décès par cancer. Il est associé à un accroissement du risque pour au moins 18 types de cancer, notamment les cancers du poumon, du larynx, de la bouche, de l’estomac, du pancréas et du rein.

En 2010, le taux de tabagisme dans la population québécoise (hommes et femmes) atteignait environ 20 %, comparativement à 30 % en 1999 et à 50 % en 1965. Le tabagisme a connu un net recul depuis 10 ans. Toutefois, le combat est bien loin d’être gagné, car le taux stagne depuis 2006 et d’un point de vue statistique, le nombre de fumeurs québécois demeure inchangé.

« Pour chaque fumeur qui cesse de fumer ou décède, une nouvelle personne s’initie au tabac. L’usage du tabac est responsable de 1 décès sur 3 par cancer, c’est pourquoi la SCC continue d’en faire l’une de ses priorités. Nous estimons qu’une révision de la Loi sur le tabac est un levier incontournable pour sauver des vies et diminuer les coûts de santé », déclare Mélanie Champagne, coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public – SCC – Division du Québec.

Afin de protéger nos jeunes et empêcher que ceux-ci s’initient au tabagisme, d’importantes mesures législatives et fiscales doivent être adoptées rapidement. La SCC demande donc :

  • Que le gouvernement durcisse le ton par rapport à l’industrie du tabac
  • Le gel du marché des produits de tabac et l’interdiction des saveurs.
  • L’augmentation des taxes sur le tabac pour atteindre au moins le niveau de taxation qui existe en Ontario (2e province au taux de taxation le plus bas après le Québec).
  • L’intensification des efforts de la lutte à la contrebande.
  • L’adoption de l’emballage neutre (à l’instar de l’Australie et de la Nouvelle-Zélande).

En outre, la SCC a été extrêmement déçue de voir que le gouvernement fédéral a réduit de manière radicale il y a un mois les fonds accordés à la stratégie de lutte antitabac de Santé Canada, pourtant très fructueuse, ajoute Mme Champagne. Cette stratégie a fait ses preuves et ces coupures vont nuire aux efforts déployés jusqu’ici pour réduire les taux de tabagisme. Considérant les effets dévastateurs de la cigarette, nos gouvernements doivent faire davantage pour contrer l’usage du tabac, et non moins. »

Les conséquences néfastes du tabac dans nos vies

  • Au Québec, on compte encore plus de 1,5 million de fumeurs et malheureusement 28 % des jeunes Québécois (âgés de 20 à 34 ans) sont accros au tabac.
  • 90 jeunes Québécois vont s’initier au tabagisme aujourd’hui — 33 000 cette année.
  • Les taxes sur le tabac rapportent annuellement environ 850 M$ au gouvernement. En coûts directs et indirects, le tabagisme coûte plus de 4 milliards $ par année à la population québécoise.
  • Le tabagisme est responsable du tiers (32,6 %) environ des journées complètes d’hospitalisation dans les grands hôpitaux du Québec.
  • Il tue plus que les accidents de la route, le sida, la drogue, l’alcool, les incendies, les meurtres et les suicides réunis.

Prévention : enfants/adolescents et bronzage artificiel

Le cancer de la peau est le plus fréquent au Québec (de 22 000 jusqu’à plus de 35 000 par année, selon les sources). Depuis 15 ans, le nombre de mélanomes a doublé : il faut donc agir rapidement pour en diminuer l’incidence. Présentement, au Québec, aucune législation n’encadre les centaines de salons de bronzage, qui vendent pourtant un service carcinogène. Forte de l’appui des 60 000 signataires de sa pétition et de 65 organismes (formés de plus de 600 groupes), la SCC réclame de façon urgente l’interdiction de la vente et de la promotion des services de bronzage artificiel auprès des mineurs et la mise sur pied d’un registre de ces commerces.

Amélioration du dépistage précoce

La SCC est également d’avis que nous devons faire davantage pour tirer pleinement profit des possibilités du dépistage et alléger encore plus le fardeau du cancer. Moins de Québécois seraient emportés par le cancer si certains programmes de dépistage de la maladie étaient instaurés ou élargis. C’est le cas pour les tests de dépistage suivants :

Recherche de sang occulte dans les selles pour le cancer colorectal

La SCC estime que la mise en œuvre d’un programme organisé de dépistage du cancer colorectal à l’échelle de la province pourrait sauver, chaque année, la vie de centaines de Québécois[4]. La SCC souhaite l’accélération du déploiement du Programme québécois de dépistage du cancer colorectal (PQDCC) à l’ensemble des Québécois âgés de 50 à 74 ans tout en assurant l’accès à la coloscopie pour les personnes à risque.

Mammographie pour le dépistage du cancer du sein

La SCC œuvre aussi sur le terrain pour informer plus de Québécoises âgées de 50 à 69 ans à participer davantage au Programme québécois de dépistage du cancer du sein (PQDCS). Actuellement seulement 58 %[5] des Québécoises de cet âge participent au programme[6].

Le rapport des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012 a été préparé et distribué grâce à la collaboration de la Société canadienne du cancer, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, de Statistique Canada, des registres du cancer provinciaux et territoriaux, de même que de chercheurs du milieu universitaire et des agences du cancer provinciales et territoriales.

Lutte au cancer : autres enjeux au Québec

Fiche d’information : Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012



[1] À l’exclusion des 81 300 cas de cancer de la peau (basocellulaire et squameux) autre que le mélanome.

[2] PORTRAIT DU CANCER AU QUÉBEC, 2006 publié en 2010.

[3] Il faut du temps pour que le recul du tabagisme dans une population se traduise par une chute de l’incidence du cancer du poumon et du taux de mortalité correspondant.

[4] La probabilité de maitriser le cancer colorectal est de 90 % s’il est détecté tôt. Les données scientifiques indiquent aussi qu’on pourrait enregistrer une réduction d'environ 15 à 18 % du nombre de décès par cancer colorectal si 60 % de la population à risque moyen et âgée de 50 à 74 ans passait un test de recherche de sang occulte dans les selles tous les deux ans.

[5] Institut national de la santé publique (INSPQ), novembre 2011.

[6] Selon plusieurs études, l'application d'un programme de dépistage durant plusieurs années peut faire diminuer de 25 % le taux de mortalité due au cancer du sein, MSSS.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444