The global walker Jean Béliveau becomes the new ambassador of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Trottibus Walking School Bus

06 October 2011

Montreal -

After 11 years of walking more than 75,000 km through 64 countries, the global walker Jean Béliveau will now tread on Quebec soil. He is taking advantage of his return and the fact that October is International Walk to School Month to announce his association with the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) to promote the Trottibus Walking School Bus and encourage Quebec children to form the habit of walking to school.

 

Walking for children and peace

Mr. Béliveau’s great adventure started on August 18, 2000 with the objective of walking around the world for peace and children. This coincided with the International Decade for the Promotion of a Culture of Peace and Non-violence for the Children of the World declared by the United Nations in November 1998.

For Mr. Béliveau, the cause for peace and children was built and strengthened throughout his journey through the hundreds of people he met. He would like his commitment to children to continue well after his return to Montreal on October 16. “I’m delighted to be the Trottibus Walking School Bus ambassador. It’s a project that has multiple benefits for children. It integrates healthy life habits, generates intergenerational human contact, and brings together the whole community. And it’s certainly good for the environment! I’m very happy to work with the CCS to encourage the young and not so young to walk… What a fantastic project!” says Jean Béliveau.

Take a Trottibus Walking School Bus for health, safety, and fun

The Trottibus is a “pedestrian bus” that lets elementary school children walk to school safely with supervision. It has predetermined routes, complete with planned stops and two adult volunteers, known as “Drivers”, who accompany the young walkers. What makes this CCS project unique is its intergenerational aspect, which involves older people in the community sharing the responsibility of school transportation with parents.

This project put forward by the CCS addresses the problem of the drastic decrease in the level of children’s daily physical activities and the worrying increase in obesity in Quebec. Walking every day is one part of the solution to give our youths a better chance of acquiring and embracing healthy life habits.

Volunteer Involvement

The success of the project hinges on the active involvement of volunteers accompanying the children, schools, and municipalities that, together, assure the safety of routes. “The goal of the Trottibus Walking School Bus is to lead elementary school children towards integrating active transportation into their daily lives. To this end, Jean Béliveau’s extraordinary feat, accomplished through his determination and perseverance, is a model of inspiration for everyone who rallies around the project,” says Sylvie Poissant, Director, Cancer Prevention and Health Promotion at the CCS.

Schools that want to learn more about the Trottibus Walking School Bus can contact the CCS by writing to trottibus@quebec.cancer.ca or consult the CCS’s website: cancer.ca.

Trottibus is a Canadian Cancer Society initiative in partnership with the Carrefour action municipale et famille, the Fédération des éducateurs et éducatrices enseignants du Québec and the Fédération québécoise du sport étudiant and Kino Québec. It is made possible by the financial support of Québec en Forme.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Le marcheur Jean Béliveau de retour à Montréal après un périple autour du monde de 11 ans. Il sera le nouvel ambassadeur du Trottibus de la Société canadienne du cancer.

06 octobre 2011

MONTRÉAL -

Après 11 ans à parcourir plus de 75 000 kilomètres dans 64 pays, le marcheur planétaire Jean Béliveau foulera dans les prochains jours le sol québécois. Il profite de son retour et du fait qu’octobre est le Mois international de la marche pour annoncer qu’il s’associe à la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) pour promouvoir le Trottibus, l’autobus qui marche et inviter les enfants du Québec à prendre l’habitude de marcher pour se rendre à l’école.

 

Marcher pour les enfants et pour la paix

La grande aventure de M. Béliveau a été amorcée le 18 août 2000 dans le but de faire le tour du monde à la marche pour la paix et les enfants. Cet exploit a coïncidé avec la Décennie internationale de la promotion d’une culture de la non-violence et de la paix au profit des enfants du monde, tel que proclamé par les Nations Unies en novembre 1998.

Pour M. Béliveau, la cause de la paix et des enfants s’est forgée et renforcée tout au long de son périple et au fil des centaines de rencontres effectuées pendant son voyage. Il souhaite que son engagement envers les enfants perdure bien après son arrivée à Montréal, le 16 octobre prochain. « Je suis enchanté d’être ambassadeur du Trottibus, un projet aux multiples bienfaits pour les enfants, intégrateur de saines habitudes de vie, générateur de contacts humains intergénérationnels, rassembleur pour toute la communauté, et bien sûr, écologique. Travailler aux côtés de la SCC pour inciter les jeunes et moins jeunes à marcher… quel beau projet! » indique Jean Béliveau.

Prendre un Trottibus : pour la santé, la sécurité et le plaisir

Le Trottibus est un « autobus pédestre » qui permet aux élèves du primaire de marcher pour se rendre à l’école de manière sécuritaire et encadrée. Au moyen de trajets et d’horaires prédéterminés, deux adultes bénévoles — dits « Grands-trotteurs » — accompagnent les jeunes marcheurs, formant ainsi un Trottibus pour se rendre à l’école. L’originalité du projet de la SCC est son volet intergénérationnel avec l’implication d’ainés de la communauté qui partagent avec les parents la responsabilité du transport des enfants.

Ce projet mis de l’avant par la SCC vise à répondre au fait qu’on dénote une diminution importante du niveau d’activités physiques quotidiennes chez les enfants et une augmentation préoccupante du surpoids au Québec. Marcher au quotidien, c’est une des pistes de solution pour augmenter les chances de nos jeunes d’acquérir et de conserver de saines habitudes de vie.

L’implication bénévole

Le succès du projet repose sur l’implication active des bénévoles qui accompagnent les enfants, des écoles et des municipalités qui s’impliquent pour assurer la sécurité des trajets. « L’objectif du Trottibus est d’amener les enfants du primaire à intégrer le transport actif au quotidien, dans leur mode de vie. À ce titre, l’exploit extraordinaire de Jean Béliveau, par sa détermination et sa persévérance, est un modèle d’inspiration pour tous les acteurs qui se mobilisent autour du projet », indique Sylvie Poissant, directrice, Prévention du cancer et promotion de la santé de la SCC.

Les écoles qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur le Trottibus peuvent contacter la SCC en écrivant à trottibus@quebec.cancer.ca ou en consultant le site Web de la SCC, cancer.ca.

Le Trottibus est une initiative de la Société canadienne du cancer, en collaboration avec le Carrefour action municipale et famille, la Fédération des éducateurs et éducatrices enseignants du Québec, la Fédération québécoise du sport étudiant, Kino Québec, rendue possible grâce à l’appui financier de Québec en Forme.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444