Unraveling The Mystery Of Brain Cancer

03 April 2013

Windsor -

A Windsor scientist has been awarded Canadian Cancer Society funding for her innovative approach to studying how aggressive brain cancers develop. This promising work could lead to better diagnosis and treatment options in the future and save lives.

Dr Lisa Porter, Associate Professor at the University of Windsor, has received more than $185,000 through an Innovation Grant to study how brain cancer tumors, specifically high-grade gliomas, develop in their very earliest stages.

Gliomas are the most common type of primary brain tumour in adults and account for about 70% of all tumours of the central nervous system. Brain tumours are also a leading cause of cancer-related death in children. High-grade tumours are particularly aggressive because they tend to grow quickly.

Dr Porter and her team will investigate the role of a protein called Spy1 in how brain cancer develops from healthy cells. The Spy1 protein ensures that brain stem cells, which have the ability to develop into any kind of brain cells, are permitted to grow only when the brain needs them.  If brain stem cells are not kept in check, they start to grow rapidly for a long time. Previous research has shown that high levels of Spy1 are found in brain tumours and are associated with poorer survival rates for patients.

Dr Porter’s innovative work is the first time the Spy1 protein will be studied from this angle. She will also examine the origins of brain cancer tumours from a new perspective, comparing how tumours develop in children and adults.

“Brain cancers are hard to treat because they represent some of the most aggressive forms of cancer that are very difficult to destroy with drugs, and often cause a recurrence. I’m grateful for the funding from the Canadian Cancer Society because our work could lead to the development of more effective and individualized brain cancer therapies for patients,” says Dr Porter.

Dr Porter has received Canadian Cancer Society research funding in the past through the Society’s partnership with the Canadian Breast Cancer Research Alliance. This is Dr Porter’s first Innovation Grant.

The goal of the Society’s Innovation Grant funding is to support unconventional concepts, approaches or methodologies to address problems and to push the envelope in cancer research. These projects are selected according to their potential for “high reward” – to dramatically impact what is known about cancer and generate completely new approaches to combating the disease.

In Canada, an estimated 2,800 people were diagnosed with brain cancer in 2012. Sadly, 1,850 people were estimated to die of this type of cancer. The relative five-year survival rate for all cancers combined is 62%. In stark contrast, the 5-year relative survival rate for brain cancer is only 23%.

The Canadian Cancer Society would like to see more people overcome the daunting odds associated with brain and other hard-to-treat cancers. “Lung, colorectal, ovarian, pancreatic, and brain cancers are responsible for almost half of cancer deaths yet receive only about quarter of research funding that’s designated to specific types of cancer,” says Dr Martin Kabat, CEO for the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “We already know that investment in specific areas of cancer research has yielded enormous benefits and we believe that a significant injection of funds will have the same impact on these often very lethal cancers.”

John Weese of Windsor is very aware of the plight of brain cancer patients. His 76 year-old mother, Doreen Woods died of the disease in September 2012. “Through my mother’s 8-year-long battle, our family witnessed how devastating this type of cancer is. It was heart-breaking to see the toll the disease took on someone so full of life. It’s my wish that the funding the Canadian Cancer Society is providing to Dr Porter will bring us one step closer to brain cancer’s demise,” says John.

Since March 19, 2013 the Canadian Cancer Society has announced a total of 37 Innovation Grants representing a $7.2 million research investment across the country, with 20 grants in Ontario alone. The Society is the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada.

This world-class research is supported by fundraising efforts. April is Daffodil Month and the Canadian Cancer Society encourages people to make a donation and wear a daffodil pin throughout the month to show support for people living with cancer and remember those who have died. Visit fightback.ca to make a donation or find the nearest daffodil pin location.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY: 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

A A A

Percer le mystère du cancer du cerveau

03 avril 2013

Windsor -

Une scientifique de Windsor a reçu une subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer en raison de l’approche novatrice de son étude sur le développement des cancers du cerveau agressifs. Ce travail prometteur pourrait mener à de meilleurs diagnostics et choix de traitement qui pourraient sauver des vies.  

La Dre Lisa Porter, professeure agrégée à l’Université de Windsor, a reçu plus de 185 000 $ grâce à une Subvention pour l’innovation pour étudier comment les tumeurs du cancer du cerveau, plus précisément les gliomes de haut grade de malignité, se développent aux stades précoces.

Les gliomes sont le type de cancer primitif du cerveau le plus répandu chez les adultes et sont responsables d’environ 70 % de toutes les tumeurs du système nerveux central. Les tumeurs du cerveau sont également une principale cause de décès liés au cancer chez les enfants. Les tumeurs de haut grade de malignité sont particulièrement agressives car elles ont tendance à croître rapidement.

La Dre Porter et son équipe étudieront le rôle d’une protéine appelée Spy1 dans la façon dont le cancer du cerveau se développe à partir de cellules saines. La protéine Spy1 s’assure que les cellules souches du cerveau, qui sont capables de se développer en toute sorte de cellules du cerveau, se développent seulement quand le cerveau en a besoin. Si les cellules souches du cerveau ne sont pas contrôlées, elles commencent à croître rapidement pendant longtemps. Une recherche antérieure a démontré que des niveaux élevés de Spy1 sont présents dans les tumeurs du cerveau et qu’ils sont associés à des taux de survie moins bons.

Grâce au travail novateur de la Dre Porter, la protéine Spy1 sera étudiée pour la première fois sous cet angle. Elle examinera aussi les origines des tumeurs cancéreuses du cerveau d’un nouveau point de vue, comparant la façon dont les tumeurs se développent chez les enfants et les adultes.

« Les cancers du cerveau sont difficiles à traiter parce qu’ils représentent certaines des formes de cancer les plus agressives très difficiles à détruire avec des médicaments et qu’ils entraînent souvent une récurrence. Je suis très reconnaissante de recevoir une subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer parce que notre travail pourrait mener au développement de traitements contre le cancer du cerveau plus efficaces et plus individualisés », dit la Dre Porter.

La Dre Porter a déjà reçu une subvention de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer par le biais du partenariat de la Société avec l’Alliance canadienne pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein. Il s’agit de la première Subvention pour l’innovation qu’elle reçoit.

L’objectif des Subventions pour l’innovation de la Société est de soutenir des concepts, approches ou méthodologies non classiques pour aborder les problèmes et pour pousser plus loin l’excellence de la recherche sur le cancer. Ces projets sont sélectionnés selon leur potentiel d’avantages élevés, pour avoir un impact important sur ce qui est déjà connu du cancer et générer de nouvelles approches pour combattre la maladie.

Au Canada, on a estimé à 2 800 le nombre de personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer du cerveau en 2012. Malheureusement, on a aussi estimé que 1 850 personnes décéderont de ce type de cancer. Le taux de survie relative à cinq ans pour tous les cancers combinés est de 62 % tandis que celui du cancer du cerveau est de seulement 23 %.

La Société canadienne du cancer aimerait que plus de gens surmontent les risques déconcertants associés au cancer du cerveau et d’autres cancers difficiles à traiter. « Les cancers du poumon, colorectal, des ovaires, du pancréas et du cerveau sont responsables de presque la moitié des décès par cancer, pourtant ils reçoivent seulement le quart des fonds réservés à la recherche sur certains types de cancer », dit le Dr Martin Kabat, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer en Ontario. « Nous savons déjà qu’un investissement dans certains domaines de recherche sur le cancer a produit d’énormes résultats et nous croyons qu’un apport de fonds important aura le même impact sur ces cancers souvent très létaux. »

John Weese de Windsor connaît très bien la situation des personnes atteintes de cancer du cerveau. Sa mère de 76 ans, Doreen Woods, est décédée de la maladie en septembre 2012. « Pendant le combat de 8 ans de ma mère, notre famille a pu constater l’ampleur de la dévastation de ce type de cancer. C’était très émouvant de voir les ravages de la maladie sur une personne pleine de vie. Je souhaite que le financement remis par la Société canadienne du cancer à la Dre Porter nous rapprochera de l’élimination du cancer du cerveau », dit John.

Depuis le 19 mars 2013, la Société canadienne du cancer a annoncé un total de 37 Subventions pour l’innovation représentant un investissement de 7,2 millions de dollars dans la recherche au pays, dont 20 subventions en Ontario. La Société est le plus important organisme de bienfaisance national à subventionner la recherche sur le cancer au Canada.

Cette recherche de niveau international est appuyée par les efforts de collecte de fonds. Avril est le Mois de la jonquille et la Société canadienne du cancer encourage les gens à faire un don et à porter l’épinglette jonquille pendant le mois afin de démontrer leur appui aux personnes vivant avec le cancer et de se souvenir des personnes disparues. Visitez combatpourlavie.ca pour faire un don ou trouver le point de vente le plus près.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1-888-939-3333 (ATS : 1-866-786-3934).

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026