TVCOGECO To Commemorate Canadian Cancer Society’s 75th Anniversary - Live On April 18th

16 April 2013

Toronto -

TVCOGECO will be commemorating the Canadian Cancer Society’s 75th Anniversary with a special live one hour broadcast at 7:00 p.m. on April 18th.

Featuring a mixture of interviews and pre-taped segments, the broadcast will showcase how the Society fights more than 200 different types of cancer on numerous fronts, including funding world-class research and offering information and support services to people in communities across the province.    

“For 75 years, we have worked relentlessly to prevent cancer, save lives and support people living with cancer,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Proud as we are of our progress, we know more needs to be done. With a population that is both growing and aging, cancer is now the single largest killer in Canada – overtaking heart disease for the first time in 2011.”

Tim Caddigan, Senior Director, TVCOGECO & Community Relations notes “Cogeco is proud to be recognized as a ‘National Caring Company’ with the Canadian Cancer Society.  We believe that it is important to recognize the strides that the Society has made over the past 75 years.  We also want to emphasize the work that is still needed to fight this horrible disease. Through the work of our local stations across the province, we are pleased to provide this live broadcast to commemorate the Canadian Cancer Society’s special milestone anniversary. It is our hope that the program will help further the work of everyone involved in cancer research and treatment.”

Today – thanks to the years of support of volunteers and donors – the Society has the reach, strength and experience to make the most impact against cancer in communities across Canada.

Here are some of the ways your dollars have helped:

  • Recently, the Society announced 37 Innovation Grants with 20 in Ontario alone, including a ground breaking imaging device that will be able to look deep within the human colon for signs of cancer and take pictures in all directions in much the same way Google “street-view” mapping works. This could potentially lead to earlier detection of colon cancer and saved lives.
  • In 2012, our volunteer drivers helped approximately 14,000 patients get to more than 118,000 cancer-related appointments, driving approximately 13 million kilometres. These patients had no other way of getting to their medical care.
  • After advocating for seven years for province-wide legislation restricting youth under 18 years of age from using indoor tanning, we are closer than ever to success. Recently Ontario Health Minister Deb Matthews announced the introduction of new legislation. If passed, the new law will protect the health of youth across the province.

We invite Canadians to visit our 75th anniversary microsite at cancer.ca/75years to learn more about how the impact we have made has changed the course of cancer in Canada.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society


Phone: 416-323-7039

A A A

TVCOGECO souligne le 75e anniversaire de la Société canadienne du cancer, en direct le 18 avril

16 avril 2013

Toronto -

TVCOGECO souligne le 75e anniversaire de la Société canadienne du cancer par le biais d’une émission spéciale d’une heure diffusée à 19 h le 18 avril.

L’émission présentera une variété d’interviews et de segments préenregistrés et montrera comment la Société lutte contre plus de 200 types de cancer différents sur plusieurs fronts, y compris le financement de la recherche de calibre international et les services d’information et de soutien dans les communautés de la province.

« Pendant 75 ans, nous avons travaillé inlassablement pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Malgré le fait que nous soyons fiers de nos progrès, nous savons que nous devons en faire plus. Étant donné une population à la fois croissante et vieillissante, le cancer est maintenant la maladie qui tue le plus au Canada, surpassant les maladies cardiaques pour la première fois en 2011. »

Tim Caddigan, directeur principal, TVCOGECO et relations communautaires souligne que « Cogeco est fière d’être reconnue comme « Entreprise nationale généreuse » de la Société canadienne du cancer. Nous croyons qu’il est important de reconnaître les progrès effectués par la Société au cours des 75 dernières années. Nous voulons aussi souligner le travail encore nécessaire pour lutter contre cette terrible maladie. Grâce au travail de nos stations locales dans la province, nous sommes heureux d’offrir cette émission diffusée en direct pour souligner cet anniversaire spécial de la Société canadienne du cancer. Nous espérons que cette émission aidera à faire progresser le travail de toutes les personnes travaillant dans les domaines de la recherche sur le cancer et des traitements. »

Aujourd’hui, grâce à plusieurs années de soutien offert par nos bénévoles et nos donateurs, la Société possède la portée, la puissance et l’expérience pour avoir le plus d’impact contre le cancer dans les communautés du Canada.

Voici quelques façons dont vos dollars ont aidé :

 

  • Récemment, la Société a annoncé 37 Subventions pour l’innovation, dont 20 en Ontario, y compris un appareil d’imagerie novateur qui pourra explorer en profondeur le côlon humain pour trouver des signes de cancer et prendre des photos dans toutes les directions, un peu comme « Google Street View ». Ceci pourrait potentiellement mener à une détection plus précoce du cancer du côlon et permettrait de sauver plus de vies.
  • En 2012, nos chauffeurs bénévoles ont aidé environ 14 000 patients à se rendre à plus de 118 000 rendez-vous liés au cancer, parcourant environ 13 millions de kilomètres. Ces patients n’avaient aucune autre façon de se rendre à leurs rendez-vous médicaux.
  • Après avoir exercé des pressions pendant sept ans pour obtenir une loi provinciale interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser des appareils de bronzage artificiel, nous sommes très près de la réussite. Récemment, la ministre de la Santé de l’Ontario, Deb Matthews, a annoncé un nouveau projet de loi. S’il est adopté, la nouvelle loi protégera la santé des jeunes partout dans la province.

 

Nous invitons les Canadiens à visiter notre microsite à cancer.ca/75ans pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon dont notre impact a changé le cours du cancer au Canada.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, visitez le www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039