Solving the mystery of how childhood brain cancer starts

19 March 2013

Ottawa -

A pioneering Ottawa scientist has been awarded funding to study for the first time a particular gene that may be involved in childhood cancer and could shed light on how cancer grows.

Dr Valerie Wallace, Senior Scientist, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, has received a $200,000 Innovation Grant from the Canadian Cancer Society to study the development of medulloblastoma, the most common form of childhood brain cancer.

Dr Wallace will investigate how a gene that is necessary for the normal development of blood vessels in the brain also contributes to the development of brain tumours. Dr Wallace and her team have created a unique model that they will use to study— for the first time ever — the role of this gene in cancer growth. Her research will also examine how blood vessels surrounding cancer cells contribute to cancer growth.

“We’re grateful for the Canadian Cancer Society’s funding because it enables us to be creative with our research on how this cancer develops at its very earliest stages,” says Dr Wallace. “Solving this important problem in cancer research could also lead to new therapies that have the potential to benefit all Canadians.”

The Society has long supported Dr Wallace’s work. Including the new grant, she has been awarded a total of $2.1 million from the Society since 1999.

“We are proud to support innovation in research such as this that strives to answer fundamental questions about cancer growth,” says Luba Slatkovska, Senior Manager, Research, Ontario Division. “We couldn’t make this impact without the support of our donors and supporters.”

The Society’s Innovation Grants were developed to support innovative and creative problem-solving in cancer research. The goal is to support unconventional concepts, approaches or methodologies to address problems in cancer research.

A total of 37 grants representing a $7.2 million investment across the country were announced today, with 20 in Ontario alone. The Canadian Cancer Society is the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada. For more information about the Society’s research funding, visit cancer.ca

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Résoudre le mystère du cancer du cerveau chez les enfants

19 mars 2013

Ottawa -

Une scientifique innovatrice d’Ottawa a reçu une subvention pour étudier pour la première fois un gène particulier qui pourrait intervenir dans le cancer chez les enfants et mettre en lumière la façon dont le cancer croît.

La Dre Valerie Wallace, scientifique chevronnée de l’Institut de recherche de L’Hôpital d’Ottawa, a reçu une Subvention pour l’innovation de 200 000 $ de la Société canadienne du cancer pour étudier le développement du médulloblastome, forme la plus fréquente de cancer du cerveau chez les enfants.

La Dre Wallace examinera comment un gène nécessaire au développement normal des vaisseaux sanguins du cerveau contribue aussi au développement des tumeurs du cerveau. La Dre Wallace et son équipe ont créé un modèle unique qu’ils utiliseront pour étudier pour la première fois le rôle de ce gène dans la croissance du cancer. Sa recherche étudiera aussi comment les vaisseaux sanguins entourant les cellules cancéreuses contribuent à la croissance du cancer.

« Nous apprécions la subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer car elle nous permet d’être créatifs avec notre recherche pour voir comment ce cancer se développe à ses stades précoces », dit la Dre Wallace. « Le fait de résoudre ce problème important de la recherche sur le cancer pourrait aussi mener à de nouveaux traitements ayant le potentiel d’aider tous les Canadiens. »

La Société appuie le travail de la Dre Wallace depuis longtemps. Incluant cette nouvelle subvention, elle a reçu un total de 2,1 millions de dollars de la Société depuis 1999.

« Nous sommes fiers d’appuyer l’innovation dans la recherche comme celle-ci qui s’efforce de répondre aux questions fondamentales sur la croissance du cancer », dit Luba Slatkovska, gestionnaire principale, recherche, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous ne pourrions pas avoir de tel impact sans le soutien de nos donateurs et de nos partenaires. »

Les Subventions pour l’innovation de la Société ont été développées pour résoudre d’une manière innovatrice et créative des problèmes dans le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer. L’objectif est de soutenir des concepts, approches ou méthodologies non classiques pour aborder les problèmes de la recherche sur le cancer.

Un total de 37 subventions représentant un investissement de 7,2 millions de dollars répartis partout au pays ont été annoncées aujourd’hui, dont 20 en Ontario. La Société canadienne du cancer est le plus important organisme de bienfaisance national à subventionner la recherche sur le cancer au Canada. Pour plus d’information sur l’investissement de la Société dans la recherche, visitez www.cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026