Run towards a smoke-free life with Run to Quit: Canadian Cancer Society and Running Room launch Canada’s first program of its kind to help people quit smoking and learn to run

09 January 2013

OTTAWA -

Tobacco remains the number one preventable killer with more than 100 Canadians dying every day from tobacco use. The Canadian Cancer Society and Running Room have teamed up to help the nearly 5 million Canadians who are still addicted to tobacco with this morning’s launch of Run to Quit, an innovative smoking cessation program based on adopting running as a means to quit smoking. Early research shows that physical activity can significantly help those trying to quit. Run to Quit could revolutionize the way people quit smoking.

Building upon the successful running programs of the Running Room and the expertise of the Canadian Cancer Society in helping people quit smoking, Run to Quit is specifically designed to support participants as they overcome their nicotine addiction while becoming life-long runners. To help ensure success, participants can register with a friend or family member as their “quit buddy”, as well as involve their family and friends to pledge their support by donating to the Canadian Cancer Society.

“Despite all of the progress made in tobacco prevention and cessation over the past 20-30 years, 17% of Canadians still smoke. On average, it takes people five to seven attempts at quitting before remaining smoke-free,” says John Atkinson, Senior Manager, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “I tried to quit smoking eight times before I was successful and running was my key to success. I am confident that Run to Quit will increase a participant’s odds of success because unlike other methods, Run to Quit combines physical activity, education and personalized support.”

Run to Quit clinics will be held from April until June at a Running Room location in Ottawa and will also be available to all Canadians online at runtoquit.com. Participants will receive education, resources and support from Run to Quit coaches; a running program that will teach participants how to run/walk 5K by the end of 10 weeks; plus additional support from the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline. The program culminates in a graduation 5K race June 23, 2013 in Ottawa to celebrate participants’ successes.

“For me, running was a way to start thinking like an athlete, and substitute a healthy addiction for a negative addiction. As a smoker, I rewarded myself or consoled myself by smoking,” explains John Stanton, Running Room founder and author of eight best-selling books on running. “Now as an athlete I make my lifestyle choices based on performance, and live life to the fullest.”

“Research shows that physical activity can be very useful when quitting smoking. Physical activity can actually reduce cravings, withdrawal symptoms, negative moods and weight gain,” says Ottawa’s Medical Officer of Health Dr. Isra Levy. “Ottawa Public Health is pleased to work with our community partners to enhance the services already offered to those who wish to quit smoking in Ottawa.”

Early research studies have also shown that physical activity, such as running can help about 25% of smokers to successfully quit compared with only 4% who try quitting cold turkey.

About Running Room Ltd.

The Running Room was founded in 1984 in one room of an old house shared with a hairdressing shop in Edmonton, Alberta. Today, this family-owned company is one of North America’s most recognized names in running and walking. The success of the Running Room is reliant on the fact that it doesn't just sell shoes and equipment; it sells a commitment to active living. For more information about the Running Room, please visit: www.runningroom.com or to learn more about registering for the Run to Quit program, please visit www.runningroom.com

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Courez vers une vie sans fumée grâce à Run to Quit : La Société canadienne du cancer et le Coin des Coureurs lancent le premier programme du genre au Canada pour aider les gens à cesser de fumer et apprendre à courir

09 janvier 2013

Ottawa -

Le tabac demeure la principale cause de décès évitable, plus de 100 Canadiens décédant chaque jour en raison de l’usage du tabac. La Société canadienne du cancer et le Coin des Coureurs ont uni leurs efforts pour aider presque 5 millions de Canadiens qui dépendent encore du tabac, et ce, grâce au lancement ce matin de Run to Quit, un programme novateur d’abandon du tabac basé sur l’adoption de la course comme moyen de cesser de fumer. La recherche démontre que l’activité physique peut grandement aider les personnes qui essaient de cesser. Run to Quit pourrait révolutionner la façon dont les gens cessent de fumer.

S’appuyant sur les programmes de course couronnés de succès offerts par le Coin des Coureur et sur l’expertise de la Société canadienne du cancer à aider les gens à cesser de fumer, Run to Quit est conçu expressément pour appuyer les participants au fur et à mesure qu’ils abandonnent leur dépendance à la nicotine tout en devenant des coureurs à vie. Pour réussir, les participants peuvent s’inscrire avec un ami ou un membre de leur famille qui deviendra leur « copain dans l’abandon », ainsi que faire participer leur famille et leurs amis en donnant à la Société canadienne du cancer.

« Malgré tous les progrès effectués dans la prévention et l’abandon du tabac au cours des dernières 20-30 années, 17 % des Canadiens fument encore. En moyenne, il faut cinq à sept tentatives pour cesser de fumer avant de réussir à demeurer sans fumée », dit John Atkinson, gestionnaire principal, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « J’ai essayé huit fois de cesser de fumer avant de réussir et la course a été la clé de mon succès. Je suis assuré que Run to Quit augmentera les chances de succès d’un participant parce que contrairement aux autres méthodes, Run to Quit combine l’activité physique, l’éducation et le soutien personnalisé. »

Les cliniques Run to Quit seront offertes d’avril à juin dans un des magasins Coin des Coureurs à Ottawa et seront aussi disponibles pour tous les Canadiens en ligne à runtoquit.com. Les participants recevront une formation, des ressources et du soutien des accompagnateurs Run to Quit; un programme de course qui enseignera aux participants à courir/marcher 5K d’ici la fin des 10 semaines; du soutien supplémentaire de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer. Le programme se terminera par une course de 5K le 23 juin 2013 à Ottawa pour célébrer les succès des participants.

« Pour moi, courir a été une manière de commencer à penser comme un athlète, et le substitut d’une dépendance négative pour une dépendance positive. En tant que fumeur, je me récompensais ou me consolais en fumant », explique John Stanton, fondateur du Coin des Coureurs et auteur de huit livres à succès sur la course. « Maintenant en tant qu’athlète, je fais mes choix de modes de vie basés sur la performance et je profite de la vie. »

« La recherche démontre que l’activité physique peut être très utile lorsqu’on essaie de cesser de fumer. L’activité physique peut en effet réduire les envies, les symptômes de sevrage, les humeurs négatives et le gain de poids », dit le Dr Isra Levy, médecin chef en santé publique, Ottawa. « Santé publique Ottawa est heureuse de travailler avec ses partenaires communautaires pour améliorer les services déjà offerts à ceux qui désirent cesser de fumer à Ottawa. »

Les premières études de recherche ont aussi démontré que l’activité physique, comme la course, peut aider environ 25 % des fumeurs à cesser avec succès comparativement à seulement 4 % des fumeurs qui ont cessé par sevrage brutal.

À propos du Coin des Coureurs
Le Coin des Coureurs a vu le jour en 1984 dans une pièce d’une vieille maison partagée avec un salon de coiffure à Edmonton, Alberta. Aujourd’hui, cette entreprise familiale est une des plus reconnues en Amérique du Nord dans le domaine de la course et de la marche. Le succès du Coin des Coureurs repose sur le fait qu’il ne vend pas seulement des souliers et de l’équipement; il vend un engagement à la vie active. Pour plus d’information sur le Coin des Coureurs, prière de visiter www.runningroom.com ou pour en savoir plus sur l’inscription au programme Run to Quit, visitez www.runningroom.com.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026