Ontario CEO kicks off Canadian Cancer Society’s 75th Anniversary

22 March 2013

Toronto -

To commemorate the Canadian Cancer Society’s 75th Anniversary and in support of Daffodil Month, Ontario Division CEO Martin Kabat is touring the province to meet with volunteers, donors, survivors, cancer researchers and supporters to bring focus to all that the Society has achieved by working with communities across Ontario. He will also encourage Ontarians to join the fight and talk about how everyone can contribute to changing cancer forever.

“For 75 years, we have been in every community making the biggest impact, working relentlessly to prevent cancer, save lives and support people living with cancer,” says Martin. “We can all play a role in the fight against cancer. This April, I encourage you to show your support for those living with cancer by wearing a daffodil pin.”

In the last two years alone, we raised more than $11 million during Daffodil Month in Ontario and we shared more than 1.5 million pins with supporters province-wide. Here are some of the ways your dollars have helped:

  • Recently, the Society announced 37 Innovation Grants with 20 in Ontario alone, including a groundbreaking imaging device that will be able to look deep within the human colon for signs of cancer and take pictures in all directions in much the same way Google “street-view” mapping works. This could potentially lead to earlier detection of colon cancer and saved lives.
  • In 2012, our volunteer drivers helped approximately 14,000 patients get to more than 118,000 cancer-related appointments, driving approximately 13 million kilometres. These patients had no other way of getting to their medical care.
  • After advocating for seven years for province-wide legislation restricting youth under 18 years of age from using indoor tanning, we are closer than ever to success. Recently Ontario Health Minister Deb Matthews announced the introduction of new legislation. If passed, the new law will protect the health of youth across the province.

The CEO will be available to speak to media in the following locations:

  • March 22: Kitchener
  • April 3: Windsor
  • April 13: Niagara Falls
  • April 15: Timmins
  • April 16: Sudbury
  • April 24: Kingston
  • April 30: Thunder Bay

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Le chef de la direction de l’Ontario donne le coup d’envoi aux célébrations du 75e anniversaire de la Société canadienne du cancer

22 mars 2013

Toronto -

Pour commémorer le 75e anniversaire de la Société canadienne du cancer et souligner le Mois de la jonquille, le chef de la direction de la Division de l’Ontario, Martin Kabat, fera une tournée de la province pour rencontrer les bénévoles, les donateurs, les survivants, les chercheurs et les partisans et ainsi attirer l’attention sur tout ce que la Société a réalisé en travaillant avec les communautés de l’Ontario. Il encouragera aussi les Ontariens à joindre le combat et parlera de la façon dont tout le monde peut contribuer à changer le cancer à jamais.

« Pendant 75 ans, la Société a été présente dans chaque communauté pour avoir le plus d’impact, travaillant inlassablement pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer », dit Martin. « Nous pouvons tous jouer un rôle dans le combat contre le cancer. En avril, je vous encourage à démontrer votre appui aux personnes vivant avec le cancer en portant votre épinglette jonquille. »

Au cours des deux dernières années, nous avons recueilli plus de 11 millions de dollars pendant le Mois de la jonquille en Ontario et nous avons partagé plus de 1,5 millions d’épinglettes avec nos partisans à la grandeur de la province. Vos dollars ont aidé des quelques façons suivantes :

  • Récemment, la Société a annoncé 37 Subventions pour l’innovation dont 20 en Ontario, y compris un appareil d’imagerie innovateur qui pourra examiner en profondeur le côlon humain pour trouver des signes de cancer et prendre des photos dans toutes les directions un peu comme la cartographie de Google « street view ». Ceci pourrait mener à une détection précoce du cancer du côlon et sauver des vies.
  • En 2012, nos chauffeurs bénévoles ont aidé environ 14 000 patients à se rendre à plus de 118 000 rendez-vous liés au cancer, parcourant environ 13 millions de kilomètres. Ces patients n’ont aucune autre manière de se rendre à leurs soins médicaux.
  • Après avoir exercé des pressions pendant sept ans pour obtenir une loi provinciale interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser des appareils de bronzage artificiel, nous nous rapprochons de plus en plus du succès. Tout récemment, la ministre de la Santé de l’Ontario, Deb Matthews, a annoncé la présentation d’une nouvelle loi. Si elle est adoptée, cette loi protégera la santé des jeunes de toute la province.

Le chef de la direction sera disponible pour s’adresser aux médias dans les villes suivantes :

  • 22 mars : Kitchener
  • 3 avril : Windsor
  • 13 avril : Niagara Falls
  • 15 avril : Timmins
  • 16 avril : Sudbury
  • 24 avril : Kingston
  • 30 avril : Thunder Bay

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026