A A A

Ontario budget: Canadian Cancer Society applauds government’s continued commitment to preventing skin cancer and looks to further action on health promotion initiatives.

03 May 2013

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society is pleased with the Ontario government’s continued focus on health promotion initiatives that aim to reduce skin cancer, child obesity and smoking rates.

“The budget reaffirms the government’s commitment to skin cancer prevention,” says Kelly Gorman, Senior Manager, Public Issues, Canadian Cancer Society Ontario Division. “Currently, there is legislation on the table that, if successful, would prohibit the sale of tanning services to youth under 18. We encourage all parties to work together to ensure that this important legislation passes before the beginning of this year’s graduation season so that we can protect the health of our youth.”

The Society also welcomes the additional $5 million annual investment in the Smoke-Free Ontario Strategy and plans to implement measures that will help reduce the supply of low-cost, contraband tobacco available to young people.

While the Society welcomes the government’s continued commitment to addressing cancer-control issues, it encourages government to move forward with measures that will achieve its commitment in helping to reduce childhood obesity by 20% over five years.

The Society will continue to advocate for measures that will:

  •  Help reduce smoking rates in Ontario by gradually increasing tobacco taxes to meet the national average. Ontario currently has the lowest tobacco taxes of any province in Canada. 
  • Improve access to cancer drugs by ensuring that all drugs recommended by Cancer Care Ontario’s clinical guidelines are added to the provincial drug formulary.
  • Protect Ontarians from environmental and occupational exposures to toxics.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY: 1-866-786-3934).###

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

A A A

Budget ontarien : La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit l’engagement continu du gouvernement à prévenir le cancer de la peau et espère qu’il passera à l’action sur d’autres initiatives de promotion de la santé

03 mai 2013

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est satisfaite de l’action continue du gouvernement de l’Ontario quant aux initiatives de promotion de la santé qui visent à réduire le cancer de la peau, l’obésité juvénile et les taux de tabagisme.

« Le budget réaffirme l’engagement du gouvernement envers la prévention du cancer de la peau », dit Kelly Gorman, gestionnaire principale, Questions d’intérêt public, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Actuellement, un projet de loi a été présenté et s’il est adopté, il interdirait la vente de services de bronzage artificiel aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans. Nous encourageons tous les partis à travailler ensemble pour s’assurer que ce projet de loi important soit adopté avant le début de la saison des bals de finissants afin que nous puissions protéger la santé de nos jeunes. »

La Société applaudit également l’investissement supplémentaire de 5 millions de dollars versé à la Stratégie pour un Ontario sans fumée et les plans pour mettre en œuvre des mesures qui aideront à réduire la quantité de tabac de contrebande peu dispendieux disponible pour les jeunes.

Bien que la Société apprécie l’engagement continu du gouvernement envers les questions liées à la lutte contre le cancer, elle encourage le gouvernement à aller de l’avant avec des mesures qui permettront de réaliser son engagement à aider à réduire l’obésité juvénile de 20 % sur cinq ans.

La Société continuera à exercer des pressions pour obtenir des mesures qui :

  • aideront à réduire les taux de tabagisme en Ontario en augmentant graduellement la taxe sur le tabac afin d’atteindre la moyenne nationale. L’Ontario a présentement la taxe la moins élevée de toutes les provinces au Canada;
  • amélioreront l’accès aux médicaments anticancéreux en s’assurant que tous les médicaments recommandés par les lignes directrices d’Action Cancer Ontario sont ajoutés à la liste provinciale de médicaments;
  • protègeront les Ontariens contre les expositions environnementales et professionnelles aux toxiques.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039