LCBO stores support Canadian Cancer Society Daffodil Month

22 April 2013

Toronto -

This April, the Canadian Cancer Society wants to pin you. The Canadian Cancer Society is marking its 75th anniversary this year and members of the public can help support them by making a donation at any of the 634 LCBO stores throughout Ontario. Coin and daffodil pin boxes will be displayed at LCBO checkout counters until April 27.

Every year in April, the Society asks all Ontarians to celebrate Daffodil Month by proudly wearing a daffodil in support of Canadians living with cancer or to remember those lost to this disease. To some the daffodil is just a flower. To us, it’s a symbol of strength, courage and a symbol of life. It says we will not give up. It says we will fight back. It says we will beat cancer.

The funds raised through donations for daffodil pins will enable us to continue in our mission to eradicate cancer and enhance the lives of people living with cancer. The Society does this by fighting all cancers on multiple fronts, including research, advocacy, prevention, information and support.

“LCBO’s province-wide network of stores and supportive staff will help the Canadian Cancer Society raise funds for the fight against cancer and increase public awareness of our impact in communities throughout Ontario,” says Susan Drodge, Director, Corporate and Community Partnerships, Canadian Cancer Society. “We appreciate the support we receive from LCBO, its employees and especially its customers.”

“As a socially responsible community partner, LCBO is pleased to partner with the Canadian Cancer Society and support a variety of worthy causes,” says LCBO President & CEO Bob Peter. “Through the generosity of LCBO customers and staff, we help improve the lives of countless Ontarians and make a difference where we live and work.”

The Society is one of 28 provincial, as well as numerous local charities, that will benefit from LCBO’s province-wide donation box program in 2013. In 2011, LCBO raised a total of more than $6.2 million for charities through special programs and initiatives, of which $5.7 million was raised through in-store fundraising. In addition, LCBO’s annual dividend transfer to the Ontario government, which totaled $1.63 billion in fiscal 2011-12, excluding taxes, supports a wide range of important government programs, services and priorities, including health care and education.

The Society thanks the public for its support this Daffodil Month when shopping at their local LCBO store from April 1–27.

About Daffodil Month
Daffodil Month is a national fundraising campaign of the Canadian Cancer Society. During April, Society volunteers are involved with numerous activities to raise vital funds for the fight against cancer. Wear a pin, text FIGHT to 45678 to donate $5, tweet the hashtag #mydaffodil, add a twibbon to your online profile and spread the word that it’s Daffodil Month. Visit fightback.ca to learn more.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888-939-3333 (TTY: 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

A A A

La LCBO appuie le Mois de la jonquille de la Société canadienne du cancer

22 avril 2013

Toronto -

En avril, la Société canadienne du cancer désire vous offrir une épinglette. La Société canadienne du cancer célèbre son 75e anniversaire cette année et la population peut aider à l’appuyer en faisant un don à une des 634 succursales de la LCBO en Ontario. Des boîtes à monnaie et des épinglettes jonquilles seront en évidence près de toutes les caisses jusqu’au 27 avril.

Chaque année en avril, la Société demande à tous les Ontariens de célébrer le Mois de la jonquille en portant fièrement une jonquille pour appuyer les Canadiens qui vivent avec le cancer ou pour se souvenir des personnes ayant perdu leur combat contre la maladie. Pour certains, la jonquille n’est qu’une fleur. Pour nous, elle est un symbole d’espoir, de courage et de vie. Elle dit que nous n’abandonnerons pas, que nous lutterons, que nous vaincrons le cancer.

Les fonds recueillis grâce à la vente d’épinglettes jonquilles nous permettront de continuer notre mission d’éradiquer le cancer et d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes vivant avec le cancer. La Société réalise sa mission en luttant contre tous les cancers sur plusieurs fronts, incluant la recherche, la défense de l’intérêt public, la prévention, l’information et le soutien.

Le réseau provincial de succursales de la LCBO et son personnel aideront la Société canadienne du cancer à recueillir des fonds pour lutter contre le cancer et mieux sensibiliser la population à notre impact dans les communautés de l’Ontario », dit Susan Drodge, directrice, Partenariats d’entreprises et communautaires, Société canadienne du cancer. « Nous apprécions le soutien de la LCBO, de ses employés et surtout, de ses clients. »

« En tant que partenaire communautaire socialement responsable, la LCBO est heureuse de s’associer à la Société canadienne du cancer et appuie une variété de causes importantes », dit Bob Peter, président et chef de la direction de la LCBO. « Grâce à la générosité des clients et du personnel de la LCBO, nous aidons à améliorer le quotidien d’innombrables Ontariens et à faire une différence où nous visons et travaillons. »

La Société compte parmi 28 organismes de bienfaisance provinciaux, ainsi que de nombreuses au niveau local, qui bénéficieront du programme de boîtes de dons de la LCBO à la grandeur de la province en 2013. En 2011, la LCBO a recueilli plus de 6,2 millions de dollars pour les organismes de bienfaisance par le biais de programmes spéciaux et d’initiatives, dont 5,7 millions de dollars ont été recueillis par les collectes de fonds en succursales. De plus, la dividende annuelle versée par la LCBO au gouvernement de l’Ontario, qui était de 1,63 milliards de dollars pour l’exercice 2011-2012, taxes non comprises, appuie une grande variété de programmes, de priorités et de services gouvernementaux importants, y compris les soins de la santé et l’éducation.

La Société remercie le public de son soutien pendant le Mois de la jonquille lorsqu’il visite la LCBO du 1er au 27 avril.

À propos du Mois de la jonquille
Le Mois de la jonquille est une campagne nationale de collecte de fonds de la Société canadienne du cancer. Pendant le mois d’avril, les bénévoles de la Société participent à de nombreuses activités pour recueillir des fonds essentiels pour combattre le cancer. Portez une épinglette, textez le mot FIGHT à 45678 pour donner 5 $, affichez le mot-clic #mydaffodil sur Twitter, ajoutez un « twibbon » à votre profil virtuel et transmettez le message sur le Mois de la jonquille. Visitez combatpourlavie.ca pour en apprendre davantage.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039