Does cancer treatment follow-up care help or hinder?

24 April 2013

Kingston -

A Kingston researcher is asking cancer survivors about their experience during follow-up visits after treatment to develop new options that may lead to better follow-up care and improved quality of life.

Countless cancer survivors know all too well the routine follow-up visits required after successful cancer treatment. The appointments may go on for months to years causing a range of emotions from stress to relief. A one-size-fits-all approach to follow-up care may work for some patients but are doctors relying on a long-established practice or is there a better way to monitor patients’ health after cancer treatment?

Dr Stephen Hall at Queen’s University has received a $153,029 Quality of Life Grant from the Canadian Cancer Society to find out.

“Routine follow-up visits are a time-honoured practice but maybe we can do better,” says Dr Hall, a head and neck specialist and surgeon with the Department of Otolaryngology and the Division of Cancer Care & Epidemiology at Queen's University. “If our current practice does not in fact always lead to better survival for patients, there must be a better option that takes the patient perspective into account.”

Previous research of head and neck cancer surgeons at Canadian cancer centers found no consensus on how long or how often patients should be seen, which patients should be seen more often or what patients actually need at their follow up appointment.

To build a better model for follow-up visits, Dr Hall and his team will try to understand the patient perspective of these visits. With this new funding, they will survey head and neck cancer survivors about their attitudes, needs, preferences, fears and expectation regarding routine follow-up care for three years after treatment.

The information will help Dr Hall and his team build new models of follow-up care, which can then be tested through a clinical trial to determine which model best balances the risk of cancer reoccurrence and patients’ wellbeing while also being cost-effective. Although the study focuses on testing head and neck cancer patients, the new follow-up model can be applied to patients with other types of cancers.

“I’m grateful to the Canadian Cancer Society because this funding will enable me to start the process towards a more effective follow-up policy that takes into consideration the personal experience of patients,” says Dr Hall.

The ultimate goal is to find ways to improve the quality of life of people who have survived cancer by making the practice of follow-up more efficient, targeted and effective.

“We know how important quality of life is to a patient during and after cancer treatment,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We’re pleased that, with the generous support of donors, we are able to fund this important study that considers the needs and fears of patients as they try to move beyond cancer.”

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY: 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

A A A

Le suivi après le traitement du cancer aide-t-il ou nuit-il?

24 avril 2013

Kingston -

Un chercheur de Kingston parlera aux survivants du cancer de leur expérience pendant les rendez-vous de suivi après le traitement afin de développer de nouvelles options qui pourraient mener à de meilleurs soins de suivi et à une qualité de vie améliorée.

D’innombrables survivants du cancer connaissent trop bien les visites de suivi routinières requises après un traitement efficace contre le cancer. Les rendez-vous peuvent s’échelonner sur des mois et même des années, entraînant une variété d’émotions passant du stress au soulagement. Une approche uniformisée des soins de suivi peut fonctionner pour certains patients mais est-ce que les médecins se servent d’une pratique reconnue ou existe-t-il une meilleure façon de surveiller la santé des patients après le traitement contre le cancer?

Le Dr Stephen Hall à l’Université Queen’s a reçu une Subvention de recherche sur l’amélioration de la qualité de vie de 153 029 $ de la Société canadienne du cancer pour répondre à cette question.

« Les visites de suivi routinières sont une pratique consacrée par l’usage mais nous pouvons peut-être faire mieux », dit le Dr Hall, spécialiste de la tête et du cou et chirurgien du département d’otorhinolaryngologie et de la Division des soins contre le cancer et de l’épidémiologie à l’Université Queen’s . « Si notre pratique actuelle n’entraîne pas une meilleure survie pour les patients, il doit exister une meilleure option qui tient compte du point de vue du patient. »

Une recherche antérieure auprès des chirurgiens spécialistes de la tête et du cou dans les centres de cancérologie canadiens n’a trouvé aucun consensus sur la durée et la fréquence des visites, sur les patients qui devraient être vus plus souvent ou sur ce que les patients ont réellement besoin lors de leurs rendez-vous de suivi.

Afin de développer un meilleur modèle pour les visites de suivi, le Dr Hall et son équipe essaieront de comprendre le point de vue du patient concernant ces visites. Grâce à cette nouvelle subvention, ils effectueront un sondage auprès des survivants du cancer de la tête et du cou, pendant trois ans après le traitement, pour connaître leur attitude, besoins, préférences, peurs et attentes par rapport à ces rendez-vous de suivi.

L’information aidera le Dr Hall et son équipe à développer de nouveaux modèles de soins de suivi qui pourront ensuite être évalués par le biais d’un essai clinique pour déterminer quel modèle offre le meilleur équilibre entre le risque de récidive du cancer et le bien-être des patients tout en étant économique. Bien que l’étude se concentre sur les patients ayant un cancer de la tête et du cou, le nouveau modèle de suivi peut être utilisé pour des patients ayant d’autres types de cancer.

« Je suis reconnaissant envers la Société canadienne du cancer parce que cette subvention me permettra de commencer le processus menant à une politique de suivi plus efficace qui tient compte de l’expérience personnelle des patients », dit le Dr Hall.

L’objectif ultime est de trouver des façons d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes ayant survécu au cancer en rendant le suivi plus efficient, ciblé et efficace.

« Nous connaissons l’importance de la qualité de vie pour le patient pendant et après le traitement du cancer », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Grâce au soutien généreux de nos donateurs, nous sommes heureux de pouvoir financer cette étude importante qui tient compte des besoins et des craintes des patients qui essaient de vivre au-delà du cancer. »

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039