Canadian Cancer Society reacts to Throne Speech

19 February 2013

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society is pleased to hear reference to important cancer-related issues in today’s Throne Speech at the Ontario Legislature.

“We know that about half of all cancers can be prevented through healthy living and policies that protect people’s health,” says Joanne Di Nardo, Senior Manager of Public Issues for the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “We were reassured to hear that the government remains committed to health promotion, reducing smoking rates and supporting evidence-based health policy.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national leader in providing evidence-based information on more than 200 different types of cancer. To evaluate the evidence, the Society looks at the big picture. Information and policy recommendations are based on many scientific studies.

In 2012, an estimated 72,300 Ontarians were diagnosed with cancer and 27,900 were expected to die from the disease. According to a 2008 Ontario Health Quality Council report, 1 in 3 Ontarians will be affected by chronic disease such as cancer. Increased investments in health promotion and disease prevention are vital to the long-term sustainability of the province’s healthcare system.

While the Canadian Cancer Society through the support of volunteers and donors has seen important public policy gains to prevent cancer, save lives and help people living with the disease, the Society would like to see immediate action on the following public policy recommendations:

Indoor tanning

Indoor tanning bed use before the age of 35 significantly increases the risk of melanoma. Melanoma skin cancer is one of the most common forms of skin cancer in young Ontarians aged 15 to 29, and is one of the most preventable. The Society would like to see all youth under 18 years of age restricted from indoor tanning salons because parental consent and voluntary guidelines do not work. This proposed legislation has strong support from all political parties and Ontarians.

Tobacco control

Tobacco use continues to be the leading preventable cause of death and disease in Ontario. Significant progress has been made in tobacco control through the Smoke-Free Ontario Act, however smoking rates have failed to sustain a drop below 20 per cent. The Canadian Cancer Society fully supports recommendations made by the Tobacco Strategy Advisory Group and other measures stated in the 2012 Ontario budget, some of which include:

  • Implementing a contraband tobacco control strategy that includes educating the public about health and social problems associated with tobacco and undertaking research to help measure the impact of tobacco strategies on smoking levels in the province
  • Gradually increasing tobacco taxes by $13 per carton to meet the national average
  • Banning all flavoured tobacco products

The Society is convinced that the above policies will help reduce the number of lives adversely affected by cancer.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

La Société canadienne du cancer réagit au discours du Trône

19 février 2013

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est heureuse de constater que le discours du Trône a mentionné quelques questions importantes liées au cancer aujourd’hui à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario.

« Nous savons qu’environ la moitié de tous les cancers peuvent être évités par une vie saine et des politiques qui protègent la santé des gens », dit Joanne Di Nardo, gestionnaire principale des questions d’intérêt public, Société canadienne du cancer, Ontario. « Nous avons été rassurés d’entendre que le gouvernement demeure engagé envers la promotion de la santé, la réduction des taux de tabagisme et le soutien des politiques sur la santé fondées sur les preuves. »

La Société canadienne du cancer est un leader national qui fournit de l’information sur plus de 200 types de cancer différents. Pour évaluer les preuves, la Société examine le portrait d’ensemble. L’information et les recommandations en matière de politiques sont basées sur beaucoup d’études scientifiques.

En 2012, on estime que 72 300 Ontariens ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer et on s’attendait à ce que 27 900 décèdent de la maladie. Selon un rapport du Conseil ontarien de la qualité des services de santé en 2008, un Ontarien sur trois sera affecté par une maladie chronique comme le cancer. Des investissements accrus dans la promotion de la santé et la prévention de la maladie sont essentiels à la durabilité à long terme du système de soins de santé de la province.

Bien que la Société canadienne du cancer, par le biais du soutien des bénévoles et des donateurs, ait connu d’importants gains dans les politiques publiques pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et aider les personnes vivant avec la maladie, elle aimerait voir des mesures immédiates sur les recommandations suivantes en matière de politiques publiques :

Bronzage artificiel
L’utilisation de lits de bronzage avant 35 ans augmente de manière significative le risque de mélanome. Le mélanome (cancer de la peau) est un des types de cancer de la peau les plus fréquents chez les jeunes ontariens de 15 à 29 ans et est un des plus évitables. La Société aimerait que les lits de bronzage soient interdits à tous les jeunes de moins de 18 ans car le consentement parental et le respect volontaire des lignes directrices ne fonctionnent pas. La loi proposée est fortement appuyée par tous les partis politiques et les Ontariens.

Lutte contre le tabagisme
Le tabagisme continue à être la principale cause de décès et de maladie évitable en Ontario. Des progrès importants ont été réalisés dans la lutte contre le tabagisme par le biais de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée, cependant, les taux de tabagisme n’ont pas réussi à maintenir une baisse vers un taux inférieur à 20 %. La Société canadienne du cancer appuie complètement les recommandations présentées par le Groupe consultatif de la Stratégie antitabac et autres mesures mentionnées dans le budget 2012 de l’Ontario, dont :

  • Mettre en œuvre une stratégie de lutte contre le tabac de contrebande qui inclut l’éducation du public sur les problèmes de santé et sociaux associés au tabac et qui entreprend des recherches pour aider à mesurer l’impact des stratégies sur le tabac sur les niveaux de tabagisme dans la province.
  • Augmenter graduellement les taxes sur le tabac de 13 $ par cartouche pour atteindre la moyenne nationale.
  • Interdire tous les produits du tabac aromatisés.

La Société est convaincue que les politiques ci-dessus aideront à réduire le nombre de vies affectées par le cancer.

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181