Can a gold-plated micro-chip detect the growth of cancer?

19 March 2013

London -

A multi-disciplinary team of researchers led by scientists in London and Toronto is developing a simple tool that could one day make it easier to choose the best available cancer treatments for individual patients and improve their chances for survival.

Dr David Litchfield, Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Western University, and a team that includes leaders in biological and physical sciences, as well as clinicians in the Division of Hematology at London Health Sciences Centre, are developing a specialized tool — a small gold-plated chip layered with sensors — that will be able to detect the activity of cell molecules called protein kinases that are often involved in cancer growth.

With a new $200,000 Innovation Grant, Dr Litchfield and his team are aiming to further develop this highly innovative technology so that numerous protein kinases can be monitored at the same time. The team, co-led by University of Toronto (Scarborough) chemistry professor Dr Bernie Kraatz, will also test the tool in cell lines and blood samples from leukemia patients. This information will help the team determine which protein kinases are involved in a patient’s cancer growth.

If successful, doctors will be able to use the tool to learn more about a patient’s tumour, so they can select the best available treatment for the patient based on the tumour’s characteristics.

“I applaud the Canadian Cancer Society for funding innovation that supports creativity and enables us to bring together talents from diverse disciplines to take a highly collaborative approach to solving the puzzle of cancer growth,” says Dr Litchfield.

The Society has long supported Dr Litchfield’s work. Including the new grant, he has received $2.4 million in funding from the Society since 1994 to support research and the training of many research personnel.

“We are proud to support innovative research that stimulates new approaches to cancer research, such as this project that could help doctors provide the best available treatments to patients,” says Luba Slatkovska, Senior Manager, Research, Ontario Division. “We couldn’t make this impact without the support of our donors and supporters.”

The Society’s Innovation Grants were developed to support innovative and creative problem-solving in cancer research. The goal is to support unconventional concepts, approaches or methodologies to address problems in cancer research.

A total of 37 grants representing a $7.2 million investment across the country were announced today, with 20 in Ontario alone. The Canadian Cancer Society is the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada. For more information about the Society’s research funding, visit cancer.ca

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Une micropuce plaquée or peut-elle détecter la croissance d’un cancer?

19 mars 2013

London -

Une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs dirigée par des scientifiques à London et à Toronto développe un outil simple qui pourrait un jour faciliter le choix du meilleur traitement contre le cancer disponible pour les patients et améliorer leur chance de survie.

Le Dr David Litchfield, professeur, département de biochimie, Université Western, et une équipe qui comprend des leaders du domaine des sciences biologiques et physiques, ainsi que des cliniciens de la division d’hématologie du London Health Sciences Centre, développent un outil spécialisé (une puce plaquée or avec capteurs) qui pourra détecter l’activité de molécules cellulaires appelées protéines kinases qui sont souvent impliquées dans la croissance du cancer.

Grâce à une nouvelle Subvention pour l’innovation de 200 000 $, le Dr Litchfield et son équipe visent à développer davantage cette technologie très innovatrice afin de pouvoir surveiller de nombreuses protéines kinases en même temps. L’équipe, codirigée par le Dr Bernie Kraatz, professeur de chimie à l’Université de Toronto (Scarborough), mettra aussi l’outil à l’essai dans les lignées cellulaires et les échantillons sanguins des patients atteints de leucémie. Cette information aidera l’équipe à déterminer quelles protéines kinases participent à la croissance du cancer chez un patient.

Si cette étude obtient des résultats positifs, les médecins seront en mesure d’utiliser l’outil pour en apprendre plus sur la tumeur d’un patient afin de pouvoir choisir le meilleur traitement disponible pour le patient en se basant sur les caractéristiques de la tumeur.

« Je félicite la Société canadienne du cancer de financer l’innovation qui appuie la créativité et nous permet de rassembler les talents de diverses disciplines pour prendre une approche hautement collaborative dans le but de résoudre le casse-tête de la croissance du cancer », dit le Dr Litchfield.

La Société appuie le travail du Dr Litchfield depuis longtemps. Incluant cette nouvelle subvention, il a reçu 2,4 millions de dollars de la Société depuis 1994 pour aider à la recherche et à la formation de nombreux membres du personnel de recherche.

« Nous sommes fiers d’appuyer la recherche innovatrice qui stimule de nouvelles approches en matière de recherche sur le cancer, comme ce projet qui pourrait aider les médecins à offrir les meilleurs traitements disponibles », dit Luba Slatkovska, gestionnaire principale, recherche, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous ne pourrions pas avoir de tel impact sans le soutien de nos donateurs et de nos partenaires. »

Les Subventions pour l’innovation de la Société ont été développées pour résoudre d’une manière innovatrice et créative des problèmes dans le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer. L’objectif est de soutenir des concepts, approches ou méthodologies non classiques pour aborder les problèmes de la recherche sur le cancer.

Un total de 37 subventions représentant un investissement de 7,2 millions de dollars répartis partout au pays ont été annoncées aujourd’hui, dont 20 en Ontario. La Société canadienne du cancer est le plus important organisme de bienfaisance national à subventionner la recherche sur le cancer au Canada. Pour plus d’information sur l’investissement de la Société dans la recherche, visitez www.cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026