Canadian Cancer Society presents Awards for Excellence

24 May 2013

TORONTO -

Each year, the Canadian Cancer Society honours exceptional Canadian scientists who have made a significant contribution to progress in cancer research. This year, two recipients of the four national Awards for Excellence in Cancer Research are based in Ontario.

Dr Steven Narod, Senior Scientist, Women’s College Research Institute, is the recipient of the O. Harold Warwick Prize, which is given to a scientist whose research has had a major impact on cancer control in Canada.

Dr Aaron Schimmer, Senior Scientist, Ontario Cancer Institute, is the recipient of the Bernard and Francine Dorval Prize, which is given to a promising investigator who began their independent research within the previous 10 years and who has made outstanding contributions to basic biomedical research.

“We’re proud to honour these outstanding scientists for their achievements — one a world leader in breast cancer research and one with impressive momentum in cancer research,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We couldn’t support such remarkable researchers without the generous support of our donors and volunteers.”

Dr Narod is a world leader in the field of breast and ovarian cancer genetics. He was the first to show that BRCA breast cancer genes also increase the risk of ovarian cancer. This discovery opened the door to a new way of thinking about cancer and new strategies for the prevention and treatment of these cancers in high-risk women.

Dr Narod’s award was presented to him by Victoria Warwick, a cancer survivor and daughter of the late Dr O. Harold Warwick, a pioneering researcher in cancer control and treatment, who became the first executive director of both the former National Cancer Institute of Canada and the Canadian Cancer Society.

“I was an oncology social worker for years and my husband practices medical oncology. These factors, in addition to having had cancer myself, have made me realize on a daily basis how important the drive in cancer research is,” said Warwick.

Dr Aaron Schimmer’s research focuses on drug discovery for leukemia patients. Using automated and robotic equipment, he is developing new tools that could advance our understanding of biological vulnerabilities in leukemia cells. He has already advanced three drugs from his lab into clinical trials for patients with leukemia and related blood disorders and his work in novel therapeutics has resulted in over 20 patents and patent applications.

Dr Schimmer’s award was presented by Bernard and Francine Dorval, who have made a significant philanthropic investment in the Canadian Cancer Society’s research program. In recognition of their gift, the Society announced today that it will rename the Canadian Cancer Society Young Investigator Award to the Bernard and Francine Dorval Prize.

Now retired, Bernard Dorval is the former Deputy Chair, TD Canada Trust. He was one of three Co-Chairs for the 2006 Canadian Cancer Society Daffodil Ball in Montreal, which raised more than $2 million.

About the Canadian Cancer Society

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY: 1-866-786-3934).

 

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société canadienne du cancer présente les Prix d’excellence

24 mai 2013

TORONTO -

Chaque année, la Société canadienne du cancer rend hommage à des scientifiques canadiens dont la contribution remarquable fait avancer la recherche sur le cancer. Cette année, deux récipiendaires des quatre Prix d’excellence en recherche sur le cancer sont en Ontario.

Le Dr Steven Narod, chercheur principal, Women’s College Research Institute, est le récipiendaire du prix O. Harold Warwick, remis à un scientifique dont les recherches ont eu une incidence considérable sur la lutte contre le cancer au Canada.

Le Dr Aaron Schimmer, chercheur principal, Institut ontarien du cancer, est le récipiendaire du prix Bernard et Francine Dorval remis à un chercheur prometteur qui a commencé sa recherche indépendante au cours des 10 dernières années et qui a fait une contribution importante à la recherche biomédicale fondamentale.

« Nous sommes fiers d’honorer ces scientifiques exceptionnels pour leurs réalisations : un leader de la recherche sur le cancer du sein à l’échelle mondiale et un autre ayant déjà un élan formidable dans la recherche sur le cancer », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous ne pourrions pas financer de tels chercheurs sans le généreux soutien de nos donateurs et bénévoles. »

Le Dr Steven Narod est un chef de file mondial en matière de génétique du cancer du sein et de l’ovaire. Il a été le premier à démontrer que les gènes BRCA associés au cancer du sein augmentaient aussi le risque de cancer de l’ovaire. Cette découverte a ouvert la voie à une nouvelle façon de penser au cancer et à de nouvelles stratégies de prévention et de traitement de ces cancers chez les femmes à risque élevé.

Le prix du Dr Narod lui a été présenté par Victoria Warwick, une survivante du cancer et fille du regretté Dr O. Harold Warwick, un pionnier de la recherche sur le cancer et les traitements qui a aussi été le premier directeur général de l’ancien Institut national du cancer du Canada et de la Société canadienne du cancer.

« J’ai été une travailleuse sociale en oncologie pendant des années et mon mari est oncologue médical. Ces facteurs, en plus d’avoir eu le cancer moi-même, me font réaliser quotidiennement l’importance de la recherche sur le cancer », dit Mme Warwick.

La recherche du Dr Aaron Schimmer met l’accent sur la découverte de médicaments pour les personnes atteintes de leucémie. En utilisant de l’équipement automatisé et robotique, il développe de nouveaux outils qui pourraient nous aider à mieux comprendre les faiblesses biologiques des cellules de la leucémie. Trois médicaments qu’il a ainsi élaborés en laboratoire font l’objet d’essais cliniques auprès de patients atteints de leucémie et de troubles sanguins connexes et son travail d’élaboration de nouveaux traitements a donné lieu à plus de 20 brevets et demandes de brevets.

Le prix du Dr Schimmer lui a été présenté par Bernard et Francine Dorval qui ont fait un investissement philanthropique dans le programme de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. En reconnaissance de leur don, la Société a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle renommera le Prix des jeunes chercheurs de la Société canadienne du cancer, Prix Bernard et Francine Dorval.

Maintenant à la retraite, Bernard Dorval est l’ancien vice-président de la TD Canada Trust. Il était un des trois co-présidents du Bal de la jonquille de la Société canadienne du cancer en 2006 à Montréal qui a recueilli plus de 2 millions de dollars.

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1-866-786-3934).

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026