Women In Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) surpasses $5 million in donations to support life-saving cancer research

27 June 2012

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to acknowledge and celebrate the tremendous achievement of the Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) who have raised over $5 million dollars for the Society to support lifesaving breast, prostate and general cancer research. In an industry where the largest portion of employees is women, WICC was founded as a passionate response to the number of women they worked with that were facing breast cancer. In 1996 they took action and starting modestly with candle sales, the women and men of WICC have mobilized the entire property and casualty insurance industry to fight back against cancer.

Each year, WICC raises funds through a variety of annual fundraising initiatives including a gala dinner, golf tournament, Breakfast for Cancer and outstanding participation in the Society’s signature fundraising event, Relay For Life. WICC’s year-round fundraising efforts and outreach activities are a leading example of the impact a dedicated group of individuals can have when united in a common cause.

“It’s amazing how far we as a group have come from our humble beginnings,” says Barb Reddick, Executive Director, WICC Ontario. “This landmark achievement is attributed to the women and men throughout the insurance industry who have taken action whether that be buying a ticket to an event, volunteering for a local committee, purchasing a product or developing their own event to raise funds. Every effort counts in the fight for a cure.”

WICC’s commitment to raising funds for cancer research is saving lives. According to Canadian Cancer Statistics, the cancer death rate is declining in Canada, and has been since the 1980s thanks in large part to research.

“In the last two decades alone, 100,000 lives have been saved because of the declining death rate, meaning 100,000 people and their families have been spared suffering - that’s almost the population of Barrie,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Advancement in how we prevent, diagnose and treat cancer is the main reason behind this good news, and this progress would not have been possible without the knowledge we uncover through research and research is only possible through the generous support of our donors like WICC.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to be the exclusive charity partner of WICC and thanks their volunteers and supporters for joining us in the fight against cancer.

About WICC

WICC is an organization of women and men dedicated to mobilizing the Canadian insurance industry in the fight against cancer by focusing on fundraising for cancer research and providing support and educational opportunities to their peers. WICC's donations are used to fund breast, prostate and other forms of lifesaving cancer research. More information about WICC can be found at www.wicc.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) dépasse les 5 millions de dollars en dons pour appuyer la recherche vitale sur le cancer

27 juin 2012

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est fière de reconnaître et de célébrer le franc succès de Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) qui a recueilli plus de 5 millions de dollars pour la Société au profit de la recherche sur le cancer du sein, de la prostate et du cancer en général. Dans une industrie où la plus grande portion des employés est composée de femmes, WICC a été créé en raison du nombre de femmes dans l’industrie qui affrontaient le cancer du sein. En 1996, elles sont passées à l’action et ont commencé modestement par des ventes de chandelles. Les femmes et les hommes de WICC ont mobilisé toute l’industrie de l’assurance des biens et de l’assurance risques divers dans la lutte contre le cancer.

Chaque année, WICC recueille des fonds grâce à une variété d’initiatives annuelles de collecte de fonds y compris un gala, un tournoi de golf, un déjeuner « Breakfast for Cancer » et une participation remarquable à l’événement de marque de la Société, le Relais pour la vie. Les efforts de collecte de fonds et les activités de sensibilisation de WICC sont un exemple de l’impact qu’un groupe de personnes dévouées peut avoir en travaillant ensemble dans un but commun.

« C’est incroyable de constater que notre groupe a fait beaucoup de chemin depuis nos humbles débuts », dit Barb Reddick, directrice générale, WICC Ontario. « Cette réalisation remarquable est possible grâce aux femmes et aux hommes de l’industrie de l’assurance qui sont passés à l’action que ce soit pour acheter un billet pour un événement, faire du bénévolat au sein d’un comité, acheter un produit ou développer leur propre événement pour recueillir des fonds. Chaque effort compte dans la lutte pour la guérison. »

L’engagement de WICC à recueillir des fonds pour la recherche sur le cancer sauve des vies. Selon les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, le taux de décès par cancer est à la baisse au Canada et l’est depuis les années 1980 grâce en grande partie à la recherche.

« Au cours des deux dernières décennies, 100 000 vies ont été sauvées en raison du taux à la baisse, ce qui signifie que 100 000 personnes et leur famille ont moins souffert. Ce chiffre représente presque toute la population de Barrie », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Les progrès dans la prévention, le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer sont la principale raison de cette bonne nouvelle et ces progrès auraient été impossibles sans les connaissances acquises par la recherche et la recherche est seulement possible grâce au généreux soutien de donateurs comme WICC. »

La Société canadienne du cancer est fière d’être le partenaire exclusif de WICC et remercie ses bénévoles et partisans de se joindre à nous dans la lutte contre le cancer.

À propos de WICC

WICC est une organisation composée de femmes et d'hommes dévoués qui s'unissent pour mobiliser l’industrie canadienne de l’assurance dans la lutte contre le cancer en recueillant des fonds pour la recherche et en offrant un accès à l’information et au soutien à leurs pairs dans l’industrie. Les dons de WICC sont utilisés pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein, de la prostate et autres projets de recherche pouvant sauver des vies. Plus d’information sur WICC à www.wicc.ca.

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181