Ontario budget: Canadian Cancer Society pleased with some measures and looks to further government action on prevention and help for patients

27 March 2012

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society is pleased with the Ontario government’s commitment to cancer prevention through increased enforcement to control illegal contraband tobacco, an expansion of screening programs and a goal to reduce childhood obesity and is looking to further action on indoor tanning, improved access to cancer drug and environmental exposure.

“Despite concerns about austerity, the Ontario government is putting kids first when it comes to tobacco control,” says Joanne Di Nardo, Senior Manager, Public Issues, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “These measures will help keep Ontario children safer from tobacco industry products designed to turn them into long-term addicts to tobacco.”

In its budget today, the Ontario government said it will increase fines for those who sell tobacco to children and double enforcement efforts to address illegal tobacco.

The Society also welcomes the government’s proposed strategy to reduce childhood obesity by 20% over five years as well as the expansion of comprehensive screening programs for cervical, breast and colorectal cancer.

The government’s budget commitment to cancer prevention will not only help save lives but also save health care costs now and in the future.

However, the Society will continue to advocate for measures that will:

  • protect youth under the age of 18 from indoor tanning and the marketing and promotion that goes along with it
  • improve access to cancer drugs by ensuring that all drugs recommended by Cancer Care Ontario’s clinical guidelines are added to the provincial drug formulary
  • protect Ontarians from environmental and occupational exposures to toxics.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Budget de l’Ontario : La Société canadienne du cancer accueille favorablement certaines mesures et espère que le gouvernement se concentrera davantage sur la prévention et le soutien aux patients

27 mars 2012

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer accueille favorablement l’engagement du gouvernement de l’Ontario envers la prévention du cancer par le biais d’une meilleure surveillance policière pour contrôler le tabac de contrebande, du développement de programmes de dépistage et d’un objectif de réduction de l’obésité chez les enfants et espère que le gouvernement passera à l’action sur le bronzage artificiel, l’accès amélioré aux médicaments anticancéreux et l’exposition dans l’environnement.

« Malgré les préoccupations liées à l’austérité, le gouvernement ontarien donne priorité aux enfants lorsqu’il s’agit de la lutte contre le tabagisme », dit Joanne Di Nardo, gestionnaire principale, questions d’intérêt public, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Ces mesures aideront à protéger les enfants ontariens contre les produits de l’industrie du tabac conçus pour qu’ils s’habituent au tabac pour longtemps. »

Dans son budget d’aujourd’hui, le gouvernement ontarien a dit qu’il augmenterait les amendes pour les commerçants qui vendent du tabac aux enfants et qu’il doublerait les efforts de surveillance policière pour contrôler le tabac illégal.

La Société accueille aussi favorablement la stratégie proposée par le gouvernement pour réduire l’obésité chez les enfants de 20 % sur cinq ans ainsi que le développement de programmes complets de dépistage du cancer du col de l’utérus, du sein et colorectal.

L’engagement du gouvernement envers la prévention du cancer aidera non seulement à sauver des vies mais aussi à réduire les frais de soins de santé aujourd’hui et pour l’avenir.

Cependant, la Société continuera à exercer des pressions pour obtenir des mesures qui :

  • protègent les jeunes de moins de 18 ans contre le bronzage artificiel et le marketing et la promotion qui l’accompagnent;
  • améliorent l’accès aux médicaments anticancéreux en s’assurant que tous les médicaments recommandés par les lignes directrices d’Action Cancer Ontario sont ajoutés à la liste provinciale de médicaments;
  • protègent les Ontariens contre les expositions environnementales et professionnelles aux toxiques.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026