Ontarians fear cancer above many other diseases, and more than one-quarter delay medical attention fearing what the doctor might find: Canadian Cancer Society encourages Ontarians to share their fears about cancer

05 November 2012

TORONTO -

Today, the Canadian Cancer Society officially launches The FearLess Project to help change the way Ontarians think about, talk about and deal with cancer. The project provides Ontarians with a place to share and acknowledge their fears as a first step to addressing them at www.thefearlessproject.ca.

A recent survey showed that 70% of Ontarians fear cancer ahead of numerous other diseases, including heart disease, Alzheimer’s and diabetes.

“Fear can prevent people from being proactive about seeing a doctor, and can ultimately affect health outcomes and their ability to get the care and help they need,” said Susan Horvath, Vice President, Leadership Philanthropy, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “The FearLess Project is our way to help Ontarians begin to communicate their fears and demonstrate how the Canadian Cancer Society can help play a role in alleviating the fear.”

“The vision of the Canadian Cancer Society is creating a world where no Canadian fears cancer. We’re not there yet, but the Society hopes that by better understanding Canadians’ fears about cancer, it will enable us to further tailor our services and support for people facing cancer, develop new programs and advocacy strategies to address identified gaps or specific needs or even suggest new types of research,” said Horvath.

In support of the launch, the Society commissioned Ispos Reid to survey Ontarians to learn about their biggest fears about cancer:

  • The vast majority (70%) of Ontarians fear cancer ahead of numerous other diseases, including heart disease and stroke (59%), Alzheimer’s (57%) and diabetes (41%)
  • Eight in 10 Ontarians who have been diagnosed with cancer fear the disease; however, more than half of people who haven’t known anyone diagnosed with cancer also fear the disease
  • Women, in general across Ontario, fear the potential outcomes of cancer more than men — including the cancer returning (84% vs. 68%), missing important life events (80% vs. 63%), having to tell loved ones (77% vs. 57%) and physical changes (62% vs. 44%)
  • The two biggest fears expressed are ‘feeling sick and unable to do everyday things’ (82%) and ‘dying and leaving behind loved ones’ (77%)
  • 87% of Ontarians ‘would want to know’ that they had cancer, even if there was nothing that could be done to treat it. Although more than one-quarter of respondents (27%) say that a barrier for getting screened and tested for cancer is that ‘they’re afraid of what the doctor might find’

In 2004 at age 34, Tammy MacIsaac-Horvath of Cannington, Ontario, was diagnosed with stage 4 uterine sarcoma, a rare and deadly type of cancer. A wife and mother of two young boys, fear was something that Tammy knew very well when she was told she had two weeks to live.

“Having a young family and being told that I had two weeks to live was heart-wrenching, to say the least,” says Tammy. “Being here eight years later, I can say that I feel very lucky and because of my journey, I now have a fearless perspective on life. I encourage all Ontarians to join the conversation at www.thefearlessproject.ca.”

The FearLess Project is a bold step in engaging Canadians in a broader undertaking that aims to change the dialogue around what it means to confront, cope with, and ultimately change cancer forever.

The Society is asking Ontarians to join The FearLess Project by visiting www.thefearlessproject.ca to share their fears of cancer. Once their fear is entered, participants will be directed to information on how to help cope with, manage and potentially overcome these fears. They will also be able to see the fears expressed by others, which may help to reduce a sense of isolation.

The FearLess Project will be promoted through a number of initiatives during November, including a partnership with Air Miles, an exciting one-day FearLess exhibit in downtown Toronto, and a dedicated special section in the Toronto Star.

The Ipsos Reid poll was conducted October 22-26, 2012 on behalf of the Canadian Cancer Society. For this survey, a sample of 1,017 Ontarians from Ipsos Reid's Ontarian online panel was interviewed online. Weighting was then employed to balance demographics to ensure that the sample's composition reflects that of the adult population according to Census data and to provide results intended to approximate the sample universe. The precision of Ipsos Reid online polls are calculated using a credibility interval. In this case, the poll is accurate to +/- 3.5 percentage points of all Ontarians.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

Les Ontariens ont peur du cancer plus que de toute autre maladie et plus d’un quart retarde de consulter un médecin car ils ont peur de ce qu’il pourrait découvrir : La Société canadienne du cancer encourage les Ontariens à partager leurs craintes à propos du cancer

05 novembre 2012

Toronto -

Aujourd’hui, la Société canadienne du cancer lance officiellement le Projet « FearLess » pour aider à changer la façon dont les Ontariens pensent au cancer, en parlent et l’affrontent. Le projet offre aux Ontariens un endroit où partager et reconnaître leurs craintes en faisant le premier pas pour les affronter à www.thefearlessproject.ca.

Un sondage récent a démontré que 70 % des Ontariens avaient peur du cancer plus que d’autres maladies, y compris les maladies cardiaques, la maladie d’Alzheimer et le diabète.

« La peur peut empêcher les gens d’être proactifs en consultant un médecin et cela peut ultimement affecter les résultats en matière de santé et leur capacité à obtenir les soins et l’aide dont ils ont besoin », dit Susan Horvath, vice-présidente, Leadership et philanthropie, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Le Projet « FearLess » est notre façon d’aider les Ontariens à commencer à communiquer leurs craintes et de démontrer comment la Société canadienne du cancer peut aider à jouer un rôle en allégeant la peur. »

« La vision de la Société canadienne du cancer est de créer un monde où aucun Canadien, aucune Canadienne n’aura à craindre le cancer. Nous n’y sommes pas encore parvenus mais la Société espère qu’en comprenant mieux les craintes des Canadiens face au cancer, cela nous permettra de mieux adapter nos services et notre soutien offert aux personnes affrontant le cancer, de développer de nouveaux programmes et des stratégies de défense de l’intérêt public pour combler les lacunes identifiées ou les besoins précis ou même suggérer de nouveaux types de recherche », ajoute Mme Horvath.

À l’occasion du lancement, la Société a demandé à Ipsos Reid d’enquêter auprès des Ontariens pour connaître leur plus grande crainte liée au cancer :

  • La grande majorité (70 %) des Ontariens ont peur du cancer plus que de nombreuses autres maladies, y compris les maladies cardiaques et les accidents cérébrovasculaires, la maladie d’Alzheimer (57 %) et le diabète (41 %).
  • Huit Ontariens sur 10 ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer ont peur de la maladie; cependant, plus de la moitié des gens qui ne connaissent personnes ayant le cancer craignent aussi la maladie.
  • Les femmes, en général partout en Ontario, craignent les résultats potentiels du cancer plus que les hommes, y compris la récidive du cancer (84 % c. 68 %), manquer des événements de vie importants (80 % c. 63 %), devoir l’annoncer aux êtres chers (77 % c. 57 %) et changements physiques (62 % c. 44 %).
  • Les deux plus grandes craintes exprimées sont « se sentir malade et ne pas être capable de faire ses activités quotidiennes » (82 %) et « mourir et laisser dernière les êtes chers » (77 %).
  • 87 % des Ontariens « voudraient savoir qu’ils ont un cancer même s’il n’y avait rien à faire pour le traiter. Plus du quart des personnes interrogées (27 %) disent qu’un obstacle au dépistage et aux tests pour détecter le cancer est « qu’ils ont peur de ce que le médecin pourrait trouver ».

En 2004 alors qu’elle avait 34 ans, Tammy MacIsaac-Horvath de Cannington en Ontario, a reçu un diagnostic de sarcome utérin de stade 4, type de cancer très rare et très mortel. Épouse et mère de deux jeunes garçons, Tammy a connu la peur lorsqu’on lui a annoncé qu’elle avait seulement deux semaines à vivre.

« Le fait d’avoir une jeune famille et d’apprendre que j’avais deux semaines à vivre a été déchirant, c’est le moins qu’on puisse dire », dit Tammy. « Huit ans plus tard, je peux dire que je me sens très chanceuse et en raison de mon cheminement, j’ai maintenant une perspective de la vie sans peur. J’encourage tous les Ontariens à joindre la conversation à www.thefearlessproject.ca. »

Le Projet « FearLess » est une étape audacieuse pour engager les Canadiens dans une entreprise plus vaste visant à modifier le dialogue sur ce que signifie confronter, faire face et ultimement changer le cancer pour toujours.

La Société demande aux Ontariens de joindre le Projet « FearLess » en visitant www.thefearlessproject.ca pour partager leurs peurs liées au cancer. Une fois leur peur entrée, les participants seront amenés vers de l’information sur la façon d’affronter, de gérer et possiblement de surmonter ces peurs. Ils pourront aussi voir les peurs exprimées par les autres, ce qui pourrait aider à réduire leur sentiment d’isolement.

La promotion du Projet « FearLess » sera faite par le biais d’un certain nombre d’initiatives pendant le mois de novembre, y compris un partenariat avec Air Miles, une exposition d’une journée au centre-ville de Toronto et une section spéciale dans le journal Toronto Star.

Le sondage Ipsos Reid a été effectué du 22 au 26 octobre 2012 au nom de la Société canadienne du cancer. Pour le sondage, un échantillon de 1 017 Ontariens participant au sondage en ligne d’Ipsos Reid a été interrogé en ligne. Une pondération a ensuite été utilisée pour équilibrer les données démographiques pour s’assurer que la composition de l’échantillon reflète celle de la population adulte selon les données du recensement et pour fournir des résultats visant à approximer l’univers des données-échantillons. La précision des sondages en ligne d’Ipsos Reid est calculée en utilisant un intervalle de crédibilité. Dans ce cas, le sondage est précis à +/- 3,5 points de pourcentage de tous les Ontariens.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039