Exposing the secret lives of tanning teens in Ontario: Ipsos Reid poll results have Canadian Cancer Society renewing call for ban on indoor tanning for youth under 18

26 April 2012


A rare snapshot of teen behaviour was released today by the Canadian Cancer Society. The poll sheds light on why Ontario teens tan, how often, and the reasons they start using indoor tanning equipment.

Indoor tanning causes skin cancer. In 2009, the world’s foremost authority in identifying the causes of cancer, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, classified ultraviolet radiation devices, including tanning beds, as known carcinogens. The Society has taken up the issue of youth tanning, because tanning bed use before the age of 35 increases a person’s risk of developing skin cancer by 75%. Melanoma skin cancer is also one of the most common and deadliest forms of cancer amongst people ages 15 to 29, and is one of the most preventable.

“The Canadian Cancer Society has been advocating on this important issue for more than six years,” says Joanne Di Nardo, the Society’s Public Issues Senior Manager. “The results of our poll further strengthen the need for the Government of Ontario to support France Gélinas’ new Private Members’ bill that restricts youth under 18 year of age from using indoor tanning equipment."

The poll conducted by Ipsos Reid investigated tanning behaviours of Ontario youth ages 12 to 17.

Key findings:

  • 52% of youth indoor tanners say that their parents pay for their tanning bed use
  • 24% of youth indoor tanners say that parents first introduced them to tanning
  • 21% of youth in grade 12 are using tanning beds
  • 11% of youth in grade 11 are using tanning beds
  • 8% (1 in 10) youth in Ontario are using a tanning bed, up from 5% six years ago

Meet Kate, 21 year old melanoma cancer survivor

As a teenager growing up in Belleville, Kate Neale wanted to be tanned. Against the wishes of her parents and regardless of the fact that she had very light and sunburn-prone skin, Kate started indoor tanning at age 16. In the beginning, she tanned two to three times a week but soon ended up going for 12 to 16 minutes in the highest UVB pressured bed (double strength) sessions up to 16 times per month. The recommended maximum tanning time on this particular bed was 12 minutes (there was a sticker on the bed that stated this), however the salon allowed customers to tan in this bed for up to 30 minutes.

After graduating high school, Kate applied for a job at a tanning salon. She signed a contract saying that in return for maintaining a tanned appearance she would receive 12 free indoor tanning sessions and one spray tan per month. She worked in the salon for two and half years and studied Marketing at Loyalist College in Belleville before heading to Ottawa to work as an office administrator.

In May 2011, while visiting her parents, Kate’s mother noticed that a freckle on her daughter’s stomach had changed. A visit to a dermatologist and a biopsy later, confirmed that the freckle was actually melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer. Over the next few weeks, Kate underwent three more biopsies for skin lesions on her right breast, leg and arms.

“I’ll never forget going to the surgeon’s office with my mom — he thought she was the patient. When he realized that I was the patient, he told me I was the youngest person he’d ever treated for melanoma. I’m only 21,” says Kate. “Fortunately my cancer was found at an early-stage (Clarks Stage 2), when it was non-invasive. Today, I have a six-inch scar on my stomach and live with so much fear.”

Despite her experience, Kate says she’s still addicted to maintaining a tanned appearance but now uses self-tanning lotion or spray tanning. Her battle with skin cancer is not over. Frequently new spots appear on her skin and she says they are always changing. Currently, Kate is waiting for the results of another biopsy, which left her with 22 stitches on her left breast, and a total of 8 spots have been removed since June, one being pre-cancerous. Repeated doctor’s visits and the stress and anxiety of the situation have taken their toll on her academic and work career. This January, Kate left Ottawa and headed back to live with her parents.

Recently, Kate started volunteering with the Canadian Cancer Society, spending her time educating local teenagers about the dangers of indoor tanning and encouraging them to host a Tan-Free Prom this spring. She’s also become vocal about the need for regulation of the indoor tanning industry.

“If politicians need a reason to take action on this issue, they should just take a look at my story to see how tanning at a young age has impacted my life,” says Kate.

On April 26, Kate will be among more than 80 Canadian Cancer Society volunteers and staff from across the province who will gather at Queens Park to discuss the Society’s policy recommendations on indoor tanning which include:

  • Prohibiting youth under the age of 18 from using indoor tanning equipment
  • Restricting indoor tanning promotions and marketing targeted to youth
  • Maintaining a registry or licensing system for indoor tanning equipment in use in Ontario with fees put towards enforcement
  • Introducing mandatory and comprehensive training that is specific to Ontario for all staff operating indoor tanning equipment. Training would include operation procedures, maintenance and how to identify people with fair skin who are at greater risk of developing cancer.
  • Ensuring the health risks associated with ultraviolet radiation (UVR) emitting devices are displayed prominently and in clear view of clients at all indoor tanning facilities

Legislative action needed now

Diseases such as cancer are taking a significant toll on an already strained healthcare system. Skin cancer is mostly preventable and is often treated by a dermatologist or a family doctor with costs billed to OHIP. In 2011, Cancer Care Ontario estimated the cost of skin cancer in province would exceed $344 million[i]. In 2011, it was estimated that 5,500 Canadians were diagnosed with melanoma and 74,100 with non-melanoma skin cancer[ii].

“Enacting legislation to prevent skin cancer should be a no-brainer for all political parties because it provides an opportunity for substantial healthcare cost reduction,” says Joanne Di Nardo. “Also, fees collected by a licensing or registry would off-set the costs of an effective enforcement strategy.”

Ontario needs to join other jurisdictions such as France, California, Australia, United Kingdom, Nova Scotia and British Columbia in taking proactive steps to address this pressing cancer prevention issue.

"With thousands of letters and postcards from youth asking for this legislation and an industry which cannot be trusted to self-regulate, it's time for the government to step in,” says France Gélinas, MPP, Nickel Belt and NDP Health Critic. “This is a commonsense solution to the increasing rates of skin cancer among youth and young adults; it won't cost the government anything and it will help prevent the multiple costs associated with a lifetime of cancer-related care for people and the government."

About the poll

The Ipsos Reid poll was conducted in April, 2012, on behalf of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Ontario Division. For this survey, a sample of 1,476 students in grades 7-12, aged 12 to 17, from Ipsos' Canadian online panel was interviewed online. Gender was split 50/50, census data provided regional weights and each grade level was given equal weight. A survey with an unweighted probability sample of this size and a 100% response rate would have an estimated margin of error of +/- 2.5 percentage points, 19 times out of 20, of what the results would have been had the entire population of students in Ontario in grade 7 to 12, aged 12 to 17, been polled.


[i] Cancer Care Ontario. Cancer Fact: Cost of skin cancer in Ontario will exceed $344 million in 2011. June 2011. Available at http://www.cancercare.on.ca/cancerfacts/

[ii] Canadian Cancer Society’s Steering Committee on Cancer Statistics, Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2011.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La vie secrète des jeunes Ontariens face au bronzage : Les résultats d’un sondage Ipsos Reid poussent la Société canadienne du cancer à renouveler son appel pour interdire le bronzage artificiel aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans

26 avril 2012

Toronto -

Un rare aperçu du comportement des jeunes a été publié aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer. Le sondage fait la lumière sur les raisons qui poussent les jeunes ontariens à se faire bronzer, la fréquence et les raisons pour lesquelles ils commencent à utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.

Le bronzage artificiel cause le cancer. En 2009, le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer, qui fait autorité sur l’identification des causes de cancer, a classifié les appareils émettant des UV, y compris les lits de bronzage, comme des carcinogènes connus. La Société canadienne du cancer aborde la question du bronzage chez les jeunes parce que l’utilisation de lits de bronzage avant 35 ans augmente de 75 % le risque d’une personne de développer un cancer de la peau. Le mélanome, type de cancer de la peau, est aussi une des formes de cancer les plus fréquentes et mortelles chez les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans et est une des plus évitables.

« La Société canadienne du cancer exerce des pressions sur cette question importante depuis plus de six ans », dit Joanne Di Nardo, gestionnaire principale des questions d’intérêt public à la Société. « Les résultats de notre sondage renforcent la nécessité que le gouvernement de l’Ontario appuie le nouveau projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire présenté par France Gélinas qui restreint les jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel », ajoute Mme Di Nardo.

Le sondage effectué par Ipsos Reid a examiné les comportements relatifs au bronzage chez les jeunes ontariens de 12 à 17 ans.

Principaux résultats :
• 52 % des jeunes utilisant les lits de bronzage disent que leurs parents payaient pour l’utilisation d’un lit de bronzage
• 24 % des jeunes utilisant les lits de bronzage disent que leurs parents les avaient initiés au bronzage
• 21 % des jeunes en 12e année utilisent des lits de bronzage
• 11 % des jeunes en 11e année utilisent des lits de bronzage
• 8 % (1 sur 10) des jeunes en Ontario utilisent des lits de bronzage, augmentation de 5 % comparativement à il y a six ans

Rencontrez Kate, 21 ans et survivante d’un mélanome
Adolescente grandissant à Belleville, Kate Neale voulait être bronzée. À l’encontre de ses parents et du fait qu’elle avait un teint très clair et susceptible de brûler, Kate a commencé à utiliser le bronzage artificiel à 16 ans. Au début, elle se faisait bronzer deux à trois fois par semaine mais est très vite passé à des expositions de 12 à 16 minutes sur des lits très puissants à raison de jusqu’à 16 sessions par mois. Le temps maximum de bronzage recommandé pour ce lit en particulier était de 12 minutes (un autocollant à cet effet était placé sur le lit); cependant, le salon permettait aux clients de se faire bronzer sur ce lit jusqu’à 30 minutes.

Après le secondaire, Kate a obtenu un emploi dans un salon de bronzage. Elle a signé un contrat disant que si elle maintenait une apparence bronzée elle recevrait 12 sessions gratuites de lit de bronzage et une session de bronzage par vaporisation par mois. Elle a travaillé au salon pendant deux ans et demi et a étudié au Collège Loyalist à Belleville avant de déménager à Ottawa pour travailler comme administratrice de bureau.

En mai 2011, alors qu’elle visitait ses parents, sa mère a remarqué une tache de rousseur qui avait changé d’apparence sur l’abdomen de sa fille. Une visite chez le dermatologue et une biopsie ont permis de confirmer que la tache de rousseur était en fait un mélanome, type de cancer de la peau le plus mortel. Au cours des semaines qui suivirent, Kate a subi trois biopsies sur des lésions cutanées sur son sein droit, sa jambe et ses bras.

« Je n’oublierai jamais ma visite chez le chirurgien avec ma mère; il pensait qu’elle était la patiente. Lorsqu’il a réalisé que j’étais la patiente, il m’a dit que j’étais la plus jeune personne qu’il avait jamais traitée pour un mélanome. J’ai seulement 21 ans », dit Kate. « Heureusement, mon cancer a été dépisté tôt (Clarks stade 2), lorsqu’il était non invasif. Aujourd’hui, j’ai une cicatrice de six pouces sur l’abdomen et je vis avec beaucoup de peur. »

Malgré son expérience, Kate dit qu’elle aime encore maintenir une apparence bronzée mais qu’elle utilise maintenant une lotion autobronzante ou un produit appliqué par vaporisation. Son combat contre le cancer de la peau n’est pas terminé. De nouvelles taches apparaissent souvent sur sa peau et elle dit qu’elles changent tout le temps. Présentement, Kate attend les résultats d’une autre biopsie qui a laissé 22 points de suture sur son sein gauche et un total de 8 taches ont été enlevées depuis juin, dont une était pré-cancéreuse. Les nombreuses visites chez le médecin et le stress et l’anxiété de la situation ont nui à sa carrière universitaire et professionnelle. En janvier dernier, Kate a quitté Ottawa pour retourner vivre chez ses parents.

Récemment, Kate a commencé à faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer et s’occupe à éduquer les adolescents locaux sur les dangers du bronzage artificiel et à les encourager à organiser un Bal sans bronzage ce printemps. Elle milite aussi à propos du besoin de règlements concernant l’industrie du bronzage. « Si les politiciens ont besoin d’une raison pour passer à l’action sur cette question, ils n’ont qu’à prendre connaissance de mon histoire pour voir comment le bronzage à un jeune âge a affecté ma vie », dit Kate.

Le 26 avril, Kate fera partie des 80 bénévoles et membres du personnel de la Société canadienne du cancer de partout dans la province qui se rassembleront à Queen’s Park pour discuter des recommandations en matière de politiques sur le bronzage artificiel qui comprennent :

• Interdire l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans.
• Limiter la publicité et le marketing du bronzage artificiel ciblant les jeunes.
• Maintenir un registre ou un système de licences d’équipements de bronzage artificiel en usage en Ontario, les frais étant versés à la mise en application.
• Instaurer une formation obligatoire complète pour tout le personnel opérant de l’équipement de bronzage en Ontario. La formation inclurait les procédés de fonctionnement, l’entretien et la façon d’identifier les personnes au teint clair à risque plus élevé de développer un cancer.
• S’assurer que les risques pour la santé associés aux appareils émettant des rayons UV soient placés bien à la vue des clients dans tous les établissements de bronzage artificiel.

Une intervention législative est requise maintenant
Les maladies comme le cancer ont d’importantes répercussions sur le système de soins de santé déjà surchargé. Le cancer de la peau est le plus évitable et est souvent traité par un médecin de famille et payé par le RAMO. En 2011, Action Cancer Ontario a estimé que le coût du cancer de la peau dans la province dépasserait les 344 millions de dollarsi. En 2011, on a estimé que 5 500 Canadiens ont reçu un diagnostic de mélanome et que 74 100 ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer de la peau autre qu’un mélanomeii.

« L’adoption d’une loi pour prévenir le cancer de la peau devrait se faire sans effort pour tous les partis politiques car elle offre l’occasion de réduire de beaucoup les coûts des soins de santé », dit Joanne Di Nardo. « De plus, les frais recueillis par un système de licences ou de registres compenseraient pour les coûts d’une stratégie efficace de mise en application. »

L’Ontario doit se joindre à d’autres juridictions comme la France, la Californie, l’Australie, le Royaume-Uni, la Nouvelle-Écosse et la Colombie-Britannique pour faire le nécessaire pour aborder la question pressante de la prévention du cancer.

« Étant donné les milliers de lettres et de cartes postales envoyées par les jeunes demandant cette loi et une industrie en qui on ne peut pas faire confiance pour s’auto-régulariser, c’est le temps que le gouvernement passe à l’action », dit France Gélinas, députée provinciale, Nickel Belt, et porte-parole du NDP sur la santé. « Il s’agit d’une solution du bon sens face aux taux croissants de cancer de la peau chez les adolescents et les jeunes adultes. Il n’en coûtera rien au gouvernement et cela aidera à prévenir les coûts multiples associés aux soins à vie liés au cancer pour la population et le gouvernement. »

À propos du sondage
Le sondage Ipsos Reid a été effectué en avril 2012 au nom de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. Pour ce sondage, un échantillon de 1 476 élèves de la 7e à la 12e année, âgés de 12 à 17 ans, participant au sondage en ligne d’Ipsos ont été interrogés. Le sexe des participants étaient de 50/50, les résultats du recensement ont fourni les poids régionaux et chaque niveau a été attribué un poids égal. Un sondage avec un échantillon de probabilité non pondéré de points, 19 fois sur 20, de ce que les résultats auraient été si la population entière d’élèves en Ontario, de la 7e à la 12e année, âgés de 12 à 17 ans avaient été interrogés.


 

[i] Cancer Care Ontario. Cancer Fact: Cost of skin cancer in Ontario will exceed $344 million in 2011. June 2011. Available at http://www.cancercare.on.ca/cancerfacts/

[ii] Canadian Cancer Society’s Steering Committee on Cancer Statistics, Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2011.

 

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026