Candy is not dandy when it comes to tobacco products

17 April 2012

TORONTO -

The Heart and Stroke Foundation and the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division applaud the introduction of legislation to eliminate the sale of flavoured tobacco products.

Ontario health agencies welcome the introduction of legislation to eliminate the sale of flavoured tobacco products designed to attract young smokers. The Private Members’ Bill, introduced today by Nickel Belt MPP France Gélinas, will strengthen existing regulations in the Smoke-Free Ontario Act that will further serve to eliminate the marketing of flavoured tobacco products, and prevent new tobacco products from entering the market.

“The tobacco industry has found a new way to target our youth and we are grateful to Ms. Gélinas for proposing legislation that strengthens Ontario’s tobacco laws and protects our young people from dangerous flavoured and new tobacco products,” said Rowena Pinto, Senior Director, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We hope that all MPPs will work together to support the speedy passage of this bill.”

In recent years, candy and fruit-flavoured tobacco products have become a significant threat to Ontario youth. Health Canada data shows that sales of cigarillos alone grew by over 300% per year between 2001 and 2006. In 2008/09, 28% of Ontario youth reported trying cigarillos, while 21% reported trying flavoured tobacco products generally.

An initial attempt by the Ontario government to legislate restrictions on these products in 2010 has been skirted by the tobacco industry, and various flavoured cigarillos, cigars and other products remain freely available on the market today.

“In terms of addiction and other health effects, these products are as dangerous as cigarettes; because they are especially attractive to young Ontarians, they have the added risk of being “starter” products for people who might otherwise never become smokers,” said Mark Holland, Director, Government Relations and Health Partnerships, Heart and Stroke Foundation.

The Heart and Stroke Foundation notes that smoking is a major cause of heart disease, stroke and diseases of the vascular system, while the Canadian Cancer Society states tobacco use is responsible for 30% of all cancer deaths and 85% of lung cancer cases.

The Heart and Stroke Foundation, a volunteer-based health charity, leads in eliminating heart disease and stroke and reducing their impact through the advancement of research and its application, the promotion of healthy living, and advocacy.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Les bonbons et les produits du tabac ne vont pas de pair

17 avril 2012

Toronto -

La Fondation des maladies du cœur et la Société canadienne du cancer applaudissent la présentation d’un projet de loi visant à éliminer la vente de produits du tabac aromatisés.

Des organismes de santé de l’Ontario accueillent favorablement la présentation d’un projet de loi visant à éliminer la vente de produits du tabac aromatisés conçus pour attirer les jeunes fumeurs. Le projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire, présenté aujourd’hui par la députée provinciale de Nickel Belt, France Gélinas, renforcera les règlements existants dans la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée en aidant davantage à éliminer le marketing des produits du tabac aromatisés et en empêchant des nouveaux produits du tabac d’apparaître sur le marché.

« L’industrie du tabac a trouvé une nouvelle manière de cibler nos jeunes et nous sommes reconnaissants envers Mme Gélinas de proposer une loi qui renforce les lois de l’Ontario sur le tabac et protège nos jeunes contre les produits du tabac aromatisés dangereux », dit Rowena Pinto, directrice principale, Affaires publiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous espérons que tous les députés provinciaux travailleront ensemble pour garantir l’adoption rapide de ce projet de loi. »

Depuis quelques années, les produits du tabac aromatisés aux saveurs de bonbons et de fruits sont devenus une menace importante pour les jeunes ontariens. Les données de Santé Canada indiquent que les ventes de cigarillos ont augmenté de plus de 300 % par année entre 2001 et 2006. En 2008-2009, 28 % des jeunes ontariens ont rapporté avoir essayé les cigarillos, tandis que 21 % ont rapporté avoir essayé les produits du tabac aromatisés en général.

La première tentative du gouvernement de l’Ontario pour légiférer des restrictions sur ces produits en 2010 a été contournée par l’industrie du tabac et les cigarillos, cigares et autres produits à saveur variée sont encore disponibles sur le marché aujourd’hui.

« En tenant compte de la dépendance et des autres effets sur la santé, ces produits sont aussi dangereux que les cigarettes. Parce qu’ils sont attrayants pour les jeunes ontariens, ils ont un risque supplémentaire d’être des produits « de démarrage » pour les gens qui autrement ne deviendraient peut-être jamais fumeurs », dit Mark Holland, directeur, Relations gouvernementales et partenariats santé, Fondation des maladies du cœur.

La Fondation des maladies du cœur affirme que le tabagisme est une cause principale de maladies cardiaques, d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux et de maladies cardiovasculaires tandis que la Société canadienne du cancer affirme que le tabagisme est responsable de 30 % de tous les décès par cancer et de 85 % des cas de cancer du poumon.

Organisme bénévole, la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada a pour mission d’améliorer la santé des Canadiens et Canadiennes, en favorisant la recherche, la promotion de la santé et les représentations en faveur de la santé afin de prévenir et réduire les invalidités et les décès dus aux maladies cardiovasculaires et aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026