Canadian Cancer Society’s Top 10 Breakthroughs of 2011: Society funded teams are changing the landscape of cancer research

04 January 2012

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to announce its top 10 breakthroughs of 2011. This list of accomplishments showcases how researchers funded by the Society continue to lead the way in advances that will reduce the number of Canadians diagnosed with and dying from cancer, and improve the quality of life for people living with and beyond cancer. Due to progress in cancer research, over 60% of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive, compared with only 25%when the Society began funding research in the 1940s.

“2011 has been a very exciting year for cancer research,” said Sarah Bouma, Senior Manager, Research, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Society funded researchers have made tremendous gains, particularly in clinical trials. Research advances in Ontario and across the country are impacting the lives of people living with cancer, their families and caregivers.”

Story highlights include:

  • A landmark clinical trial of a new way to prevent breast cancer.
  • A Toronto protocol that gives 100% survival for families with a specific hereditary cancer.
  • The discovery of a human blood stem cell that could end the search for bone marrow.
  • A new imaging method that could detect lung cancer with more accuracy.
  • A clinical trial that has found that men with prostate cancer can take a drug ‘holiday’.
  • The development of tumour-killing nanoparticles.

The top 10 breakthroughs are available at http://files.newswire.ca/1012/top10breakthroughs.pdf

In addition to the top 10 breakthroughs, seven scientists funded by the Society received major national awards recognizing their research achievements. Of those seven, three researchers were elected by their peers to the Royal Society of Canada, one of the highest honours a scholar can receive in the arts, humanities and sciences in this country.

“We have made great progress, but there’s much more to be done,” added Bouma. “Each day with the help of our donors, we are fighting cancer from all angles including prevention, earlier detection, improved treatments and quality of life.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Palmarès des 10 projets de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer les plus en vue en 2011 : Des équipes de chercheurs financées par la Société modifient le paysage de la recherche sur le cancer

04 janvier 2012

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est fière d’annoncer les 10 projets de recherche les plus en vue en 2011. Cette liste de réalisations démontre comment les chercheurs financés par la Société continuent de mener la voie par des découvertes qui réduiront le nombre de Canadiens recevant un diagnostic de cancer et décédant suite à un cancer, et qui amélioreront la qualité de vie des personnes vivant avec le cancer et au-delà du cancer. Grâce aux progrès effectués dans la recherche sur le cancer, plus de 60 % des Canadiens recevant un diagnostic de cancer survivront, comparativement à seulement 25 % lorsque la Société a commencé à financer la recherche dans les années 1940.

« L’année 2011 a été très excitante dans le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer », dit Sarah Bouma, gestionnaire principale, recherche, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Les chercheurs subventionnés par la Société ont fait d’énormes progrès, particulièrement dans les essais cliniques. Les progrès de la recherche en Ontario et partout au pays ont un impact sur la vie des personnes vivant avec le cancer, de leur familles et de leurs aidants. »

Les points marquants comprennent :

  • Un essai clinique novateur sur une nouvelle façon de prévenir le cancer du sein.
  • Le « protocole Toronto » qui offre une survie de 100 % aux familles ayant un cancer héréditaire précis.
  • La découverte d’une cellule souche du sang humain qui pourrait mettre fin à la recherche de moelle osseuse.
  • Une nouvelle méthode d’imagerie qui pourrait dépister le cancer du poumon avec plus d’exactitude.
  • Un essai clinique qui a découvert que les hommes ayant un cancer de la prostate peuvent interrompre temporairement les médicaments.
  • Le développement de nanoparticules pouvant détruire les tumeurs.

Un résumé des 10 projets de recherche est disponible ici.

En plus des 10 projets de recherche les plus en vue, sept scientifiques subventionnés par la Société ont reçu des prix nationaux importants reconnaissants leurs réalisations dans la recherche. De ces sept, trois chercheurs ont été élus par leurs pairs à la Société royale du Canada, un des plus grands honneurs accordés aux chercheurs-boursiers des domaines des sciences, des arts et des lettres au pays.

« Nous avons effectué beaucoup de progrès, mais il reste beaucoup à faire », ajoute Mme Bouma. « Chaque jour, avec l’aide de nos donateurs, nous luttons contre le cancer sous tous les angles, y compris la prévention, le dépistage précoce, les traitements améliorés et la qualité de vie. »

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026