Canadian Cancer Society invests in promising cancer prevention research with contribution from Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life

24 May 2012

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society welcomes a generous contribution from Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life to support the promising cancer prevention research of a young scientist at the University of Manitoba.

The Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life Junior Investigator Award in Prevention Research represents a commitment of $50,000 a year for three years to fund the research of Dr. Salaheddin Mahmud.

Dr. Mahmud is studying whether certain widely used medications, such as aspirin, cholesterol lowering drugs and anti-depressants, could prevent major cancers, such as prostate, colon and cervical cancer. His study proposal won the scientist a Prevention Initiative Junior Investigator Award from the Canadian Cancer Society in 2011.

The Canadian Cancer Society Prevention Initiative invests strategically in opportunities that will expand cancer prevention research activities in Canada, with the ultimate goal of reducing cancer incidence among Canadians.

“If Dr Mahmud’s research finds that a commonly used drug reduces cancer risk, this would build a case for conducting clinical trials,” said Dr Christine Williams, Vice-President, Research, Canadian Cancer Society. “The results of this study could also improve our understanding of how cancers develop, potentially leading to the development of more effective drugs.”

An Assistant Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, Dr. Mahmud, was selected to receive this national award through a rigorous peer review process. His goal is to become a leading cancer researcher, based in a Canadian academic department, and working on a well-developed pharmacoepidemiology research program dedicated to cancer chemoprevention.

“We are delighted that Great-West Life and its subsidiaries have chosen to invest in our Prevention Initiative,” said Susan Horvath, Vice President, Leadership Philanthropy, Canadian Cancer Society. “The Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life Junior Investigator Award in Prevention Research is a significant contribution that will expand cancer prevention research in Canada and could potentially identify accessible new ways to prevent devastating cancers.”

“As leading life and health insurers in Canada, Great-West Life and its subsidiaries are honoured to work with the Canadian Cancer Society to help explore prevention possibilities,” said Jan Belanger, Assistant Vice-President, Community Affairs, Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life. “Investing in young researchers and supporting emerging solutions can lead to innovative and more importantly, tangible outcomes for healthcare delivery.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société canadienne du cancer investit dans un projet de recherche prometteur sur la prévention du cancer grâce à une contribution de la Great-West, la London Life et la Canada-Vie

24 mai 2012

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est heureuse de bénéficier d’une généreuse contribution de la Great-West, la London Life et la Canada-Vie pour appuyer le projet de recherche prometteur sur la prévention du cancer d’un jeune scientifique à l’Université du Manitoba.

La Bourse Great-West, London Life et Canada-Vie pour jeune chercheur en faveur de la recherche pour la prévention du cancer représente un engagement de 50 000 $ par année pendant trois ans pour financer la recherche du Dr Salaheddin Mahmud.

Le Dr Mahmud essaie de déterminer si certains médicaments couramment utilisés, comme l’aspirine, les médicaments hypocholestérolémiants et les antidépresseurs, pourraient prévenir des cancers importants comme le cancer de la prostate, du côlon et du col de l’utérus. Sa proposition d’étude a gagné une Bourse pour jeune chercheur en faveur de la recherche pour la prévention du cancer décernée par la Société canadienne du cancer en 2011.

L’Initiative de prévention de la Société canadienne du cancer investit de façon stratégique dans les occasions d’élargir les activités de recherche sur la prévention du cancer au Canada, dans le but ultime de réduire l’incidence du cancer chez les Canadiens.

« Si la recherche du Dr Mahmud découvre qu’un médicament couramment utilisé réduit le risque de cancer, ceci établirait la preuve pour effectuer des essais cliniques », dit la Dre Christine Williams, vice-présidente, recherche, Société canadienne du cancer. « Les résultats de cette étude pourraient aussi améliorer notre compréhension du développement du cancer, menant possiblement au développement de médicaments plus efficaces. »

Le Dr Mahmud, professeur adjoint au Département des sciences de la santé communautaire à l’Université du Manitoba, a été choisi pour recevoir ce prix national par un processus rigoureux d’examen des demandes. Son objectif est de devenir un chercheur de pointe dans le domaine du cancer, basé dans un département universitaire canadien, et travaillant à un programme de recherche bien développé en pharmaco-épidémiologie dédié à la chimio-prévention des cancers.

« Nous sommes heureux que la Great-West et ses filiales aient choisi d’investir dans notre Initiative de prévention », dit Susan Horvath, vice-présidente, leadership et philanthropie, Société canadienne du cancer. « La Bourse Great-West, London Life et Canada-Vie pour jeune chercheur en faveur de la recherche pour la prévention du cancer est une contribution importante qui permettra de développer la recherche sur la prévention du cancer au Canada et pourrait potentiellement identifier des façons accessibles de prévenir les cancers dévastateurs. »

« En tant qu’une des principales compagnies d’assurances de personnes au Canada, la Great-West et ses filiales sont honorées de travailler avec la Société canadienne du cancer pour aider à explorer les possibilités de prévention », dit Jan Bélanger, vice-présidente adjointe, Affaires communautaires de la Great-West, la London Life et la Canada-Vie. « L’investissement dans nos jeunes chercheurs et l’appui de nouvelles solutions peuvent mener à des résultats innovateurs et surtout, tangibles pour la prestation des soins de santé. »

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026