Canadian Cancer Society congratulates Oakville in leading the fight against skin cancer: City passes Ontario’s first by-law to protect youth against the dangers of indoor tanning

14 August 2012


Late yesterday,Oakville Town Council took decisive action to protect the health of its youngest citizens by passing a by-law that restricts youth under 18 from accessing indoor tanning facilities.

The ultraviolet radiation emitted by tanning beds has been proven to cause cancer. Recently, an expert review of current evidence published in the British Medical Journal showed that people who first started using indoor tanning equipment before the age of 35 have an 87 per cent increased risk of melanoma skin cancer. Melanoma is also one of the most deadly forms of cancer and most common amongst people ages 15 to 29.

On August 8, Canadian Cancer Society volunteer and long-time Oakville resident, Joan Gibb appeared before town council to highlight the importance of the issue. Last night, she was present in the council chamber as the by-law was passed. “Throughout the years, Oakville has been a leader in cancer prevention through its work in the areas of tobacco control and cosmetic pesticides,” says Gibb. “It’s inspiring to see my community continue to show leadership in addressing important cancer-related issues” she adds.

Oakville is the first city in Ontario to join a growing list of Canadian municipalities and provincial governments such as the Capital Regional District in British Columbia, Nova Scotia and Quebec who have taken action to regulate the tanning industry. Last year, a poll commissioned by the Canadian Cancer Society indicated that 83 per cent of Ontarians would support provincial government legislation that bans youth from using indoor tanning equipment.

“Oakville has shown its commitment to the fight against cancer by passing the first indoor tanning by-law in Ontario. Regulating the indoor tanning industry will save lives and help reverse the rising cost of skin cancer on an already exhausted healthcare system,” says Florentina Stancu-Soare, Public Issues Senior Coordinator for the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “We hope this decision will lay the groundwork for other jurisdictions to follow suit,” adds Stancu-Soare.

The Society is calling for the Government of Ontario to support Private Member’s bill, Bill 74 – The Skin Cancer Prevention Act, that restricts youth under 18 years of age from using indoor tanning equipment. People can send a letter to their MPP by visiting or join the conversation on Twitter via #tanbedban.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

La Société canadienne du cancer félicite Oakville qui mène la lutte contre le cancer de la peau : la ville adopte le premier règlement en Ontario visant à protéger les jeunes contre les dangers du bronzage artificiel

14 août 2012

Toronto -

Tard hier, le conseil municipal d’Oakville est passé à l’action pour protéger la santé de ses jeunes citoyens en adoptant un règlement qui interdit aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans de fréquenter les salons de bronzage.

Il a été prouvé que les rayons ultraviolets émis par les lits de bronzage causent le cancer. Récemment, l’examen de preuves actuelles par des experts dans le British Medical Journal a démontré que les personnes qui avaient commencé à utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel avant 35 ans avaient un risque accru de 87 % de développer un mélanome (cancer de la peau). Le mélanome est un des types de cancer les plus mortels et les plus fréquents chez les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans.

Le 8 août, Joan Gibb, bénévole de la Société canadienne du cancer et résidente de longue date d’Oakville, s’est adressée au conseil municipal pour souligner l’importance de la question. Hier soir, elle était dans la salle du conseil lorsque le règlement a été adopté. « Au fil des ans, Oakville a été un leader dans la prévention du cancer par le biais de son travail dans les domaines de la lutte contre le tabagisme et des pesticides utilisés à des fins esthétiques », dit Mme Gibb. « C’est inspirant de voir ma communauté continuer à démontrer un leadership en abordant les questions importantes liées au cancer », ajoute-t-elle.

Oakville est la première ville ontarienne à joindre une liste croissante de municipalités canadiennes et de gouvernements provinciaux comme le Capital Regional District en Colombie-Britannique, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Québec qui sont passés à l’action pour réglementer l’industrie du bronzage artificiel. L’an dernier, un sondage demandé par la Société canadienne du cancer a indiqué que 83 % des Ontariens appuieraient une loi provinciale qui interdirait aux jeunes d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.

« Oakville a démontré son engagement envers la lutte contre le cancer en adoptant le premier règlement sur le bronzage artificiel en Ontario. Le fait de réglementer l’industrie du bronzage artificiel sauvera des vies et aidera à inverser le coût croissant du cancer de la peau dans un système de soins de santé déjà utilisé au maximum », dit Florentina Stancu-Soare, coordonnatrice principale, questions d’intérêt public, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous espérons que cette décision préparera le terrain pour que d’autres juridictions suivent son exemple », ajoute Mme Stancu-Soare.

La Société fait appel au gouvernement de l’Ontario pour qu’il appuie le projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire, projet de loi 74 Loi sur la prévention du cancer de la peau, qui restreint l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans. Les gens peuvent envoyer une lettre à leur député provincial en visitant www. Takeaction.cancer.ca ou en joignant la conversation sur Twitter avec #tanbedban.

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181