Canada's most prominent health organizations call on the Ontario government to invest now to prevent Ontario's looming health crisis

30 January 2012


Ontario is facing an urgent health care crisis with a staggering financial and human cost. The tragedy is that it is preventable but not enough is being done. That’s the message sent today by the Heart and Stroke Foundation, Ontario, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division, Ophea, and other members of the Ontario Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance (OCDPA) to the Ontario government as they launch Better Health is Worth 0.5%.

“This March, the Ontario government will deliver its 2012 budget; this is a critical opportunity to influence and shape the future health of Ontarians,” says Mark Holland, Director, Government Relations, Ontario, Heart and Stroke Foundation. "Today we are calling on the public to help us achieve our goal. We are asking them to reach out to their MPP using our website,"

“Better Health is worth 0.5% of the Ontario budget and together, we need to encourage the government to act. By investing an additional $170 million in health promotion and disease prevention, we can curb crushing health care costs. Ontario spends nearly 50% of the provincial budget on healthcare to treat those who are already sick. That’s a staggering 46 billion and quickly rising — we need to take action now and keep Ontarians healthy.”

Up to 80% of premature heart disease and stroke, and about half of all cancers, can be prevented through healthy public policies and lifestyle changes, such as increased physical activity, healthy eating, reducing high-risk alcohol consumption and eliminating tobacco use. Currently, the government spends only 0.35% of its budget on health promotion; the Better Health is Worth 0.5% campaign aims to see that increased.

“It is imperative that the Government of Ontario commits to a strong investment in public policies that support and encourage Ontarians to make healthy choices to help prevent cancer and other chronic diseases,” says Rowena Pinto, Senior Director, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division.

“The Better Health is Worth 0.5% campaign encourages the public to tell their MPP, Premier and Finance Minister that their health is worth 0.5% of the budget,” added Holland.

The cost of medical treatment and lost productivity for chronic diseases in Canada such as heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure, cancer and lung diseases is estimated at a staggering $80 billion annually and climbing. By 2030, healthcare costs could take up to 80% of Ontario’s program budget if nothing is done.

“Together we can put a stop to soaring health care costs and ensure better, healthier lives for all Ontarians,” said Dr. James Mandigo, President of Ophea’s Board of Directors. “We are urging all Ontarians to make a difference; reach out to your MPP to let them know that better health is worth 0.5%.”

How does Ontario measure up?

British Columbia spends $21 per person in health promotion and illness prevention. Québec spends $16 per person. Yet Ontario only spends $7 per person.

“BC invests three times more than Ontario in health promotion policies and programs and their residents smoke less, are more physically active, and have healthier body weights. This clearly is leading to higher life expectancy rates than the rest of Canada,” says Chris Markham, Co-Chair, OCDPA. “We deserve to have the Ontario government invest in our health for this generation and beyond.”

About the Campaign:

The Better Health is Worth 0.5% campaign is an extension of the Ontario Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance (OCDPA’s) Healthiest Province initiative, and the Heart and Stroke Foundation’s successful Healthy Candidates campaign. It is a historic collaboration of health partners that holds parties to their election promises and continues our push to make Ontario the healthiest province in Canada. Through MPP visits, local activations and engagement, digital advocacy and social networking, the goal is to see this year’s budget increase spending on prevention and health promotion from 0.35% of the provincial budget to 0.5%.

For more information on the Better Health is Worth 0.5% campaign or to take action now, please visit: .

Ontario Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance (OCDPA), consisting of 26 member organizations, is the province’s collective voice on chronic disease prevention policies and programming. More information is available at

The Heart and Stroke Foundation, a volunteer-based health charity, leads in eliminating heart disease and stroke and reducing their impact through the advancement of research and its application, the promotion of healthy living and advocacy. For more information visit:

Ophea is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to supporting schools and communities through quality program supports, partnerships and advocacy, and is led by the vision that all kids will value, participate in, and make a lifelong commitment to healthy active living. For more information, visit

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Les organismes de santé les plus importants au Canada lancent une campagne pour demander au gouvernement de l’Ontario d’investir maintenant afin de prévenir la crise imminente dans le domaine des soins de santé

30 janvier 2012

Toronto -

L’Ontario affronte une urgente crise dans le domaine des soins de santé incluant des coûts financiers et humains exorbitants. Ce qui est tragique est qu’elle est évitable mais que l’on ne fait pas assez pour y parvenir. C’est le message transmis aujourd’hui par la Fondation des maladies du cœur de l’Ontario, la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario, l’Ophea et les autres membres de l’Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques en Ontario (APMCO) au gouvernement de l’Ontario lors du lancement de Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %).

« En mars, le gouvernement de l’Ontario présentera son budget 2012. Il s’agit d’une occasion importante d’influencer et de façonner la santé future des Ontariens », dit Mark Holland, directeur, relations gouvernementales, Fondation des maladies du cœur de l’Ontario. « Aujourd’hui nous faisons appel au public pour qu’il nous aide à atteindre notre objectif. Nous lui demandons de communiquer avec les députés provinciaux en utilisant notre site Web, healthiestprovince.ca.

« Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 % du budget ontarien et ensemble, nous devons encourager le gouvernement à passer à l’action. En investissant 170 millions de dollars de plus dans la promotion de la santé et la prévention de la maladie, nous pouvons réduire les coûts de soins de santé écrasants. L’Ontario dépense presque 50 % du budget provincial en soins de santé pour traiter les personnes déjà malades. Ceci représente la somme exorbitante de 46 milliards de dollars qui augmente rapidement. Nous devons passer à l’action maintenant pour la santé des Ontariens. »

Jusqu’à 80 % des maladies cardiaques et des accidents vasculaires cérébraux, et environ la moitié de tous les cancers, peuvent être évités par des politiques publiques favorables à la santé et des changements de modes de vie comme une augmentation de l’activité physique, une meilleure alimentation, la réduction de la consommation d’alcool et l’élimination du tabagisme. Présentement, le gouvernement dépense seulement 0,35 % de son budget pour la promotion de la santé; la campagne Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %) vise à augmenter ce pourcentage.

« Il est impératif que le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à investir substantiellement dans les politiques publiques qui appuient et encouragent les Ontariens à faire des choix sains pour aider à prévenir le cancer et d’autres maladies chroniques », dit Rowena Pinto, directrice principale, affaires publiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario.

« La campagne Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %) encourage le public à dire à leur député provincial, au premier ministre et au ministre des Finances que leur santé vaut 0,5 % du budget », ajoute M. Holland.

Le coût des traitements médicaux et de la perte de productivité lié aux maladies chroniques au Canada, comme les maladies cardiaques, le diabète, l’hypertension artérielle, le cancer et les maladies pulmonaires, est estimé à 80 milliards de dollars annuellement et continue de grimper. D’ici 2030, les coûts des soins de santé pourraient représenter jusqu’à 80 % du budget de programmes en Ontario si nous ne faisons rien.

« Ensemble, nous pouvons mettre fin aux coûts des soins de santé qui grimpent en flèche et s’assurer que tous les Ontariens sont plus en santé », dit le Dr James Mandito, président du conseil d’administration d’Ophea. « Nous encourageons tous les Ontariens à faire une différence. Communiquez avec votre député provincial pour lui dire qu’une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %. »

L’Ontario est-elle à la hauteur?

La Colombie-Britannique dépense 21 $ par personne pour la promotion de la santé et la prévention de la maladie. Le Québec dépense 16 $ par personne. Pourtant l’Ontario dépense seulement 7 $ par personne. « La C.-B. investit trois fois plus que l’Ontario dans les politiques et les programmes de promotion de la santé et ses résidents fument moins, sont plus actifs et ont de meilleurs poids santé. Ceci contribuera évidemment à des taux d’espérance de vie plus élevés que le reste du Canada », dit Chris Markham, co-président, Ophea. « Nous méritons que le gouvernement de l’Ontario investisse dans notre santé pour notre génération et les générations futures. »

À propos de la campagne
La campagne Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %) est le prolongement de la Healthiest Province Initiative de l’Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques en Ontario (APMCO) et de la campagne Healthy Candidates de la Fondation des maladies du cœur. Il s’agit d’une collaboration historique de partenaires du domaine de la santé qui demandent aux partis de tenir leurs promesses électorales et qui continuent à exercer des pressions pour faire de l’Ontario la province la plus en santé au Canada. Par le biais de visites des députés provinciaux, d’activités et d’engagements locaux, d’interventions numériques et de réseautage social, l’objectif est de faire passer le budget de cette année de 0,35 % à 0,5 % du budget provincial en ce qui a trait aux dépenses relatives à la prévention et à la promotion de la santé.

Pour plus d’information sur la campagne Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %) ou pour passer à l’action maintenant, visitez www.healthiestprovince.ca.

L’Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques en Ontario (APMCO), composée de 26 organisations membres, représente les intérêts de ses membres sur les politiques de prévention des maladies chroniques et les programmes. Plus d’information à www.ocdpa.on.ca.

Organisme bénévole, la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada a pour mission d’améliorer la santé des Canadiens et Canadiennes, en favorisant la recherche, la promotion de la santé et les représentations en faveur de la santé afin de prévenir et réduire les invalidités et les décès dus aux maladies cardiovasculaires et aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Pour plus d’information, visitez www.fmcoeur.on.ca.

Ophea existe pour appuyer les écoles et les communautés par l’entremise de programmes et services de qualité, des partenariats et à la défense des intérêts afin de permettre aux enfants et aux adolescents de mener des vies actives et saines. Pour plus d’information, visitez www.ophea.net/fr.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026