Backgrounder: Exposing the secret lives of tanning teens in Ontario

26 April 2012

TORONTO -

OVERVIEW

Indoor tanning causes skin cancer. The Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the Government of Ontario to support the new Private Members’ bill that restricts youth under 18 year of age from using indoor tanning equipment.

The Society has advocated on this important issue for more than six years because research has shown tanning bed use before the age of 35 increases a person’s risk of developing skin cancer by 75 per cent. Melanoma skin cancer is also one of the most common and deadliest forms of cancer amongst people ages 15 to 29, and is one of the most preventable.

On April 26, the Society released the results of an Ipsos Reid poll on the tanning behaviors of Ontario youth ages 12 to 17. The results of the poll further strengthen the Society’s call for a ban on the use of indoor tanning equipment by youth under 18.

OVERALL POLL RESULTS:

  • 52% of youth indoor tanners say that their parents pay for their tanning bed use
  • 24% of youth indoor tanners say that parents first introduced them to tanning
  • 21% of youth in grade 12 are using tanning beds
  • 11% of youth in grade 11 are using tanning beds
  • 8% (1 in 10) youth in Ontario are using a tanning bed, up from 5% six years ago

WHAT SHOULD GOVERNMENT DO?

The Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the Government of Ontario to:

  • Prohibit youth under the age of 18 from using indoor tanning equipment.
  • Restrict indoor tanning promotions and marketing targeted to youth.
  • Maintain a registry or licensing system for indoor tanning equipment in use in Ontario with fees put towards enforcement.
  • Introduce mandatory, comprehensive, Ontario-specific training for all staff operating indoor tanning equipment. Training should include operation procedures, maintenance and how to identify people with fair skin who are at greater risk of developing cancer.
  • Ensure the health risks associated with ultraviolet radiation (UVR) emitting devices are displayed prominently and in clear view of clients at all indoor tanning facilities.

ACTION IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS

Internationally, California, France, Australia and the United Kingdom all have laws banning the use of indoor tanning equipment by youth. Brazil has gone much further by banning the use of indoor tanning equipment for cosmetic purposes in 2009.

In Canada, Nova Scotia passed the Tanning Beds Act in December 2010 prohibiting youth under the age of 19 from using indoor tanning equipment.

Most recently, British Columbia announced it will introduce regulations to ban youth under 18 from using indoor tanning equipment in the fall of 2012.

DE-BUNKING TANNING MYTHS

Myth : A “base tan” from a tanning bed provides protection from the sun.
Fact: Getting a base tan by using tanning beds does not protect people from the sun. A tan offers almost no protection from sunlight or burning. Tanned skin is damaged skin. Even when the tan fades, the damage is still there.

Myth: Tanning beds are safer than the sun.
Fact: In 2009, the world’s foremost authority in identifying the causes of cancer, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, classified ultraviolet radiation devices, including tanning beds, as known carcinogens.

Using tanning beds before the age of 35 increases your risk of developing melanoma skin cancer by 75%. Some tanning beds can give off UV radiation that is five times stronger than the mid-day summer sun.

Myth: Indoor tanning provides a healthy dose of vitamin D.
Fact: Because indoor tanning equipment emits harmful ultraviolet rays, it is a dangerous method of getting vitamin D. A few minutes a day of unprotected sun exposure is usually all that is needed for the average person to get enough vitamin D. You can also get vitamin D through your diet or by taking vitamin supplements.

RELATED POLLING DATA

Strong public support on issue:

A 2011 Society-commissioned poll showed that 83 per cent of Ontarians would support provincial government legislation that restricts the use of indoor tanning equipment for youth under 18 years of age.

Mandatory guidelines needed:

Voluntary guidelines are not enough. A 2008 audit of the indoor tanning industry in Toronto by the Society overwhelmingly found that indoor tanning salons did not adhere to the established Health Canada voluntary guidelines – demonstrating that self-regulation does not work.

Scope of issue:

A 2007 poll commissioned by the Canadian Cancer Society showed that over 50,000 high school aged students in Ontario have

LEADING THE FIGHT AGAINGST CANCER

To make progress in the fight against cancer, we need to fight the disease from different angles. In addition to putting the topic of youth and indoor tanning on the political radar, the Canadian Cancer Society fights cancer through prevention campaigns such as our Tan-Free Prominitiative which challenges teens to embrace their “natural glow” and avoid tanning for their proms. The Society also offers free information and support services that are proven to decrease stress and anxiety in cancer patients and caregivers.

The work of the Canadian Cancer Society is supported by our volunteers and the generous support fundraising campaigns such as April’s Daffodil Month.

For more information on our advocacy work or our information and support services, please visit www.cancer.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

FEUILLE D’INFORMATION POUR LES MÉDIAS - La vie secrète des jeunes Ontariens face au bronzage

26 avril 2012

TORONTO -

VUE D’ENSEMBLE

Le bronzage artificiel cause le cancer. La Société canadienne du cancer fait appel au gouvernement de l’Ontario pour qu’il appuie le nouveau projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire qui restreint l’usage d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans.

La Société exerce des pressions au sujet de cette question importante depuis plus de six ans parce que la recherche a démontré que l’utilisation de lits de bronzage avant 35 ans augmente de 75 % le risque d’une personne de développer un cancer de la peau. Le mélanome (cancer de la peau) est aussi un des types de cancer les plus fréquents et mortels chez les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans et il est un des plus évitables.

Le 26 avril, la Société a publié les résultats d’un sondage Ipsos Reid sur les comportements des jeunes ontariens de 12 à 17 ans face au bronzage. Les résultats du sondage renforcent davantage la demande de la Société pour obtenir une interdiction d’utilisation d’appareil de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans.

RÉSULTATS GLOBAUX DU SONDAGE :

  • 52 % des jeunes se faisant bronzer ont dit que leurs parents payaient pour leur utilisation de lits de bronzage
  • 24% des jeunes se faisant bronzer ont dit que leurs parents les avaient initiés au bronzage
  • 21 % des jeunes de 12e année utilisent des lits de bronzage
  • 11 % des jeunes de 11e année utilisent des lits de bronzage
  • 8 % (1 sur 10) des jeunes en Ontario utilisent un lit de bronzage, hausse de 5 % comparativement à il y a six ans

    Données complètes sur le sondage disponibles sur demande.

QUE DEVRAIT FAIRE LE GOUVERNEMENT?

La Société canadienne du cancer fait appel au gouvernement de l’Ontario pour qu’il :

  • Interdise l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans.
  • Limite la publicité et le marketing du bronzage artificiel ciblant les jeunes.
  • Maintienne un registre ou un système de licences d’équipements de bronzage artificiel en usage en Ontario, les frais étant versés à la mise en application.
  • Instaure une formation obligatoire complète pour tout le personnel opérant de l’équipement de bronzage en Ontario. La formation devrait inclure les procédures de fonctionnement, le maintien et la façon d’identifier les personnes au teint clair à risque plus élevé de développer un cancer.
  • S’assure que les risques pour la santé associés aux appareils émettant des rayons UV soient placés bien à la vue des clients dans tous les établissements de bronzage artificiel.

ACTION DANS D’AUTRES JURIDICTIONS

À l’échelle internationale, la Californie, la France, l’Australie et le Royaume-Uni ont tous des lois interdisant aux jeunes l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage. Le Brésil en a fait plus en interdisant l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel à des fins esthétiques en 2009.

Au Canada, la Nouvelle-Écosse a adopté la Tanning Beds Act en décembre 2010 interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 19 ans d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.

Plus récemment, la Colombie-Britannique a annoncé qu’elle présenterait des règlements pour interdire aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel à l’automne 2012.

DÉMYSTIFIER LES MYTHES SUR LE BRONZAGE

Mythe : Un « bronzage de base » obtenu d’un lit de bronzage fournit une protection contre le soleil.
Réalité :
Un bronzage de base obtenu en utilisant les lits de bronzage ne protège pas contre le soleil. Un bronzage n’offre presque pas de protection contre la lumière du soleil ou les coups de soleil. Une peau bronzée est une peau endommagée. Une fois le bronzage disparu, les dommages, eux, demeurent.

Mythe : Les lits de bronzage sont plus sécuritaires que le soleil.
Réalité :
En 2009, le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer, qui fait autorité sur l’identification des causes du cancer, a classifié les appareils émettant des rayons ultraviolets, y compris les lits de bronzage, comme étant des carcinogènes connus. L’utilisation de lits de bronzage avant 35 ans augmente votre risque de 75 % de développer un mélanome (cancer de la peau). Certains lits de bronzage émettent des rayons UV cinq fois plus puissants que le soleil de midi en été.

Mythe : Le bronzage artificiel fournit une saine dose de vitamine D.
Réalité
: Étant donné que les appareils de bronzage artificiel émettent des rayons ultraviolets, ils constituent une façon dangereuse d’obtenir de la vitamine D. Il suffit de quelques minutes par jour d’exposition au soleil sans protection pour qu’une personne moyenne reçoive assez de vitamine D. Vous pouvez aussi obtenir de la vitamine D dans votre alimentation et en prenant des suppléments vitaminiques.

DONNÉES DE SONDAGES CONNEXES

Appui du public :
Un sondage demandé par la Société en 2011 a démontré que 83 % des Ontariens appuieraient une loi du gouvernement provincial restreignant l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans.

Lignes directrices obligatoires requises :
Le respect volontaire des lignes directrices n’est pas suffisant. Une étude menée en 2008 par la Société sur l’industrie du bronzage artificiel à Toronto a déterminé que les salons de bronzage artificiel ne respectaient pas volontairement les lignes directrices établies par Santé Canada, ce qui a démontré que l’autoréglementation ne fonctionne pas.

Ampleur de la question :
Un sondage demandé en 2007 par la Société canadienne du cancer a démontré que plus de 50 000 élèves du niveau secondaire en Ontario avaient utilisé de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.

LA LUTTE CONTRE LE CANCER

Afin de progresser dans la lutte contre le cancer, nous devons lutter de plusieurs manières. En plus de placer la question des jeunes et du bronzage artificiel sur le radar politique, la Société canadienne du cancer lutte contre le cancer grâce à des campagnes de prévention comme l’initiative Bal sans bronzage qui lance un défi aux jeunes d’accepter leur apparence naturelle et d’éviter de se faire bronzer pour leur bals de finissants. La Société offre aussi de l’information et des services de soutien qui aident à réduire le stress et l’anxiété chez les patients et les aidants.

L’œuvre de la Société est appuyée par ses bénévoles et les campagnes de financement comme le Mois de la jonquille en avril.

Pour plus d’information sur nos efforts de défense de l’intérêt public ou sur nos services d’information et de soutien, visitez www.cancer.ca.

 

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026