Election race polls may be split but public support for cancer issues remains strong

28 September 2011


Tonight’s leaders’ debate included a mention of one healthcare issue that thousands of Ontarians live with every day… cancer, but the discussion stopped there. How are political parties intending to take action to prevent cancer and to help Ontarians who are living with the disease?

“Cancer touches everyone. This is an issue about which the public remains passionate,’’ says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division in reaction to the leaders’ debate.

As part of its mission through advocacy efforts, the Society puts cancer-related issues on the political radar.

“Public policies that prevent cancer or benefit patients are issues that will always be supported by the people of Ontario,” says Kabat.

Protecting people from exposure to carcinogens, restricting youth under 18 from indoor tanning and ensuring patients have access to cancer drugs are among the Society’s election recommendations.

Here’s what Ontarians say:

Product labelling

In a Canadian Cancer Society poll[i] conducted earlier this week by Ipsos Reid, results show that 91% of Ontarians agree the next Ontario government should ensure all consumer and household products that contain known cancer-causing substances are labelled with a warning or symbol.

Indoor tanning

A March 2011 Society poll[ii] found that 83% of Ontarians support a ban on indoor tanning by youth under 18 years. The Society is calling on the next provincial government to protect the health of youth under 18 from the dangers of indoor tanning, which has been directly linked to cancer.

Equitable access to cancer drugs

A national poll[iii]conducted by the Society in September 2010 found that a large majority of Canadians — 85% — said that, if they were diagnosed with cancer, the cost of drugs would have a negative impact on their personal finances. The Society is calling on the next Ontario government to fund all drugs recommended by the experts at Cancer Care Ontario.

“Given the lessons we have learned in the fight against tobacco, we cannot wait. We are asking candidates, if elected, to make a commitment now and act on it,” says Kabat.

“The fight against tobacco has taught us how to collect support and push hard on important health issues that will change lives. If the goal is to have a healthier Ontario and reduced burden upon our healthcare system the next government should act on our recommendations now.”

The Canadian Cancer Society encourages all Ontarians to fight cancer with their vote. Before heading to the polls on October 6, people should ask their candidates where they stand and vote for the person they believe will do the most to prevent cancer and save lives. Visit www.cancer.ca/OntarioElection2011 to send local candidates the message that cancer issues matter.


[i]Ipsos Reid poll conducted between September 21 to 26, 2011 with an online sample size of 816 of Ontarians aged 18+. The estimated margin of error is +/- 3.5 percentage points, 19 times out of 20.

[ii]Ipsos Reid poll conducted between June 6 to 9, 2011 with an online sample size of 822 of Ontarians aged 18+. The estimated margin of error is +/- 3.5 percentage points, 19 times out of 20.

[iii]Pollara poll conducted between September 9 to 13, 2010, an online survey among a representative sample of 2,334 Canadians aged 18 and over was conducted. The margin of error typically associated with a sample of this size would be +/- 2 per cent, 19 times out of 20.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Les résultats des sondages sur les élections sont peut-être divisés mais le public appuie toujours les questions liées au cancer

28 septembre 2011

Toronto -

Le débat des chefs de ce soir a inclus la mention d’une des questions de santé avec laquelle vivent chaque jour des milliers d’Ontariens… le cancer. Mais la discussion n’a pas continué. Comment les partis politiques prévoient-ils passer à l’action pour prévenir le cancer et aider les Ontariens qui vivent avec la maladie?

« Le cancer touche tout le monde. Il s’agit d’une question qui intéresse encore le public », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction. Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario, suite au débat des chefs.

Dans le cadre de sa mission et par ses efforts de défense de l’intérêt public, la Société place les questions liées au cancer sur le radar politique.

« Les politiques publiques qui préviennent le cancer ou qui aident les patients sont des questions qu’appuieront toujours les résidents de l’Ontario », dit M. Kabat.

Les recommandations politiques de la Société à l’occasion des élections comprennent protéger les gens contre une exposition aux carcinogènes, limiter l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans et s’assurer que les patients aient accès aux médicaments anticancéreux.

Voici ce que les Ontariens disent :

Étiquetage des produits
Dans un sondagei de la Société canadienne du cancer effectué plus tôt cette semaine par Ipsos Reid, les résultats indiquent que 91 % des Ontariens sont d’accord pour que le prochain gouvernement ontarien s’assure que tous les produits de consommation et d’entretien contenant des carcinogènes connus portent une étiquette munie d’un avertissement ou d’un symbole.

Bronzage artificiel
En mars 2011, un sondageii de la Société a révélé que 83 % des Ontariens appuient une interdiction de bronzage artificiel pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans. La Société demande au prochain gouvernement provincial de protéger la santé des jeunes de moins de 18 ans contre les dangers du bronzage artificiel, qui a été directement lié au cancer.

Accès équitable aux médicaments anticancéreux
Un sondageiii national effectué par la Société en septembre 2010 a révélé qu’une grande majorité de Canadiens (85 %) ont dit que s’ils recevaient un diagnostic de cancer, le coût des médicaments aurait un impact négatif sur leurs finances personnelles. La Société demande au prochain gouvernement ontarien de financer tous les médicaments recommandés par les experts d’Action Cancer Ontario.

« Étant donné ce que nous avons appris dans notre combat contre le tabagisme, nous ne pouvons pas attendre. Nous demandons aux candidats, si élus, de s’engager maintenant et de passer à l’action », ajoute M. Kabat.

« La lutte contre le tabagisme nous a montré comment obtenir du soutien et comment persévérer en ce qui a trait aux questions de santé importantes qui changeront des vies. Si l’objectif est d’avoir un Ontario plus en santé et de réduire le fardeau placé sur notre système de santé, le prochain gouvernement devrait passer à l’action maintenant à propos de nos recommandations. »

La Société canadienne du cancer encourage tous les Ontariens à combattre le cancer en votant. Avant d’aller voter le 6 octobre, les gens devraient demander à leurs candidats quelle est leur position puis voter pour la personne qui selon eux, en fera le plus pour prévenir le cancer et sauver des vies. Visitez www.cancer.ca/OntarioElection2011 pour envoyer un message aux candidats locaux pour leur dire que les questions liées au cancer sont importantes.


i Sondage Ipsos Reid effectué entre le 21 et le 26 septembre 2011 auprès d’un échantillon en ligne de 816 Ontariens de 18 ans et plus. La marge d’erreur estimée est de +/- 3,5 points de pourcentage, 19 fois sur 20.

ii Sondage Ipsos Reid effectué entre le 6 et le 9 juin 2011 auprès d’un échantillon en ligne de 822 Ontariens de 18 ans et plus. La marge d’erreur estimée est de +/- 3,5 points de pourcentage, 19 fois sur 20.

iii Du 9 au 13 septembre 2010, la firme Pollara a mené un sondage en ligne auprès d’un échantillon représentatif composé de 2 334 Canadiens de 18 ans et plus. La marge d’erreur généralement associée à un échantillon de cette taille serait de +/- 2 %, 19 fois sur 20.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026