Cancer has no respect for party lines — Canadian Cancer Society ready to work with minority government

07 October 2011


The Canadian Cancer Society congratulates Premier McGuinty for his re-election to the Ontario Legislature and looks forward to the implementation of the election promises made that will prevent cancer and help people living with cancer.

“We look forward to working with all parties and leaders to ensure that important cancer-fighting policies are put in place as soon as possible,” says Martin Kabat, Ontario CEO, Canadian Cancer Society.

“Now that the election is over, we will be looking for high impact action on indoor tanning, product labeling and equitable access to cancer drugs,” says Kabat. “We’ve made clear what needs to be done. Now it’s time to make it happen.”

The Canadian Cancer Society has the support of Ontarians in calling for:

Product labelling

Ninety-one per cent of Ontarians agree the next Ontario government should ensure all consumer and household products that contain known cancer-causing substances are labelled with a warning or symbol, shows a Canadian Cancer Society-sponsored poll conducted last week.

Prohibiting youth from indoor tanning

Eighty-three per cent of Ontarians support a ban on indoor tanning by youth under 18 years, shows a Society-sponsored poll conducted in March 2011. The Society is calling on the Ontario government to protect youth from the dangers of indoor tanning, which has been directly linked to cancer.

Equitable access to cancer drugs

A large majority of Canadians — 85% — said that, if they were diagnosed with cancer, the cost of drugs would have a negative impact on their personal finances, found a national poll conducted by the Society in September 2010. The Society is calling on the Ontario government to fund all drugs recommended by the experts at Cancer Care Ontario immediately.

During the election campaign, the Liberals promised to:

  • toughen up contraband tobacco enforcement to choke off the supply of cheap, illegal cigarettes to children
  • increase fines to those who sell tobacco to children to the highest level in the country
  • create a new Family Caregiver Leave, giving working Ontarians up to eight weeks of job-protected time away from work to help a family member who can’t care for themselves because of serious injury or illness
  • create a Council on Childhood Obesity with the aim of reducing the childhood obesity rate to 20% from 28% in five years
  • provide all elementary school children with a healthy snack program, exposing more students to fresh, nutritious foods and building healthy eating habits
  • double the Children’s Activity Tax Credit to $100 per child
  • provide everyone in the province with an online Personalized Cancer Risk Profile, which will measure medical and family history and match people to screening programs and prevention supports such as genetic testing for high-risk individuals.

“If implemented, all of these promised measures will help to prevent cancer and help Ontarians living with the disease. We are pleased that this new government has committed to fighting cancer,” says Kabat.”We’re looking for more.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Le cancer ne respecte pas les lignes de parti : la Société canadienne du cancer est prête à travailler avec un gouvernement minoritaire

07 octobre 2011

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer félicite le premier ministre McGuinty suite à sa réélection à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario et attend avec intérêt la mise en œuvre des promesses d’élection qui préviendront le cancer et aideront les personnes vivant avec le cancer.

« Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée de travailler avec tous les partis et les chefs pour s’assurer que les politiques importantes de lutte contre le cancer sont adoptées dès que possible », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario.

« Maintenant que les élections sont terminées, nous rechercherons un impact important sur le bronzage artificiel, l’étiquetage des produits et l’accès équitable aux médicaments anticancéreux », ajoute M. Kabat. « Nous avons énoncé clairement ce qui doit être fait. Maintenant c’est le temps de passer à l’action. »

La Société canadienne du cancer bénéficie du soutien des Ontariens quant à :

Étiquetage des produits
Selon un sondage de la Société canadienne du cancer effectué la semaine dernière, 91 % des Ontariens sont
d’accord pour que le prochain gouvernement ontarien s’assure que tous les produits de consommation et d’entretien contenant des carcinogènes connus portent une étiquette munie d’un avertissement ou d’un symbole.

Bronzage artificiel
En mars 2011, un sondage de la Société a révélé que 83 % des Ontariens appuient une interdiction de bronzage artificiel pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans. La Société demande au gouvernement de l’Ontario de protéger la santé des jeunes de moins de 18 ans contre les dangers du bronzage artificiel, qui a été directement lié au cancer.

Accès équitable aux médicaments anticancéreux
Un sondage national effectué par la Société en septembre 2010 a révélé qu’une grande majorité de Canadiens (85 %) ont dit que s’ils recevaient un diagnostic de cancer, le coût des médicaments aurait un impact négatif sur leurs finances personnelles. La Société demande au gouvernement ontarien de financer tous les médicaments recommandés par les experts d’Action Cancer Ontario.

Pendant la campagne électorale, les libéraux ont promis de :

  • établir une stratégie de lutte contre la contrebande pour étouffer le ravitaillement en tabac illégal de mauvaise qualité qui est vendu à nos jeunes, en doublant notre capacité de mise à exécution
  • augmenter les amendes infligées à ceux qui vendent illégalement du tabac aux enfants au niveau le plus élevé au pays
  • créer le nouveau congé pour les aidants membres de la famille, ce qui permettra aux Ontariens et aux Ontariennes de prendre jusqu’à huit semaines de congé avec une protection d’emploi afin d’aider un proche qui ne peut pas prendre soin de lui en raison d’une blessure ou d’une maladie grave
  • créer un Conseil de l’obésité infantile dont le but sera de réduire de 20 % en 5 ans, le taux d’obésité chez les enfants
  • offrir un programme de goûters santé qui fera découvrir les aliments frais et nutritifs aux élèves du niveau élémentaire et leur fera adopter de bonnes habitudes alimentaires
  • doubler notre crédit d’impôt de 50 $ à 100 $ par enfant pour les activités des enfants
  • offrir un profil individualisé, en ligne, de personnes à risque pour le cancer, à tous ceux qui vivent dans la province. Le risque de cancer sera évalué en fonction des antécédents médicaux et familiaux. Le système comprendra des programmes de dépistage et de prévention tels que des tests génétiques pour les personnes à risque élevé.

« Si elles sont mises en œuvre, toutes ses mesures promises aideront à prévenir le cancer et aideront les Ontariens vivant avec la maladie. Nous sommes heureux que ce nouveau gouvernement se soit engagé à lutter contre le cancer », dit M. Kabat. « Il reste beaucoup à faire. »

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026