Canadian Cancer Society urges Spring Break vacationers to be safe in the sun

08 March 2011

TORONTO -

As many Ontarians prepare to holiday in the sun during Spring Break, the Canadian Cancer Society is releasing important provincial statistics as well as results of an Environics poll about sun safety. Both the poll and the largest survey ever done on sun safety in Ontario reveal that too many Ontarians continue to expose themselves to cancer-causing UV radiation by either sun exposure or using tanning equipment. This is concerning as skin cancer is now the most common form of cancer in Ontarians.

The Canadian Cancer Society has released a new publication called Insight on Cancer: Sun Exposure and Protective Behaviors in Ontario (published jointly with Cancer Care Ontario), which provides information based on a survey conducted in 2006. This survey showed that over time Ontarians have increased their exposure to UVR without taking action to protect themselves from its potential harmful effects.

The Society also conducted an Ontario poll in January 2011 that showed that many Ontarians still engage in harmful behaviours such as getting what they think of as a “base tan” before going on a beach vacation because they believe it will protect them from sunburn.

Alarmingly, the 2011 poll showed that 49% of students and 36% of those aged 18-29 falsely believe that using indoor tanning equipment to get a so-called “base tan” before going on a winter sun vacation protects from sunburn. And 35% of residents of northern Ontario also believe this to be a fact.

“We’re concerned that too many Ontarians continue to seek a tan, especially before and during a winter vacation in a sunny climate,” says Dr. Loraine Marrett, Co-chair Ontario Sun Safety Working Group and Director, Surveillance, Prevention and Cancer Control, Cancer Care Ontario, who is the lead investigator of the 2006 national sun survey. “There is simply no safe way to get a tan.”

“We’re particularly concerned about youth because the use of tanning equipment before the age of 35 has been found to increase the risk of melanoma,” says Dr. Cheryl Rosen, National Director of the Canadian Dermatology Association’s Sun Awareness Program and an investigator of the 2006 national sun survey.

The idea that tanned people look healthy and are more attractive continues to hold sway with the Ontario public, according to the poll. But the poll shows that younger generations’ attitudes have changed significantly from their parents’ and grandparents’ generations. Call it the Snookie effect as many young people may be influenced by pop culture TV shows such as Jersey Shore and its obsession with tanning. Yet at the same time these TV stars and their extreme dedication to tans are increasingly looking unfavorable to young people. According to poll and survey results, only 41% of those aged 18-29 link a tan to healthy looks as opposed to 66% of those aged 75 or older.

“We need to work towards a social norm that does not include a tan as a sign of beauty or health. Aside from legislation to protect youth, more needs to be done to raise awareness of the cancer risk of UV radiation — from both sun and tanning equipment,” says Salima Allibhai-Hussein, Senior Manager, Prevention, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division.

Environics Poll ResultsA total of 51% of Ontarians surveyed believe that people look more attractive with a sun tan, and 51% of respondents also believe that people look healthier with a suntan.

Older people are more likely than younger age groups to attribute healthy looks to a suntan; two-thirds (66%) of those age 75 or older think the tanned look is healthier compared to 41% of those aged 18 to 29 who link a tan to healthy looks.

The Canadian Cancer Society recommends

  • Plan outdoor activities before 11 a.m. or after 4 p.m. to minimize exposure when UVR is most intense
  • Seek shade or create your own shade with an umbrella or other portable structure
  • Wear a wide-brimmed hat and loose-fitting clothing made of tightly woven fabric
  • Liberally apply a broad-spectrum (with UVA and UVB protection) sunscreen with a Sun Protection Factor (SPF) of 15 or higher
  • Wear sunglasses that have/offer UVA & UBV protection

Insight on Cancer Survey Results*

18% of Ontarians will get at least one sunburn during a winter vacation to a sunny climate. This percentage is lower in Ontario than any other province. Quebec is highest with 30%.

ThereforeOntario residents seem to be getting the message about sun protection more than any other province.

Adults on a winter vacation to a sunny climate (20.8% of the Ontario population compared with the national average of 16.8%) spend more time in the sun than they do during leisure summer times.

Most Canadian adults 65 and older are practicing effective sun safety and parents are doing a good job of protecting children one to five years of age.

Skin cancer continues to be one of the biggest cancers for teens and young adults aged 15-29.

Older children (ages 6-12) spend the most time in the sun of any age group and often are not protected from the sun; 25% do not use any form of sun protection.

Insight on Cancer: Sun Exposure and Protective Behaviours in Ontario can be found on the publications page of the Ontario section of www.cancer.ca

More information about safe sun practice and the Society’s call for legislation prohibiting youth under 18 from using tanning equipment can be found on www.cancer.ca

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

Insight on Cancer is designed to provide information for health professionals and policy-makers about cancer and cancer risk factors in Ontario.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société canadienne du cancer encourage les vacanciers à faire preuve de bon sens sous le soleil

08 mars 2011

Toronto -

Au moment où beaucoup d’Ontariens se préparent à passer la relâche scolaire au soleil, la Société canadienne du cancer publie des statistiques provinciales importantes suite à une enquête Environics sur la prudence sous le soleil. L’enquête et le plus gros sondage jamais effectué sur la prudence sous le soleil en Ontario révèlent que beaucoup trop d’Ontariens continuent à s’exposer aux rayons UV carcinogènes soit en s’exposant au soleil ou à de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel. Ceci est inquiétant car le cancer de la peau est maintenant le type de cancer le plus souvent rencontré chez les Ontariens.

La Société canadienne du cancer a lancé une nouvelle publication intitulée Insight on Cancer : Sun Exposure and Protective Behaviors in Ontario (publiée conjointement avec Action Cancer Ontario) qui fournit de l’information basée sur un sondage effectué en 2006. Ce sondage a démontré qu’avec le temps, les Ontariens ont augmenté leur exposition aux rayons UV sans toutefois se protéger contre leurs effets néfastes potentiels.

La Société a également effectué une enquête en Ontario en janvier 2011 qui a démontré que plusieurs Ontariens ont encore des comportements dangereux comme se faire bronzer pour avoir un « bronzage de base » avant une vacance au soleil car ils croient que cela les protégera contre les coups de soleil.

Fait alarmant, l’enquête de 2011 montre que 40 % des étudiants et 36 % de ceux âgés entre 18 et 29 ans croient faussement que le fait d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel pour obtenir un « bronzage de base » avant d’aller en vacances au soleil les protège des coups de soleil. Et 35 % des résidents du nord de l’Ontario croient aussi que cela est un fait.

« Nous nous préoccupons du fait que beaucoup trop d’Ontariens continuent à vouloir un bronzage, surtout avant et pendant une vacance d’hiver au soleil », dit la Dre Loraine Marrett, co-présidente, « Ontario Sun Safety Working Group » et directrice, unité de surveillance, prévention et lutte contre le cancer, Action Cancer Ontario, et chercheuse principale de l’enquête nationale sur l’exposition au soleil 2006. « Il n’existe tout simplement aucun moyen de bronzer sans risque. »

« Nous nous préoccupons particulièrement des jeunes car on a découvert que l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel avant 35 ans augmente le risque de mélanome », dit la Dre Cheryl Rosen, directrice nationale, programme de sensibilisation au soleil de l’Association canadienne de dermatologie et chercheuse de l’enquête nationale sur l’exposition au soleil 2006.

L’idée que les personnes bronzées ont l’air en santé et qu’elles sont plus belles a encore de l’emprise sur le public ontarien, selon l’enquête. Mais l’enquête montre que les attitudes des générations plus jeunes sont assez différentes de celles des générations de leurs parents et grands-parents. C’est peut-être « l’effet Snookie » car beaucoup de jeunes sont probablement influencés par les émissions de télévision comme Jersey Shore et son obsession envers le bronzage. En même temps, ces vedettes de la télévision et leur dévouement extrême au bronzage deviennent de plus en plus défavorables pour les jeunes. Selon les résultats de l’enquête et du sondage, seulement 41 % des jeunes de 18-29 ans associent un bronzage à une apparence en santé comparativement à 66 % chez les personnes de 75 ans ou plus.

« Nous devons travailler pour développer une norme sociale qui n’inclut pas un bronzage comme signe de beauté ou de santé. En plus d’une loi pour protéger les jeunes, nous devons faire plus pour mieux sensibiliser au risque de cancer associé aux rayons UV, à la fois du soleil et de l’équipement de bronzage », dit Salima Allibhai-Hussein, gestionnaire principale, prévention, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario.

Résultats de l’enquête Environics :

Un total de 51 % des Ontariens interrogés croient que les gens sont plus beaux avec un bronzage et 51 % des répondants croient aussi que les gens ont l’air plus en santé avec un bronzage.

Les personnes plus âgées ont plus de chances que les plus jeunes à attribuer une apparence saine à un bronzage; deux tiers (66 %) des personnes de 75 ans ou plus pensent que l’apparence bronzée est plus saine comparativement à 41 % des personnes de 18 à 29 ans qui associent un bronzage à une apparence saine.

La Société canadienne du cancer recommande :

  • Planifiez les activités de plein air avant 11 h ou après 16 h afin de minimiser l’exposition lorsque les rayons UV sont les plus forts.
  • Recherchez l’ombre ou créez votre propre ombre avec un parapluie ou autre structure portative.
  • Portez un chapeau à large rebords et des vêtements amples faits de tissus serrés.
  • Appliquez une bonne quantité d’un écran solaire à « spectre étendu » (avec protection UVA et UVB) avec un facteur de protection solaire (FPS) de 15 ou plus.
  • Portez des lunettes de soleil ayant/offrant une protection contre les UVA et les UVB.

Résultats du sondage « Insight on Cancer » :

18 % des Ontariens auront au moins un coup de soleil pendant une vacance d’hiver dans le Sud. Ce pourcentage est inférieur en Ontario comparativement à toute autre province. Québec a le résultat le plus élevé avec 30 %.

Par conséquent, les résidents de l’Ontario semblent comprendre le message sur la protection contre le soleil plus que les résidents des autres provinces.

Les adultes en vacances dans le Sud l’hiver (20,8 % de la population ontarienne comparativement à la moyenne nationale de 16,8 %) passent plus de temps au soleil qu’ils ne le font pendant leurs temps libres l’été.

La plupart des adultes canadiens de 65 ans et plus font preuve de bon sens sous le soleil et les parents font un bon travail en protégeant les enfants d’un an à cinq ans.

Le cancer de la peau continue à être une des plus importantes préoccupations pour les adolescents et les jeunes adultes de 15-29 ans.

Les enfants plus âgés (6-12 ans) passent le plus de temps au soleil que tout autre groupe d’âge et souvent, ne sont pas protégés contre le soleil; 25 % n’utilisent aucun type de protection.

Insight on Cancer : Sun Exposure and Protective Behaviors in Ontario est disponible dans la page Publications de la section Ontario de www.cancer.ca.

Plus d’information sur le bon sens sous le soleil et sur l’action de la Société pour obtenir une loi interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans l’utilisation de l’équipement de bronzage est disponible sur www.cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026