Canadian Cancer Society releases election policy recommendations and issues call to action

20 June 2011

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the government of Ontario and all political parties, if elected, to commit to restrict indoor tanning by youth under the age of 18. The recommendation is included in the Canadian Cancer Society’s election policy recommendations released today.

Every three minutes, another Canadian is faced with fighting cancer. Empowered by its volunteers, staff and donors – the Canadian Cancer Society is working tirelessly to do everything it can to prevent cancer, save lives and support people living with cancer. Now the Society is asking for the help of all Ontario voters, to question their provincial candidates on where they stand on fighting cancer on the following key policy areas leading up to the October 6 provincial election:

  • Indoor Tanning
  • Environmental and Occupational Carcinogens
  • Access to Drugs

It is not about politics but more about the health of Ontarians. Political parties have come together in the past for health legislation and the time for all-party support for legislation is here again. For example, a growing trend of indoor tanning regulation is taking hold across Canada from coast to coast, only just catching up to many European and American standards. Both Victoria, BC, and the province of Nova Scotia have enacted legislation. Communities such as Sarnia, Ontario, are taking notice and recently asked its city council to take action.

On April 13, 2010, a bi-partisan provincial bill to protect youth from skin cancer by restricting the marketing and sale of indoor tanning services to people under the age of 19 was introduced. After its introduction, Bill 31, as it was labeled, did not make it to second reading and has since died on the legislative agenda.

“Political parties need to act on this important health issue now to protect young Ontarians,” says Joanne Di Nardo, Senior Manager, Public Issues. “We are calling on all political parties to include a commitment to restricting tanning by youth under the age of 18 and advertising by indoor tanning companies directed at youth.”

An Ipsos Reid poll conducted earlier this month and commissioned by the Society showed that:

  • 83% of Ontarians support a ban on indoor tanning by youth under 18 years
  • 77% said youth should be prevented from using tanning beds
  • 73% of Ontarians polled said the tanning industry cannot be trusted to regulate itself and government legislation is needed
  • 80% of Ontarians support legislation to regulate the tanning industry

“Every day young people across the province intentionally expose themselves to a known human carcinogen thanks to an industry that targets its services to youth,” says Joanne Di Nardo. “It’s crucial for the next government of Ontario to take action to protect the health of our youth — and we know that a majority of Ontarians agree.”

“There is no safe way to tan,” says Dr. Cheryl Rosen, Head of Dermatology, Toronto Western Hospital. “People should avoid indoor tanning and in particular for young people, it should be banned altogether.”

“It is not acceptable that the tanning industry markets its services to youth, knowing that there is a proven connection between tanning and skin cancer,” says Jeffrey Gottheil, President and Creative Director, J. Gottheil Marketing Communications Inc. and consultant to the Society. “Advertising tans for proms, for example, takes a direct aim at the population under 18 and this is something that needs to be regulated and controlled.”

Indoor tanning equipment can emit ultraviolet radiation at levels that are five times stronger than the mid-day summer sun. In 2009, the International Agency for Research on Cancer classified tanning equipment as a known carcinogen putting it in the highest cancer risk category.

Why do young people go to tanning salons and are they aware of the dangers of developing skin cancer?

Sixteen-year-old high school student Rae Ann Teixeira says she used to tan but her perspective has changed.

“All my friends were doing it and I thought it’d be nice to have tan for my semi-formal,” she says. “But it’s scary enough to get skin cancer, you don’t want to increase your risk.”

The risk is real, especially for young people. The International Agency for Research on Cancer has determined that using a tanning bed before the age of 35 can increase a person’s risk of developing skin cancer by as much as 75%. Melanoma skin cancer is one of the most common forms of cancer for youth between 15 and 29 years old and is mostly preventable.

For more information, click on Canadian Cancer Society’s election policy recommendations .

Click to view the Society's election policy recommendations social media release.

The Ipsos Reid poll was conducted between June 6 and 9th with an online sample size of 822 Ontarians aged 18+. The estimated margin of error is +/- 3.5 percentage points, 19 times out of 20.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société canadienne du cancer annonce des recommandations politiques et lance un appel à l’action à l’occasion des élections

20 juin 2011

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer fait appel au gouvernement de l’Ontario et à tous les partis politiques, si élus, pour qu’ils s’engagent à restreindre l’utilisation d’équipement de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans. Cette recommandation est incluse dans les recommandations politiques de la Société canadienne du cancer publiées aujourd’hui.

Toutes les trois minutes, un autre Canadien doit combattre le cancer. Avec l’aide de ses bénévoles, de son personnel et de ses donateurs, la Société canadienne du cancer travaille sans arrêt pour faire tout ce qu’elle peut pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer. Maintenant, la Société canadienne du cancer demande l’aide de tous les électeurs ontariens pour questionner leurs candidats provinciaux sur leur position relative au combat contre le cancer dans les trois domaines suivants, et ce, avant l’élection provinciale du 6 octobre :

  • Bronzage artificiel
  • carcinogènes environnementaux et professionnels
  • Accès aux médicaments anticancéreux

Ce n’est pas une question de politique mais plutôt une question de santé pour les Ontariens. Les partis politiques se sont déjà unis pour adopter des lois liées à la santé et c’est de nouveau le temps d’obtenir le soutien de tous les partis pour adopter certaines lois. Par exemple, une tendance croissante de règlement sur le bronzage artificiel s’établit d’un océan à l’autre au Canada, rattrapant tout juste beaucoup de normes européennes et américaines. La ville de Victoria en Colombie-Britannique et la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont adopté des lois. Des communautés comme Sarnia en Ontario deviennent avisées et ont récemment demandé à leur conseil municipal de passer à l’action.

Le 3 avril 2010, un projet de loi provincial bipartisan a été présenté pour protéger les jeunes contre le cancer de la peau en limitant le marketing et la vente de services de bronzage artificiel aux personnes de moins de 19 ans. Après sa présentation, le projet de loi 31 ne s’est pas rendu à la deuxième lecture et est disparu du programme législatif. « Les partis politiques doivent passer à l’action maintenant sur cette importante question de santé pour protéger les jeunes ontariens », dit Joanne Di Nardo, gestionnaire principale, questions d’intérêt public. « Nous faisons appel à tous les partis politiques pour qu’ils incluent un engagement à limiter le bronzage par les jeunes de moins de 18 ans ainsi que la publicité des entreprises de bronzage ciblant les jeunes. »

Un sondage Ipsos Reid effectué plus tôt ce mois-ci et demandé par la Société a démontré que :

  • 83 % des Ontariens appuient une interdiction de bronzage artificiel pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans
  • 77 % ont dit que l’on devrait empêcher les jeunes d’utiliser des lits de bronzage
  • 73 % des Ontariens interrogés ont dit que l’on ne peut pas se fier à l’industrie du bronzage artificiel pour se réglementer elle-même et qu’une loi gouvernementale est requise
  • 80 % des Ontariens appuient une loi pour réglementer l’industrie du bronzage

« Chaque jour, les jeunes de la province s’exposent intentionnellement à un cancérogène connu grâce à une industrie qui vend ses services aux jeunes », ajoute Joanne Di Nardo. « Il est important que le prochain gouvernement de l’Ontario passe à l’action pour protéger la santé de nos jeunes, et nous savons qu’une majorité d’Ontariens est d’accord. »

« Il n’existe aucun moyen de bronzer sans danger », dit la Dre Cheryl Rosen, chef de la dermatologie, Toronto Western Hospital. « Les gens devraient éviter le bronzage artificiel et en particulier pour les jeunes, il devrait être tout simplement interdit. »

« Il n’est pas acceptable que l’industrie du bronzage offre ses services aux jeunes », dit Jeffrey Gottheil, président et directeur de la création, J. Gottheil Marketing Communications Inc. et consultant auprès de la Société. « La publicité sur le bronzage pour les bals de finissants par exemple, s’adresse directement à la population de moins de 18 ans et ceci devrait être réglementé et contrôlé. »

L’équipement de bronzage artificiel peut émettre des rayons ultraviolets cinq fois plus puissants que ceux du soleil du midi l’été. En 2009, le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer a classifié l’équipement de bronzage comme étant un cancérogène connu, le plaçant ainsi dans la catégorie la plus élevée de risque de cancer.

Pourquoi les jeunes fréquentent-ils les salons de bronzage et sont-ils conscients des dangers de développer un cancer de la peau?

Rae Ann Teixeira, élève du secondaire âgée de 16 ans, dit qu’elle avait l’habitude de se faire bronzer mais que sa perspective a changée.

« Toutes mes amies le faisaient et je pensais que cela serait bien d’être bronzée pour ma graduation », dit-elle. « Mais c’est assez effrayant d’avoir le cancer de la peau que vous ne voulez pas augmenter votre risque. »

Le risque est réel, surtout pour les jeunes. Le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer a déterminé que l'utilisation d'équipement de bronzage artificiel avant 35 ans augmente jusqu’à 75 % le risque de développer un cancer de la peau. Le mélanome (type de cancer de la peau) est un des types de cancer les plus courants chez les jeunes entre 15 et 29 ans et il est souvent évitable.

Plus d’information sur les recommandations politiques de la Société canadienne du cancer à l’occasion des élections.

Le sondage Ipsos Reid a été mené entre les 6 et 9 juin auprès d’un échantillon en ligne de 822 Ontariens de 18 ans et plus. La marge d’erreur estimée est de +/- 3,5 points de pourcentage, 19 fois sur 20.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026