Canadian Cancer Society improves access to breast screening in the Northwest

06 May 2011


The Canadian Cancer Society has contributed funding to improve access to breast cancer screening in Northwest Ontario.

The Society's CEO recently presented a $100,000 cheque at the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre for the purchase of a mammography unit.

"I am pleased that through the generous support of donors and volunteers in the Northwest and across the province, we are helping to improve health service for women of First Nation communities and the Sioux Lookout area," said Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. "Better access to screening and early detection of breast cancer will save lives."

Breast screening has been available only through a mobile unit that toured communities in the Northwest and which women needed to travel great distances to reach.

Marnie Hoey, President, Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre Foundation, said she is gratified to know that the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre will be able to fulfill its commitment to the people of 29 First Nation communities and the Sioux Lookout area.

"The Foundation is very excited that the Canadian Cancer Society has made a most generous contribution to support the mammography program," said Hoey. "So many will benefit by expanding the breast cancer detection and treatment program."

When the First Nations agreed to the amalgamation of the two hospitals in Sioux Lookout, the aim was a "new hospital that will improve our health services", said Helen Cromarty, Special Advisor First Nations Health, Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.

"Access has always been and still is an issue for the people of the north," said Cromarty. "Mammography services at Meno Ya Win means bringing a service, accessible year-round and closer to home — an improvement to health services that will provide women, their families and their communities with a healthier future."

As someone who grew up in a small rural and remote community, Barb Linkewich, VP Health Services, Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre, said she knows first-hand the importance of access to timely screening and diagnosis.

"Not only is the partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society an important and exciting opportunity, it will make a remarkable difference in that many lives will be saved by early diagnosis and treatment," said Linkewich. "Women from the northern communities and Sioux Lookout will definitely benefit."

Read more: Saving more lives through screening

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

La Société canadienne du cancer améliore l’accès au dépistage du cancer du sein dans le Nord-Ouest

06 mai 2011

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer a contribué des fonds qui amélioreront l’accès au dépistage du cancer du sein dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario.

Le chef de la direction de la Société a récemment présenté un chèque de 100 000 $ au Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre pour l’achat d’un mammographe.

« Je suis heureux que nous puissions aider à améliorer les services de santé pour les femmes des communautés des Premières Nations et de la région de Sioux Lookout, et ce, grâce au généreux soutien des donateurs et des bénévoles dans le nord-ouest et partout dans la province », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Un meilleur accès au dépistage et à la détection précoce du cancer du sein sauvera des vies. »

Le dépistage du cancer du sein était disponible seulement grâce à une unité mobile qui visitait les communautés du nord-ouest et les femmes devaient voyager une grande distance pour y avoir accès.

Marnie Hoey, présidente, Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre Foundation, se dit satisfaite de savoir que le Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre sera en mesure de remplir son engagement envers le peuple des 29 communautés des Premières Nations et de la région de Sioux Lookout.

« La fondation est très excitée du fait que la Société canadienne du cancer ait fait cette généreuse contribution pour appuyer notre programme de mammographie », ajoute Mme Hoey. « Tellement de femmes bénéficieront de cet ajout au programme de dépistage et de traitement du cancer du sein. »

Lorsque les Premières Nations ont accepté l’amalgamation des deux hôpitaux de Sioux Lookout, l’objectif était de créer « un nouvel hôpital qui améliorera nos services de santé », dit Helen Cromarty, conseillère spéciale, Santé des Premières Nations, Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.

« L’accès a toujours été et est encore un problème pour les gens du nord », dit Mme Cromarty. « Les services de mammographie au centre Meno Ya Win permettront d’offrir un service accessible à l’année et plus près du domicile, ce qui représente une amélioration dans les services de santé qui offriront aux femmes, à leur famille et à leurs communautés un avenir plus en santé. »

Ayant grandi dans une communauté rurale éloignée, Barb Linkewich, vice-présidente des services de santé au Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre, dit connaître très bien l’importance de l’accès au dépistage et au diagnostic.

« Non seulement le partenariat avec la Société canadienne du cancer est-il une occasion importante et excitante, mais il fera une différence remarquable car beaucoup de vies seront épargnées grâce au dépistage précoce et au traitement », ajoute Mme Linkewich. « Les femmes des communautés du nord et de Sioux Lookout en bénéficieront nettement. »

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181