A A A

Moncton researchers receive funding for pancreatic cancer research

31 October 2014

New Brunswick -

The Canadian Cancer Society, in partnership with the New Brunswick Health Research Foundation and Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society, has announced a grant of $197,500 to support New Brunswick cancer research scientists exploring the development of a blood test to detect pancreatic cancer at an early stage.

“The survival rate for pancreatic cancer is only eight percent, so finding a way to detect it earlier could significantly improve outcomes for many patients,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “We’re extremely pleased to partner with Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society and the New Brunswick Health Research Foundation in funding this exciting research, led by Drs. Stephen Lewis, Rodney Ouellette and Anirban Ghosh."

Pancreatic cancer in the fourth most common cause of cancer death in Canada for males and females, and is largely considered an under-funded and hard-to-treat cancer. The Canadian Cancer Society is committed to doubling the five-year survival rates for pancreatic and other hard-to-treat cancers, including lung, ovarian, throat, brain and colorectal. Thanks to a recent partnership between the Canadian Cancer Society, Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society and now the New Brunswick Health Research Foundation, more than $1.4 million will be invested into pancreatic cancer research across Canada.

"The support of the New Brunswick Health Research Foundation for this nationally peer-reviewed research project aligns with one of the selected priorities of our five-year strategic plan, specifically, health research in oncology," pointed out CEO, Dr. Bruno Battistini. "We recognize that the fight against cancers, such as pancreatic, must be fought by joining forces with partners such as the Canadian Cancer Society and the Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society," he added.

Drs. Lewis, Ouellette and Ghosh and their research team based at the Atlantic Cancer Research Institute (ACRI) have developed a technique for capturing packets of information, called extracellular microvesicles, which are found in blood. They plan to identify clues (biomarkers) present in these microvesicles from patients that accurately indicate pancreatic cancer is present. This could lead to a new, easy way to detect pancreatic cancer early, especially for people at high risk for the disease. Their grant is funded through the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute’s Innovation Grants program, which supports unconventional concepts or approaches in cancer research.

“We are extremely pleased that this generous funding from the Canadian Cancer Society, the New Brunswick Health Research Foundation and Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society will allow us to apply our novel research tools and innovative ideas to the development of better detection and diagnostic techniques for pancreatic cancer in high-risk populations,” said Dr. Stephen Lewis, Assistant Scientific Director at ACRI. “The receipt of this funding demonstrates significant support for our efforts to develop the next generation of minimally-invasive tests for deadly cancers, like pancreatic cancer.”

Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society is a national charity whose aim is to increase awareness, education, support and research funding for pancreatic cancer. It raises money primarily through donations and signature events such as the Maritime Bike Tours, Pedal for the Pancreas and Provincial Pancreatic Awareness Walks, which take place from September through to November in five provinces, including Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, New Brunswick and Alberta. All funds raised from the walks will be matched by the Canadian Cancer Society and the QEII Foundation in Nova Scotia.

“Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society is thrilled to be working collaboratively with the Canadian Cancer Society,” said Stefanie Condon-Oldreive, founder of Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society. “Collaborations such as these will bring much-needed awareness, education and research funds to an underfunded cancer. Additionally, we need to extend these partnerships into communities across Canada, where grassroots events such as our Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Walks bring people together who have been touched by this devastating disease and offer hope and support. One hundred percent of donations raised through these walks will fund research, awareness, education and support throughout Canada.”

New Brunswick’s walk is scheduled for November 1, 2014 at the University of New Brunswick. The event begins at 9 a.m.

The Canadian Cancer Society funds the best cancer research in Canada thanks to our generous donors and our gold standard peer-review process. We are the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada, funding hundreds of researchers in universities, hospitals and research centres. Together we are discovering new ways to change cancer forever. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Phone: (506) 634-6040

Les chercheurs de Moncton reçoivent une subvention pour financer la recherche sur le cancer du pancréas

31 octobre 2014

Nouveau-Brunswick -

La Société canadienne du cancer, en partenariat avec la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick et la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society, a annoncé une subvention de 197 500 $ pour soutenir le travail de recherche de scientifiques du Nouveau-Brunswick sur la mise au point d’un test sanguin devant permettre de détecter le cancer du pancréas à un stade précoce.

« Le taux de survie du cancer du pancréas n’est que de 8 %, alors trouver une façon de le dépister plus tôt pourrait considérablement améliorer le sort de nombreux patients », affirme Anne McTiernan‑Gamble, chef de la direction à la Société canadienne du cancer Nouveau-Brunswick. « Nous sommes extrêmement heureux de collaborer avec la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society et la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick pour financer cette recherche passionnante, menée par les Drs Stephen Lewis, Rodney Ouellette et Anirban Ghosh. »

Le cancer du pancréas est la quatrième cause de décès par cancer au Canada, chez les hommes et les femmes, et on estime généralement que ce cancer est sous‑financé et difficile à traiter. La Société canadienne du cancer s’engage à doubler le taux de survie à cinq ans pour le cancer du pancréas et les autres cancers difficiles à traiter, comme les cancers du poumon, des ovaires, de la gorge, du cerveau et du côlon. Grâce à un récent partenariat entre la Société canadienne du cancer et la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society et maintenant la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick, plus de 1,4 million de dollars seront investis dans la recherche sur le cancer du pancréas au Canada.

« L’appui de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick pour ce projet de recherche d’évaluation par les pairs d’envergure nationale s’harmonise bien avec l’une des priorités de notre plan stratégique sur cinq ans, plus spécifiquement la recherche médicale en oncologie », fait remarquer le DBruno Battistini, chef de la direction. « Nous reconnaissons que pour lutter contre des cancers comme celui du pancréas, nous devons unir nos forces avec des partenaires comme la Société canadienne du cancer et la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society », ajoute‑t‑il.

Les Drs Lewis, Ouellette et Ghosh ainsi que leur équipe de recherche établie à l’Institut atlantique de recherche sur le cancer (IARC) ont développé une technique pour saisir des masses d’informations, appelées microvésicules extracellulaires, qui sont présentes dans le sang. Ils prévoient localiser des indices (biomarqueurs) dans ces microvésicules chez les patients souffrant du cancer du pancréas. Cette méthode pourrait mener à la découverte d’une nouvelle façon simple de détecter le cancer du pancréas de manière précoce, particulièrement chez les personnes à risque élevé. La subvention est financée grâce au programme de subventions pour l’innovation de l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer qui soutient des approches ou des concepts non conventionnels dans la recherche sur le cancer.

« Nous sommes extrêmement heureux de cette généreuse subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer, de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society qui nous permettra d’utiliser nos nouveaux outils de recherche et d’appliquer nos idées novatrices à l’élaboration de meilleures techniques de détection et de diagnostic du cancer du pancréas dans les populations à risque élevé, déclare le DStephen Lewis, directeur scientifique adjoint de l’ACRI. Cette subvention montre un intérêt important pour les efforts que nous déployons dans la mise au point de la nouvelle génération d’examens à effraction minimale pour les cancers mortels, comme le cancer du pancréas. »

La Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society est un organisme de bienfaisance national dont l’objectif est de sensibiliser la population et de favoriser l’éducation, le soutien et le financement de la recherche sur le cancer du pancréas. Elle recueille des fonds principalement grâce aux dons et aux événements phares tels que les marches et les rendez-vous cyclistes de sensibilisation, notamment le Maritime Bike Tour, le Pedal for the Pancreas et la Provincial Pancreatic Awareness Walk, qui se déroulent entre les mois de septembre et de novembre dans cinq provinces : la Nouvelle-Écosse, l’Île-du-Prince‑Édouard, Terre-Neuve, le Nouveau-Brunswick et l’Alberta. La Société canadienne du cancer et la QEII Foundation de la Nouvelle-Écosse verseront la même somme qui sera recueillie dans le cadre des marches de sensibilisation.

Stefanie Condon-Oldreive, fondatrice de la Craig’s Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society, indique que la Société est heureuse de collaborer avec la Société canadienne du cancer. « De telles collaborations  contribueront à recueillir l’argent nécessaire pour financer la sensibilisation, l’éducation et la recherche sur le cancer du pancréas, un cancer qui est largement sous-financé.  De plus, nous devons élargir  ces partenariats dans les communautés canadiennes, où des événements grand public comme nos marches de sensibilisation (Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Walks) rassemblent les gens qui ont été touchés par cette maladie dévastatrice et leur procurent un peu d’espoir et de soutien. Cent pour cent des sommes amassées grâce à ces marches serviront à financer la recherche, la sensibilisation, l’éducation et le soutien dans l’ensemble du Canada.  »

La marche du Nouveau-Brunswick se déroulera le 1er novembre 2014 à compter de 9 h à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Grâce à ses généreux donateurs et à son excellent processus de sélection, la Société canadienne du cancer subventionne les meilleures recherches au Canada. Nous sommes l’organisme de bienfaisance national qui investit le plus dans la recherche sur le cancer au Canada. Nous subventionnons le travail de centaines de chercheurs dans les universités, les hôpitaux et les centres de recherche. Ensemble, nous découvrons de nouvelles façons de sauver des vies. Pour plus d’informations, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1 888 939 3333 (ATS : 1 866 786‑3934).

Renseignements :

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Téléphone : (506) 634-6040