A A A

Tanning guidelines fail to protect youth

06 March 2012

New Brunswick -

The majority of tanning salons in New Brunswick are failing to adhere to guidelines established by the Department of Health.

 

According to the results of an evaluation carried out by the Department of Health last fall, more than half (55%) of the salons evaluated for the minimum age compliance would have allowed someone under the age of 18 to use their tanning beds, despite the age restriction required in the guidelines. In addition, 75% had failed to display all mandatory health warnings.

 

“These results are troubling,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “The industry is clearly failing to self-regulate. It is time for the Province of New Brunswick to step in and enact legislation to better protect our youth from the harmful effects of tanning beds.”

 

Key findings in the verification report:

  • 54% of the salons evaluated did not have a copy of the guidelines, as required.
  • Only 10% had a copy of the Health Canada guidelines pertaining to tanning bed use, as required.
  • Although 89% of the salons kept client records (as required by the guidelines), only 49% recorded the age of their clients ;only 48% recorded the skin type of their clients and only 42% demonstrated a signed consent form – all required components of the record.

 

In 2009, the World Health Organization classified UV-emitting devices, including commercial tanning beds, as known carcinogens. Furthermore, research done by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) revealed that being exposed to UV radiation from indoor tanning equipment before the age of 35 increases risk of melanoma. Indoor tanning devices can emit ultraviolet radiation at levels up to five times stronger than the midday summer sun.

 

“Melanoma skin cancer incidence rates in Canada continue to increase every year,” Ms. McTiernan-Gamble pointed out. In 2011, 5,600 Canadians were expected to be diagnosed with melanoma and about 950 were expected to die from the disease. In New Brunswick, there were an estimated 170 new cases of melanoma and an estimated 20 deaths.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Phone: (506) 634-6040

Les lignes directrices en matière de bronzage ne protègent pas les jeunes

06 mars 2012

Nouveau-Brunswick -

La plupart des salons de bronzage du Nouveau-Brunswick n’adhèrent pas aux lignes directrices définies par le ministère de la Santé.

 

Les résultats d’une évaluation menée l’automne dernier par le ministère de la Santé indiquent que plus de la moitié (55 %) des salons évalués relativement à la conformité à l’âge minimum auraient permis à des personnes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser leurs lits de bronzage, malgré l’interdiction touchant les moins de 18 ans énoncée dans les lignes directrices. En outre, 75 % avaient omis d’afficher les mises en garde obligatoires pour la santé.

 

« Ces résultats sont troublants, d’affirmer Anne McTiernan, la PDG de la Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick. L’industrie néglige clairement de s’autoréglementer. Il est temps que la province du Nouveau-Brunswick intervienne et adopte des mesures législatives afin de mieux protéger les jeunes contre les effets nocifs des lits de bronzage. »

 

Principaux résultats contenus dans le rapport de vérification :

 

  • 54 % des salons évalués ne possédaient pas d’exemplaire des lignes directrices, tel qu’il est requis.
  • Seulement 10 % avaient un exemplaire des lignes directrices de Santé Canada touchant l’utilisation des lits de bronzages, tel qu’il est requis.
  • Bien que 89 % des salons conservaient des dossiers sur les clients (tel qu’il est requis par les lignes directrices), seulement 49 % notaient l’âge de leurs clients, seulement 48 % inscrivaient leur type de peau et seulement 42 % ont présenté un formulaire de consentement signé – ces éléments devant tous figurer aux dossiers.

 

En 2009, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé a classé les dispositifs émettant des rayons UV, dont les lits de bronzage commerciaux, comme carcinogènes connus. Qui plus est, les études menées par le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer ont révélé que l’exposition aux rayons UV provenant des appareils de bronzage artificiel avant l’âge de 35 ans augmente le risque de mélanome (cancer de la peau). Ces dispositifs peuvent émettre un rayonnement ultraviolet jusqu’à cinq fois plus puissant que le soleil estival de mi-journée.

 

« Au Canada, les taux d’incidence du mélanome continuent à croître chaque année, » de préciser Mme McTiernan-Gamble. En 2011, on prévoyait que 5 600 Canadiens recevraient un diagnostic de mélanome et qu’environ 950 y succomberaient. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, on a relevé près de 170 nouveaux cas de la maladie et environ 20 décès.