Catastrophic Drug Coverage

05 May 2011

Fredericton -

A Saint John man who has struggled for years to pay for medications to treat a form of arthritis known as Ankylosing Spondylitis presented his petition in the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick today calling upon the provincial government to implement a catastrophic drug program for New Brunswick.

Terry Crowe helped gather nearly 8,300 signatures in support of a catastrophic drug program. A Corporate Research Associates poll conducted in 2009 also clearly indicates that New Brunswickers are behind this issue (76%).

Mr. Crowe presented the petition along with members of the New Brunswick Catastrophic Drug Stakeholders’ Group, which has been calling on the New Brunswick government to follow through on its commitment to establish a provincial catastrophic drug program. Such a program would help New Brunswickers pay for medications they need but cannot afford. New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island are the only two provinces in Canada that do not have catastrophic drug programs.

“The New Brunswick Catastrophic Drug Stakeholders Group will continue to work to ensure the provincial government follows through on its commitment to implement a catastrophic drug program for New Brunswick,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “This will protect all New Brunswickers from the high costs of medications needed to treat serious illnesses.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

A A A

Couverture des médicaments onéreux

05 mai 2011

Fredericton -

Aujourd’hui, un résident de Saint-Jean aux prises depuis des années avec le coût des médicaments nécessaires au traitement d’une forme d’arthrite connue sous le nom de spondylarthrite ankylosante a présenté sa pétition à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, demandant au gouvernement provincial d’instaurer un programme de médicaments onéreux pour les Néobrunswickois.

Terry Crowe a aidé à recueillir près de 8 300 signatures pour un programme de médicaments onéreux. Par ailleurs, un sondage mené en 2009 par la Corporate Research Associates montre nettement que les Néobrunswickois tirent de l’arrière à cet égard (76 %).

M. Crowe a présenté sa pétition de concert avec des membres du groupe d’intervenants en matière de médicaments onéreux du Nouveau-Brunswick, qui demande au gouvernement néobrunswickois de respecter sa promesse de mettre en œuvre un programme provincial de médicaments onéreux. Ce type de programme aiderait les résidents à se procurer les médicaments dont ils ont besoin, mais dont ils n’ont pas les moyens. Le Nouveau-Brunswick et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard sont les deux seules provinces canadiennes qui sont dépourvues de tout programme de médicaments onéreux.

« Le groupe d’intervenants en matière de médicaments onéreux du Nouveau-Brunswick poursuivra ses démarches afin de s’assurer que le gouvernement provincial honore sa promesse de mettre en œuvre un programme de médicaments onéreux à l’intention des Néobrunswickois, a déclaré Anne McTiernan-Gamble, la chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick. Cela protégera tous les résidents du prix exorbitant des médicaments nécessaires au traitement des maladies graves. »

Renseignements :

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Téléphone : (506) 634-6040