A A A

Canadian Cancer Society research chairs

11 October 2011

Moncton -

The Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick, in partnership with the University of New Brunswick, the Université de Moncton and the Atlantic Cancer Research Institute, introduced two new Canadian Cancer Society research chairs today.

 

“The Canadian Cancer Society has a long history of funding cancer research in Canada and we are very excited by the promise of Dr. Reiman’s and Dr. Turcotte’s contribution in the fight against cancer,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “Our investment, made possible by donors and volunteers, is a significant part of the momentum advancing cancer research in this province.”

 

Dr. Anthony Reiman has been named as the Canadian Cancer Society Research Chair at the University of New Brunswick, while Dr. Sandra Turcotte will serve as the Canadian Cancer Society Research Chair at the Université de Moncton. Dr. Turcotte’s research will focus on kidney cancer. “The Canadian Cancer Society research chair is a wonderful opportunity to expand my research and develop more effective therapies for advanced or metastatic renal cell carcinoma,” Dr. Turcotte explained. “It is also an opportunity to work in collaboration with a team of experienced researchers.”

 

As a practising oncologist and researcher, Dr. Reiman’s focus will be patient-centred. “My research revolves around the people I see every day who have been diagnosed with cancer,” Dr. Reiman said. “My goal is to help researchers, clinicians and cancer survivors across this province come together to be part of the solution to better manage the burden of this disease.”

 

The establishment of the Canadian Cancer Society research chairs represents a 14-year commitment by the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick totaling $3.1 million. This investment will help to leverage additional funds from other institutions, further enhancing the cancer research capacity in New Brunswick.

 

“The opportunity to work with these research chairs is tremendous and we are very pleased to welcome them both to our team,” said Dr. Rodney Ouellette, President and Scientific Director of the Atlantic Cancer Research Institute. “These types of collaborations are key to enable discoveries that translate into solutions for cancer patients.”

 

“The establishment of these research chairs represents additional resources in the health field, which is one of our major development priorities,” said Yvon Fontaine, President and Vice-Chancellor of the Université de Moncton.

 

"We're thrilled to have the opportunity to partner with other institutions across the province to enhance cancer research," said Dr. Eddy Campbell, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick. "This is extremely important research that will have an impact on our communities here at home and I thank the Canadian Cancer Society for their support and for launching this initiative.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Phone: (506) 634-6040

Les chaires de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer

11 octobre 2011

Moncton -

Aujourd’hui, la Société canadienne du cancer Nouveau-Brunswick, a annoncé deux nouvelles chaires de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer, de concert avec l’Institut atlantique de recherche sur le cancer, l’Université de Moncton et l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

 

« La Société canadienne du cancer jouit d’une solide tradition de financement de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada, et c’est avec enthousiasme que nous envisageons l’apport des Drs Reiman et Turcotte à la lutte contre le cancer, a déclaré Anne McTiernan-Gamble, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer Nouveau-Brunswick. Notre investissement, attribuable aux donateurs et aux bénévoles, représente un appui considérable à l’essor de la recherche dans ce domaine dans la province. »

 

Le Dr Reiman a été nommé titulaire de la chaire de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, alors que la Dre Sandra Turcotte occupera la chaire de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer à l’Université de Moncton. La Dre Turcotte centrera ses travaux sur le cancer du rein. « La chaire de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer est une merveilleuse occasion d’élargir ma recherche et de concevoir des traitements plus efficaces contre l'adénocarcinome rénal métastatique ou à un stade avancé, explique-t-elle. Il s’agit également d’une possibilité de collaborer avec une équipe de chercheurs expérimentés. »

 

En tant qu’oncologue-praticien et chercheur, le Dr Reiman axera ses travaux sur les patients. « Mes recherches concernent les personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer, que je rencontre tous les jours, dit-il. J’entends aider les chercheurs, les cliniciens et les survivants du cancer aux quatre coins de la province à se rassembler et faire partie de la solution en vue d’une gestion améliorée du fardeau de cette maladie. »

 

La fondation des chaires de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer constitue un engagement sur 14 ans de la part de la Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick, totalisant 3,1 millions de dollars. Cette initiative aura un effet multiplicateur sur les fonds supplémentaires provenant d’autres établissements, favorisant le potentiel de recherche sur la maladie au Nouveau-Brunswick.

 

« L’opportunité de travailler avec ces chercheurs est extraordinaire et nous sommes ravis de les accueillir dans notre équipe, déclare Dr Rodney Ouellette, président et directeur scientifique de l’Institut atlantique de recherche sur le cancer. Ce genre de collaboration est primordial pour faciliter des découvertes qui se traduisent en solutions pour les patients atteints de cancer. »

 

« La création de ces chaires de recherche implique des ressources supplémentaires pour le domaine de la santé, une de nos grandes priorités en matière de développement, d’ajouter Yvon Fontaine, recteur et vice-chancelier de l’Université de Moncton. »

 

« La perspective de collaborer avec d’autres établissements partout dans la province pour l’avancement de la recherche sur le cancer nous réjouit, affirme le Dr Eddy Campbell, président et vice-chancelier de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il s’agit de travaux d’une importance capitale qui auront une incidence sur nos communautés, ici, et je remercie la Société canadienne du cancer pour son appui et le lancement de cette initiative. »