Society Welcomes Action on Roll-Your-Own Tobacco Tax Increase, Announced in Today’s Federal Budget

22 March 2013

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society applauds the federal government for introducing a tax increase on roll-your-own tobacco in today’s federal budget. The increase addresses a longstanding loophole.

 “We welcome this increase because higher tobacco taxes are the most effective way to reduce tobacco use among Canadians, especially for young people who will be less likely to buy higher priced tobacco products,” says Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst, Canadian Cancer Society. “This budget measure will mean that fewer Canadians will smoke, which will mean fewer Canadians will die from tobacco-related cancers.”

Effective March 22, the rate of excise duty on roll-your-own tobacco and other types of manufactured tobacco will increase to $5.31 per 50 grams from $2.89 per 50 grams.  This will address a loophole where the tax rate for these types of tobacco products has been much less than for cigarettes.

Tobacco use is the number one cause of preventable disease and death in Canada causing 37,000 Canadian deaths each year. Smoking causes about 30% of cancer deaths in Canada and about 85% of lung cancer cases.

For 75 years the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website at www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333;TTY,1-866-786-3934.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Rosie Hales

Communications Specialist

Canadian Cancer Society

National office

Phone: 416 934-5338

La Société canadienne du cancer accueille favorablement l’élimination de l’échappatoire fiscale relative au tabac à rouler dans le budget fédéral déposé aujourd’hui

22 mars 2013

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer félicite le gouvernement fédéral pour l’annonce de l’augmentation de la taxe sur le tabac à rouler dans le cadre du budget fédéral présenté aujourd’hui. Cette hausse élimine une échappatoire fiscale de longue date.

 « Nous sommes favorables à cette augmentation parce que le fait d’accroître les taxes sur le tabac constitue la façon la plus efficace de réduire le tabagisme parmi les Canadiens, et particulièrement chez les jeunes, qui seront moins enclins à acheter des produits du tabac à des prix plus élevés », a affirmé Rob Cunningham, analyste principal des politiques, Société canadienne du cancer. « Cette mesure budgétaire signifie que moins de Canadiens feront usage du tabac et que moins de Canadiens décèderont de cancers liés au tabagisme. »

À compter du 22 mars, les droits d’accise sur le tabac à rouler et sur les autres types de tabac fabriqué passeront à 5,31 $ par 50 grammes, comparativement à 2,89 $ par 50 grammes auparavant. Cette initiative éliminera une échappatoire fiscale qui faisait en sorte que la taxe de vente sur ces types de produits du tabac était beaucoup moins élevée que celle sur les cigarettes.

Le tabagisme représente la principale cause de décès et de maladies évitables au Canada. Il tue plus de 37 000 Canadiens chaque année. Le tabagisme cause environ 30 % des décès liés au cancer au Canada, et près de 85 % des cas de cancer du poumon.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Nous nous sommes employés sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les Canadiens touchés par le cancer. Nous continuerons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu'ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, veuillez consulter notre site Web à l'adresse www.cancer.ca ou téléphonez à notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333 (ATS : 1-866-786‑3934).

Renseignements :

Rosie Hales

Spécialiste des communications

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5338