Media backgrounder: The Canadian Cancer Society fights tobacco

09 May 2012

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society is a leader in the fight against tobacco, and our collective efforts across Canada are making a difference.

Advocacy

As a leader of tobacco control advocacy in Canada, the Canadian Cancer Society has helped to change public attitudes and government policy towards tobacco. Most recently:

  • Our efforts contributed to a new set of larger graphic health warnings covering 75% of the front and back of cigarette and cigarillo (little cigar) packages.
  • We supported the implementation of Bill C-32 barring retailers from selling fruit- and candy-flavoured cigarillos, cigarettes and blunt wraps (rolling papers made of tobacco), which are very appealing to youth.
  • We participated as an intervenor in a Supreme Court of Canada hearing on federal tobacco legislation. Along with the federal government and six provinces, the Society argued in support of the constitutional validity of the federal Tobacco Act restricting tobacco advertising, banning tobacco sponsorship and requiring large warnings on cigarette packages. The legislation was being challenged by three major tobacco manufacturers but was ultimately upheld by the Supreme Court.
  • We have advocated for many other tobacco control measures, including

o higher tobacco taxes

o smoke-free workplaces, public places and vehicles carrying children

o enhanced government programming initiatives

These initiatives, along with our continuing efforts, will reduce tobacco use in Canada and save lives.

 

Programs and support

Smokers’ Helpline:The Canadian Cancer Society operates Smokers’ Helpline – a free, confidential telephone support service for smokers trying to quit, for those who are thinking about quitting and the people who support them. Trained quit coaches can help smokers develop a personalized quit plan, answer questions about quitting and refer callers to programs and services in their community. This is also available online at smokershelpline.ca. In Quebec, the telephone support service is known as the Ligne j’Arrête and is available online at jarrete.qc.ca

Online support: The Society recently launched a new digital campaign including a website and mobile apps for smoking cessation called Break If Off (breakitoff.ca).Led by Smokers’ Helpline, the campaign aims to help young adults quit. Smoking rates among young adults aged 20–24 remain well above the Canadian average.

Helping smokers quit:The Society is doing everything it can to empower, inform and support Canadians. That’s why we offer an innovative step-by-step, self-help quit program – One Step at a Time. Developed with input from smokers who have successfully quit, these brochures are an excellent resource for smokers and those who care about them.

Research

Every year, the Society funds research that leads to a better understanding of lung cancer as well as ways to control tobacco use. For example:

  • a molecular study to discover how lung cancer cells become aggressive and to find ways to prevent and treat the spread of lung cancer to other parts of the body
  • a study investigating the roles that three genes play in lung cancer and how to disrupt their function as a possible way to stop the development of lung tumours
  • a prevention study to evaluate tobacco control policies in several Asian, South Asian and African countries, which will gather information to be used in the development of effective population-based approaches aimed at reducing smoking rates
  • a study of vigorous‑intensity exercise as an adjunct to nicotine replacement therapy to facilitate smoking cessation, improve physical fitness and delay weight gain in women who smoke
  • several studies to test the effectiveness of social media interventions to help people quit smoking

In 2012, the Canadian Cancer Society is investing $4 million in lung cancer and tobacco-related research projects.

Information

We provide Canadians with up-to-date, comprehensive information about tobacco, smoking, lung cancer prevention and treatment. We supply this information through print material, our website and our Cancer Information Service.

Find out more

To find out more about the Society’s services, call the Society’s Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012 is prepared, printed and distributed through a collaboration of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada and provincial and territorial cancer registries.

For more information about Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012, visit the Society’s website at cancer.ca/statistics

Release: Canadian cancer death rate down

Backgrounder: General cancer statistics

Backgrounder: Facts on tobacco

 

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Christine Harminc

Senior Manager, Communications & Media Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 416 934-5340

Fiche d’information médias : La Société canadienne du cancer lutte contre le tabagisme

09 mai 2012

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est un chef de file dans le domaine de la lutte contre le tabagisme. En travaillant ensemble, nous faisons véritablement avancer les choses.

Action revendicatrice

En sa qualité de figure de proue de la lutte antitabac au Canada, la Société canadienne du cancer a contribué à un changement d’attitude dans la population et a eu une influence sur l’action des pouvoirs publics dans le dossier du tabac. Ainsi, tout récemment :

  • Grâce à nos démarches, des mises en garde illustrées de plus grande taille occuperont désormais 75 % de l’espace avant et arrière des paquets de cigarettes et de cigarillos (petits cigares).
  • Nous avons appuyé l’entrée en vigueur de la loi C‑32 interdisant aux détaillants de vendre des cigarillos, des cigarettes et des feuilles d’enveloppe (feuilles de tabac servant à rouler des cigarettes) aromatisés aux fruits ou aux bonbons, très prisés des jeunes.
  • Nous avons comparu devant la Cour suprême du Canada à l’occasion d’une audience portant sur la législation fédérale des produits du tabac. Avec le gouvernement fédéral et six provinces, la Société a plaidé en faveur de la validité constitutionnelle de la Loi sur le tabac, qui restreint la publicité sur le tabac, interdit les commandites des fabricants de tabac et exige que des mises en garde de grande dimension soient apposées sur les paquets de cigarettes. La loi était contestée par les trois principaux fabricants de produits du tabac, mais la Cour suprême en a confirmé la validité.
  • Nous avons par ailleurs fait valoir la pertinence de nombreuses autres mesures de lutte contre le tabagisme, notamment :
    • l’augmentation des taxes sur le tabac;
    • les interdictions de fumer au travail, dans les endroits publics et dans des véhicules transportant des enfants;
    • les programmes gouvernementaux, sur lesquels il faudrait miser davantage.

En faisant reculer le tabagisme au Canada, ces initiatives, et les autres auxquelles nous continuons de travailler, sauveront des vies.

Programmes et services de soutien

Téléassistance pour fumeurs– La Société canadienne du cancer offre un service de soutien téléphonique gratuit et confidentiel à tous les fumeurs qui tentent d’arrêter de fumer ou songent à le faire, et à ceux qui les soutiennent. Des intervenants dûment formés peuvent aider les fumeurs à élaborer un plan de cessation tabagique personnalisé, répondre à leurs questions et les diriger vers divers programmes et services offerts dans leur région. Ce service est également disponible sur le Web à l’adresse teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca. Au Québec, on peut accéder à la ligne j’Arrête par téléphone ou en ligne, à jarrete.qc.ca.

Soutien en ligne : Récemment, la Société a mis sur pied une nouvelle campagne numérique intitulée Break If Off (breakitoff.ca); pour l’instant en anglais seulement, elle comprend un site Web et des applications mobiles pour aider ceux qui veulent arrêter de fumer.Orchestrée par Téléassistance pour fumeurs, la campagne a pour objet d’aider les jeunes adultes à cesser de fumer. Le taux de tabagisme chez les jeunes de 20 à 24 ans demeure bien supérieur à la moyenne canadienne.

Aide aux personnes désirant cesser de fumer : La Société travaille sans relâche afin d’outiller, d’informer et de soutenir les Canadiens. C’est pourquoi nous offrons un programme d’abandon progressif du tabac innovateur intitulé Une étape à la fois. Conçues avec la collaboration de personnes ayant réussi à cesser de fumer, les brochures de ce programme constituent une excellente ressource pour les fumeurs et les personnes de leur entourage.

Recherche

Chaque année, la Société finance des études qui permettent de mieux comprendre le cancer du poumon et de déterminer les méthodes de lutte contre le tabagisme les plus efficaces. Voici quelques exemples de ces travaux :

  • étude moléculaire visant à comprendre comment les cellules pulmonaires cancéreuses gagnent en agressivité et à trouver des moyens de prévenir et de traiter la migration du cancer du poumon vers d’autres organes;
  • étude sur le rôle de trois gènes dans le cancer du poumon et sur les façons d’en perturber le fonctionnement en vue de stopper la croissance des tumeurs pulmonaires;
  • étude sur la prévention visant à recueillir de l’information sur les politiques de lutte contre le tabagisme dans plusieurs pays d’Asie, d’Asie du Sud et d’Afrique, données qui serviront à l’élaboration de stratégies populationnelles efficaces pour la réduction des taux de tabagisme;
  • étude sur l’efficacité de l’activité physique intense ajoutée à une thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine pour faciliter la cessation tabagique, améliorer la forme physique et retarder le gain pondéral chez les fumeuses;
  • plusieurs études sur l’efficacité des interventions dans les médias sociaux pour aider les gens à arrêter de fumer.

 

En 2012, la Société canadienne du cancer investit 4 millions de dollars dans des études sur le cancer du poumon et la recherche sur le tabac.

Information

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit aux Canadiens de l’information exhaustive et à jour sur le tabac, le tabagisme, la prévention et le traitement du cancer du poumon grâce à des brochures, son site Web et son Service d’information sur le cancer.

Pour plus de renseignements

Pour en savoir davantage sur les services de la Société, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939‑3333 ou visitez cancer.ca

Baisse du taux de mortalité par cancer au Canada

Fiche d’information médias : Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012

Fiche d’information médias : les faits sur le tabagisme

Renseignements :

Christine Harminc

Senior Manager, Communications & Media Relations

Société canadienne du cancer, Bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5340