Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Privacy policy

At the Canadian Cancer Society (the “Society”), we recognize the importance of privacy and are committed to maintaining the accuracy, confidentiality, and security of your personal information. This privacy policy describes the personal information that the Society collects, how we manage that information and the circumstances under which we may disclose that information.

The Society’s privacy policy is based upon the Canadian Centre for Philanthropy’s Ethical Fundraising and Financial Accountability Code, the Canadian Standards Association’s Model Code for the Protection of Personal Information as well as the requirements of applicable privacy legislation. As this policy is subject to change due to legal and regulatory requirements, we encourage you to periodically check our website or call our Privacy Office at 1 800 268-8874, ext. 2257 for updates to this policy.

  • What is personal information?

    Personal information is any information about an identifiable individual, other than an individual’s business title or business contact information. Personal information (e.g. name, address, age, credit card information, banking information) does not include information that cannot be associated with or tracked back to a specific individual. Information that is publicly available, such as a telephone directory listing, is also not considered to be personal information.

  • What information does the Society collect?
    1) Personally identifying information

    The Society only collects personally identifying information about donors, clients, volunteers and event participants for fundraising, public education and advocacy purposes, program and service delivery, as well as to establish, maintain and manage our relationship with you.

    Your provision of personal information to the Society means that you agree and consent that we may collect, use and disclose your personal information in accordance with this privacy policy. If you do not agree with these terms, please do not provide any personal information to the Society. Failure to provide your personal information to the Society may prevent us from offering you the services and/or programs you have requested. We will discuss the impacts of withdrawal of consent with you at that time.

    The information the Society collects is the minimum amount we need to establish and maintain a service, volunteer, participant, donor or program relationship with you. This includes but is not limited to:

    • contact and identification information, such as your name, address, telephone number and e-mail address
    • donation information such as date of gift, amount of gift, the campaign you contributed to, name of spouse or partner if it was a joint gift
    • financial information such as your payment methods and preferences, billing and banking information (credit card number and expiry date or chequing account transit numbers, in order to process your donation); for online financial transactions such as donations and event registrations, we process standard credit card information (card number, card type and expiration date) via a secure, 128-bit encrypted Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. SSL is the proven standard for secure web transactions.

    We may be required by law to collect certain information about you. For example, some of the information the Society collects is needed in order to satisfy the requirements of the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) (e.g. processing income tax receipts).

    The Society generally collects your personal information directly from you and only with your consent. However, if the individual who has a relationship with the Society is a minor, information may be collected from a parent or legal guardian. In general, the Society will not collect or use personal information about you from a third party without your consent. The Society will usually obtain your consent at the time that we collect your personal information. If your personal information will be used or disclosed for any additional purposes that are not outlined in this policy, the Society will advise you of these new purposes before such use or disclosure.

    (2) Website practices on cancer.ca

    Usage tracking

    Our websites may automatically record some general information about your visit using Google Analytics which we use for statistical analysis to help make sure our sites are more useful to visitors and make the most efficient use of donor dollars in our marketing efforts through targeted advertising.  This information does not allow us to identify you individually. This information might include the:

    • Internet domain for your Internet service provider, such as “company.com” or “service.ca” and the IP address of the computer accessing the website, such as “ppp-55”;
    • Type of browser you are using, such as Internet Explorer or Chrome;
    • Type of operating system you are using such as Windows or Macintosh;
    • Date and time of the visit to our site,  the pages of our site that were visited, and the address of the previous website you were visiting if you linked to us from another website
    • Age category, gender, and affinity interests as determined by Google Analytics Demographic and Interest reports

    If you wish, you may opt out of being tracked by Google Analytics by disabling or refusing the cookies; by disabling JavaScript within your browser; or by using the Google Analytics Opt-Out Browser Add-On.

    Data collected for Web analytics purposes goes outside of Canada to Google servers and may be processed in any country where Google operates servers. Data may be subject to the governing legislation of that country. For further information about Google Analytics, please refer to the Google Analytics terms of service.

    Cookies

    We also use "cookies" that identify you as a return visitor and which can help us tailor information to suit your individual preferences. A cookie is a piece of data that a website can send to your browser, which may then store the cookie on your hard drive. The goal is to save you time and provide you with a more meaningful visit and to measure website activity. Cookies do not contain any personally identifying information. Many browsers, however, allow you to disable cookie collection if you wish, or inform you when a cookie is being stored on your hard drive.

    Targetedadvertising

    As you interact with Canadian Cancer Society websites, third party advertising partners may use cookies that we place on your computer, tracking pixels, web beacons and similar technologies to identify you as a visitor to our websites, and present you with targeted ads to help us promote the Society. You can opt-out of the use of your information for select ad targeting by visiting this site: http://youradchoices.ca/choices, and also by setting up “Do Not Track” options available through your browser. We also occasionally provide your personal information to trusted advertising partners for the purpose of presenting you with targeted ads on behalf of the Society. You can request that your personal information not be shared with our advertising partners by contacting privacy@ontario.cancer.ca

    Online transactions

    We protect the security of your transactions on our website by using SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) web server certificates that offer secure communications by encrypting all data going to and from the Canadian Cancer Society websites.

    External Links

    This policy discloses the privacy practices for our websites.   The Society provides links to other websites which the Society believes may be of interest to you. As the Society has no control over the content of any of these websites, these links may be updated or deleted as the Society deems appropriate.

    Please be aware that the Society is not responsible for the privacy practices of other websites that we link to. We encourage you to read the privacy statements of each and every website that requests personal information from you.

    Third-Party Social Media

    The Canadian Cancer Society’s use of social media serves as an extension of its presence on the internet. Social media account(s) are public and are not hosted on Canadian Cancer Society servers. Users who choose to interact with the Canadian Cancer Society via social media should read the terms of service and privacy policies of these third-party service providers and those of any applications used to access them.

  • How does the Society use your personal information?

    As explained above, the Society uses your personal information, to process donations, to respond to your requests for services and information, to keep you informed about Society activities, and for fundraising. For example, if you have expressed an interest in participating in a fundraising event, such as Relay for Life, we may send you information about other opportunities to support or participate in the Society’s activities.

    The Society makes every attempt to use anonymous or aggregate information whenever possible. We may also use information that doesn’t personally identify you in the following ways:

    • to assist in the development of new programs, events, and services
    • to provide donation recipients with summary or aggregate information about our donations, programs and services
    • for internal research purposes
    • to develop advertising based on donor preferences
  • When does the Society disclose your personal information?

    The Society shares your personal information only with employees and/or volunteers who require such information to establish, manage and maintain our relationship with you. We may also disclose your personal information to third party service providers whom we engage to fundraise, process your donation, deliver a support service, support your volunteer activities,  or answer your inquiry. These third party providers only have access to personal information that is needed to perform their services and may not use it for any other purpose. They are bound by agreements that obligate them to protect your personal information. Note that in working with our service providers, your personal information may be accessible in, or transferred to, a foreign jurisdiction. Such information may be provided to law enforcement or national security authorities of that jurisdiction in order to comply with foreign laws.

    There are circumstances where the use and/or disclosure of personal information is justified or permitted without consent. These circumstances may include:

    • where required by law or by order or requirement of a court, administrative agency or other governmental tribunal
    • where the Society believes, upon reasonable grounds, that it is necessary to protect the rights, privacy, safety or property of an identifiable person or group
    • where the information is public

    Fundraising helps to ensure the on-going stability and quality of the services and programs the Society provides to individuals living with cancer. As part of our fundraising initiatives, we may exchange donor information with other registered charities. If you do not wish the Society to trade your name in this manner, or if you do not want to receive any marketing or fundraising materials from the Society, you can contact our Privacy Office at privacy@ontario.cancer.ca, at 1 800 268-8874 extension 2257, or write us at Privacy Office, Canadian Cancer Society – Ontario Division, 55 St. Clair Avenue West, Suite 500, Toronto, Ontario M4V 2Y7. Please allow up to 12 weeks for your request to be processed, as campaigns may already be in progress.

  • Accuracy of information

    The Society aims to ensure that any personal information provided is accurate, complete and current as required for the purposes for which the information is used.

  • Safeguarding your personal information

    The Society takes reasonable measures to ensure that personal information is kept safe from loss or theft, unauthorized access, use, copying, disclosure or modification. Safeguards include physical, organizational and technical measures, including but not limited to:

    • Security card access to premises
    • Restriction of access to files on a “need to know” basis;
    • Confidentiality undertakings by all employees;
    • Locking up personal information and never leaving it unattended and in plain view;
    • Firewalls, anti-virus, strong passwords and software solutions for technical security; and
    • Regular reviews of privacy compliance initiatives.

    The Society trains all staff on privacy best practices and ensures that employees are aware of the importance of safeguarding any personal information that they are privy to.

  • Retention of personal information

    The Society keeps personal information only as long as it is required for the reasons it was collected. The length of time we retain information varies, depending on the program, service or event and the nature of the information, for example we keep financial information for 6 years, in accordance with CRA rules and regulations. The retention period may extend beyond your relationship with us. When your personal information is no longer required for Society purposes, the information is either physically destroyed or deleted.

  • Inquiries and requests for access

    If you have any questions about this privacy policy, or would like to access your personal information, please contact our Privacy Officer. Please note that as we cannot guarantee the security of Internet mail, all formal requests to access personal information should be made in writing.

    Privacy Officer

    Canadian Cancer Society – Ontario Division

    55 St. Clair Avenue West, Suite 500

    Toronto, Ontario

    M4V 2Y7

    Telephone: (416) 488-5402; extension 2257

    Toll free: 1 800 268-8874; extension 2257

    Fax: (416) 488-2872

    E-mail: privacy@ontario.cancer.ca

    Please note that a fee may apply in processing access requests depending on the type and volume of information requested.

Learn more about the terms and conditions of our mobile giving program.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Dr Mohammad Akbari Dr Mohammad Akbari pinpointed a new breast cancer susceptibility gene.

Learn more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Notre politique de confidentialité

À la Société canadienne du cancer (la « Société »), nous reconnaissons l’importance de la protection de la vie privée et nous nous sommes engagés à maintenir l’exactitude, la confidentialité et la sécurité de vos renseignements personnels. Cette politique sur la protection de la vie privée décrit le type de renseignements personnels obtenus par la Société, la façon dont nous gérons ces renseignements et les situations dans lesquelles nous pourrions divulguer ces renseignements.

La politique de protection de la vie privée de la Société est fondée sur le Code d’éthique relatif à la collecte de fonds et à la responsabilité financière, sur le Code type sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Association canadienne de normalisation ainsi que sur les exigences de la loi sur la protection de la vie privée applicable. Étant donné que cette politique pourrait changer en raison des exigences légales et réglementaires, nous vous encourageons à visitez périodiquement notre site Web ou à communiquer avec notre bureau de la protection de la vie privée au 1 800 268-8874, poste 2257 pour obtenir les mises à jour de cette politique.

  • Qu’est-ce qu’un renseignement personnel?

    Un renseignement personnel est tout renseignement concernant un individu identifiable, à l'exclusion du titre d'un employé d'une entreprise ou de l'adresse et numéro de téléphone de l'entreprise. Un renseignement personnel (p. ex. nom, adresse, âge, carte de crédit, renseignement bancaire) n’inclut pas un renseignement qui ne peut pas être associé à un individu précis ou retracé vers un individu. De même, un renseignement disponible dans le public, comme la liste d’un annuaire téléphonique, n’est pas considéré comme étant un renseignement personnel.

  • Quel type de renseignement la Société recueille-t-elle?

    Renseignement personnel identifiant
    La Société recueille seulement les renseignements personnels identifiant sur les donateurs, les clients, les bénévoles et les participants à une activité de financement, à des fins d’éducation du public et de défense de l’intérêt public, de prestation de programmes et de services ainsi que pour établir, maintenir et gérer notre relation avec vous.

    Le fait de fournir des renseignements personnels à la Société signifie que vous acceptez et consentez à ce que nous recueillions, utilisions et divulguions vos renseignements personnels conformément à cette politique sur la protection de la vie privée. Si vous n’acceptez pas ces conditions, prière de ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels à la Société. Cependant, le fait de ne pas fournir vos renseignements personnels à la Société pourrait nous empêcher de vous offrir les services et/ou programmes demandés. Nous discuterons avec vous de l’impact du retrait du consentement s’il y a lieu.

    Les renseignements recueillis par la Société représentent le minimum requis pour établir et maintenir un service, une relation de bénévole, de participant, de donateur ou de programme avec vous. Ceci comprend :

    • les coordonnées comme votre nom, votre adresse, votre numéro de téléphone et votre adresse électronique
    • l’information sur un don comme la date du don, le montant du don, le type de campagne à laquelle vous avez contribué, le nom du conjoint ou partenaire s’il s’agit d’un don conjoint
    • l’information financière comme vos méthodes de paiement et vos préférences, les renseignements sur la facturation et les renseignements bancaires (numéro de carte de crédit et date d’expiration ou numéro de succursale bancaire de votre compte chèques, requis pour traiter votre don); pour les transactions financières en ligne comme les dons et les inscriptions aux événements, nous traitons l’information standard sur la carte de crédit (numéro, type et date d’expiration) par une session sécuritaire utilisant un protocole SSL à chiffrement à 128 bits. Le protocole SSL est le standard éprouvé des transactions sécuritaires sur le Web

    Certains renseignements recueillis par la Société sont nécessaires afin de satisfaire aux exigences de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) (p. ex. le traitement des reçus aux fins de l’impôt).

    La Société recueille généralement vos renseignements personnels directement et seulement avec votre consentement. Cependant, si l'individu ayant une relation avec la Société est un mineur, l'information peut être obtenue d'un parent ou d'un tuteur légal. De plus, la Société ne recueillera pas ou n’utilisera pas vos renseignements personnels provenant d’une tierce personne sans votre consentement explicite. La Société obtiendra généralement votre consentement en même temps qu’elle recueille vos renseignements personnels. Si l’objectif de l’utilisation de vos renseignements personnels a changé depuis que le consentement a été obtenu, la Société vous avisera de cet objectif avant une telle utilisation ou divulgation.

    Renseignement obtenu sur le site Web : témoins (« cookies ») sur cancer.ca

    Afin d’assurer l’amélioration continue de notre site Web, nous effectuons un suivi de vos visites à l’aide de témoins. Ces mêmes témoins nous servent également à vous offrir des fonctionnalités particulières (p. ex. la prestation personnalisée de l’information) selon votre choix de langue et la province ou le territoire.

    Un témoin est un petit fichier de données que le serveur d’une page Web transfère dans votre navigateur et qui ne peut être lu que par le serveur qui vous l’a transmis. Il s’agit en fait d’une « carte d’identité »; ce fichier n’est pas un programme et ne peut servir à exécuter un code informatique ou être porteur d’un virus. La Société n'analyse pas et ne rapporte pas sur les sessions personnelles d’un utilisateur, et ne redirige jamais les témoins vers d'autres serveurs.

    Les témoins permettent aussi de personnaliser notre site selon vos intérêts ou d’emmagasiner l’information qui vous est propre (p. ex. des mots de passe ou des numéros d’identification personnels). Si jamais un site quelconque vous accueille en mentionnant votre nom, c’est sans doute parce qu’il utilise un témoin.

    La plupart des navigateurs sont configurés au départ pour accepter les témoins. Vous pouvez configurer votre navigateur pour qu’il vous avise lorsqu’un serveur vous envoie un témoin – vous avez ainsi la possibilité de l’accepter ou non. Pour en savoir plus sur les témoins et sur la modification de vos paramètres, consultez l’aide de votre navigateur. Il faut toutefois savoir que si vous choisissez de « filtrer » les témoins, vous risquez de recevoir fréquemment des messages d’alerte et que cela risque de devenir ennuyeux.

    Vous pouvez utiliser le site Web de la Société sans témoins, mais vous devrez alors indiquer certains renseignements à chacune de vos visites.

  • Comment la Société utilise-t-elle vos renseignements personnels?

    Tel qu’expliqué ci-dessus, la Société utilise vos renseignements personnels pour ses activités de financement, pour traiter les dons, répondre à vos demandes de services et d’information, pour vous tenir au courant des activités de la Société et pour recueillir des fonds. Par exemple, si vous avez démontré un intérêt à participer à des activités de financement comme le Relais pour la vie, nous pourrions vous faire parvenir de l’information sur d’autres occasions d'appuyer ou de participer aux activités de la Société.

    La Société s'efforce d'utiliser de l'information anonyme ou agrégée lorsque possible. Nous pourrions aussi utiliser de l’information qui ne vous identifie pas personnellement de la façon suivante :

    • pour aider au développement de nouveaux programmes, d’événements et de services
    • pour fournir aux bénéficiaires du don un sommaire ou de l’information agrégée sur nos dons, programmes et services
    • à des fins de recherches internes
    • pour développer une publicité basée sur les préférences des donateurs
  • Quand la Société divulgue-t-elle vos renseignements personnels?

    La Société partage vos renseignements personnels seulement avec ses employés et/ou ses bénévoles qui ont besoin de tels renseignements pour établir, gérer et maintenir notre relation avec vous. Nous pouvons aussi divulguer vos renseignements personnels à un tiers fournisseur de services que nous engageons pour poster notre matériel de financement, traiter votre don ou répondre à votre demande de renseignements. Ces tiers fournisseurs n’ont seulement accès qu’aux renseignements personnels requis pour mener à bien leur fonction et ne peuvent pas les utiliser à toute autre fin. Ils sont liés par des ententes qui les obligent à protéger vos renseignements personnels. Notez qu’en travaillant avec nos fournisseurs de services, vos renseignements personnels pourraient être accessibles dans, ou être transférés vers, un pays étranger. Ces renseignements pourraient être fournis à la police ou aux autorités nationales de sécurité de ce pays afin de respecter les lois étrangères.

    Il existe des circonstances où l’utilisation et/ou la divulgation de renseignements personnels est justifiée ou permise sans consentement. Ces circonstances pourraient inclure :

    • où requis par une loi, par une ordonnance ou une exigence d’un tribunal, d’un organisme administratif ou d’un autre tribunal gouvernemental;
    • où la Société croit, pour des motifs raisonnables, qu’il est nécessaire de protéger les droits, la vie privée, la sécurité ou la propriété d’une personne ou d’un groupe identifiable;
    • où les renseignements sont publics.

    Le financement nous aide à assurer la stabilité et la qualité constante des services et des programmes offerts par la Société aux personnes ayant le cancer. Dans le cadre de nos initiatives de financement, nous pourrions échanger l’information sur les donateurs avec d’autres organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés. Si vous désirez que la Société n’échange pas votre nom de cette façon, ou si vous ne désirez pas recevoir de matériel de marketing ou de financement de la Société, vous pouvez communiquer avec notre bureau de la protection de la vie privée au privacy@ontario.cancer.ca, au 1 800 268-8874, poste 2257, ou par écrit au Bureau de la protection de la vie privée, Société canadienne du cancer – Division de l’Ontario, 55, avenue St. Clair Ouest, bureau 500, Toronto, ON M4V 2Y7. Veuillez allouer jusqu’à 12 semaines pour que votre demande soit traitée, car des campagnes de sollicitation par la poste pourraient déjà être en cours.

  • Exactitude de l’information

    La Société vise à s’assurer que tout renseignement personnel fourni est exact, complet et actuel, tel que requis aux fins de l’utilisation du renseignement.

  • Protection de vos renseignements personnels

    La Société prend des mesures raisonnables pour s’assurer que les renseignements personnels sont protégés contre la perte ou le vol, l’accès non autorisé, l’utilisation, la photocopie, la divulgation ou la modification. La protection comprend des mesures physiques, organisationnelles et techniques incluant mais n’étant pas limitées à :

    • accès des lieux avec carte de sécurité;
    • restriction de l’accès des employés aux dossiers sur le principe d’accès sélectif;
    • engagements en matière de confidentialité par tous les employés;
    • verrouiller les renseignements personnels et ne jamais les laisser sans surveillance et en vue;
    • coupe-feu, antivirus, mots de passe complexes et solutions logicielles pour sécurité technique; et
    • révisions régulières des initiatives de conformité en matière de vie privée.

    La Société forme tout le personnel sur les pratiques exemplaires de protection de la vie privée et s’assure que tous les employés connaissent l’importance de protéger tout renseignement personnel auquel ils ont accès.

  • Conservation des renseignements personnels

    La Société conserve les renseignements personnels seulement aussi longtemps qu’ils sont requis pour les raisons pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis. La durée de temps pendant laquelle nous conservons les renseignements varie selon le programme, le service ou l’événement et la nature des renseignements. Par exemple, nous conservons l’information financière pendant 6 ans, selon les règles et les règlements de l’ARC. La période de rétention pourrait s’étendre au-delà de votre relation avec nous. Lorsque la Société n’a plus besoin de vos renseignements personnels, ils sont soit détruits physiquement ou supprimés.

  • Publicité comportementale

    Lorsque vous interagissez avec les sites Web de la Société canadienne du cancer, les tiers partenaires publicitaires peuvent utiliser des témoins que nous plaçons sur votre ordinateur, pixels espions et technologies similaires pour vous identifier en tant que visiteur de nos sites Web et vous offrir des publicités ciblées pour nous aider à promouvoir la Société. Vous pouvez choisir de refuser que vos renseignements personnels soient utilisés pour certains ciblages publicitaires en visitant ce site : http://youradchoices.ca/fr/retrait, et aussi en utilisant l'option « Interdiction de suivi » de votre navigateur. Nous fournissons également votre adresse électronique à des partenaires publicitaires de confiance, tels que Facebook et Twitter, dans le but de jumeler les utilisateurs des médias sociaux avec ceux qui semblent être intéressés par le travail de la Société, et de leur offrir des annonces ciblées au nom de la Société. Vous pouvez demander que vos renseignements personnels ne soient pas partagés avec nos partenaires publicitaires en communiquant avec privacy@ontario.cancer.ca.

  • Liens vers d’autres sites Web à partir de cancer.ca

    La Société propose des liens vers d’autres sites Web qui pourraient être intéressants. Étant donné que la Société n’a aucun contrôle sur le contenu de ces sites Web, ces liens peuvent être mis à jour ou supprimés si la Société estime que cela est approprié.

    Sachez aussi que la Société ne peut non plus se porter garante des politiques des autres sites Web en matière de protection de la vie privée. Nous vous invitons donc à lire attentivement les politiques de tout site Web auquel vous accédez et qui vous demande de fournir des renseignements personnels.

  • Demandes de renseignements et d’accès

    Si vous avez des questions sur cette politique de protection de la vie privée ou que vous aimeriez avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec notre responsable de la protection de la vie privée. Prière de noter qu’étant donné que nous ne pouvons pas garantir la sécurité de la messagerie par Internet, toutes les demandes officielles pour avoir accès aux renseignements personnels devraient être faites par écrit.

    Responsable de la protection de la vie privée
    Société canadienne du cancer – Division de l’Ontario
    55, avenue St. Clair Ouest, bureau 500
    Toronto, ON
    M4V 2Y7

    Téléphone : (416) 488-5402, poste 2257
    Sans frais : 1 800 268-8874, poste 2257
    Télécopieur : (416) 488-2872
    Courriel : privacy@ontario.cancer.ca

    Veuillez noter qu’un frais pourrait s’appliquer pour traiter votre demande selon le type et le volume d’information demandée.

    Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la façon dont la Société a traité votre demande, ou si vous avez une inquiétude concernant les politiques de la Société en matière de protection de la vie privée et que vous croyez que nous ne l’avons pas abordée de manière satisfaisante, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au :

    112, rue Kent
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 1H3
    Téléphone : 1 800 282-1376
    Télécopieur : (613) 947-6850

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Carrie Walker Boyd Faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer m’a permis de constater le travail colossal qu’elle fait pour les personnes aux prises avec le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Carrie

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus