Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Privacy policy

Thank you for visiting cancer.ca and for reviewing this information. By visiting the Canadian Cancer Society online at www.cancer.ca, you are accepting the practices described in this privacy notice.

  • Cookies

    A cookie is a small amount of data that is transferred to your browser by a web server and can only be read by the website that gave it to you. It functions as your identification card. It is not a program and cannot be executed as code or deliver viruses.

    Cookies can also customize the site to your particular interests or store your personal information – like passwords or user IDs. If a site ever greets you with your name, chances are it’s using a cookie to do so.

    Most browsers are initially set to accept cookies. You can set your browser to notify you when you receive a cookie – this gives you the chance to decide whether to accept it or not. To learn more about cookies and how to change your settings, please use the help function in your browser. The alerts will be quite frequent, however, and may eventually become annoying.

    In order to improve our site on an ongoing basis, we use cookies to track your visit. The Society does not report on individual user sessions. The Canadian Cancer Society also uses cookies to provide users with certain features (for example, customized delivery of information based on your choice of language and your preferred province/territory) available our website.

    You can use the Canadian Cancer Society website without cookies, but you may have to re-enter information each time you visit.

  • Information we collect on cancer.ca and how we use it

    Two types of information are collected from our website:

    1. Aggregate information regarding overall website traffic patterns. Web servers collect this type of standard web server/visitor traffic information as part of web log processes. We do not report on individual user sessions.
    2. Personal information you provide to us. The personal information the Society collects is the minimum required to establish and maintain a service, volunteer, participant, donor or program relationship with you.

    You do not need to give any personal information to access information on cancer.ca. There are instances on our website, however, when the Canadian Cancer Society requests individually identifiable information from you.

    Your provision of personal information to the Society means that you agree and consent that we may collect, use and disclose your personal information in accordance with our privacy policy. If you do not agree with these terms, please do not provide any personal information to the Society.

    Canadian Cancer Society's Ontario Division uses pixels, or transparent GIF files, to help manage online advertising. These GIF files are provided by our ad management partner, DoubleClick. These files enable DoubleClick to recognize a unique cookie on your Web browser, which in turn enables us to learn which advertisements bring users to our website. The cookie was placed by us, or by another advertiser who works with DoubleClick. With both cookies and Spotlight technology, the information that we collect and share is anonymous and not personally identifiable. It does not contain your name, address, telephone number, or e-mail address. For more information about DoubleClick, including information about how to opt out of these technologies, go to http://www.doubleclick.net/us/corporate/privacy.

  • E-mail inquiries and e-mail forms

    Our website contains several e-mail links and e-mail forms that allow web visitors to easily send an e-mail inquiry or feedback to the Canadian Cancer Society. Examples include publication request for, e-mail inquiries to the Society’s Cancer Information Service, to the webmaster, or to staff in specific departments across the country. When you use the e-mail links and forms, your e-mail address and the subject of your inquiry are provided to the Society.

    We only use this information to respond to your inquiries and track the service we provide. This information helps us improve our website, provide more relevant information to our site visitors and update our site.

  • Surveys

    The Canadian Cancer Society occasionally conducts surveys in order to better understand the opinions, needs and satisfaction of our web visitors. These surveys are used to identify cancer-related issues that are important to you and to improve our level of service to you.

    While aggregate information about survey results may be publicized, individual data from these surveys will not be made public or shared with other organizations.

  • Links to other websites

    The Canadian Cancer Society website provides links to other websites. The Canadian Cancer Society is not responsible for the contents of any linked website, any link contained in a linked website or any changes or updates to such websites. The inclusion of any link does not mean that the Canadian Cancer Society endorses that website.

    Please be aware that the Canadian Cancer Society is not responsible for the privacy practices of websites that we link to. We encourage you to read the privacy statements of each and every website that requests personal information from you.

    Personal information about Society donors, volunteers and clients is collected at the provincial level.

  • Inquiries about our privacy policy and requests to access your personal information

    Personal information about Society donors, volunteers and clients is collected at the provincial level. If your inquiry relates to the Canadian Cancer Society’s national office privacy policy, please contact the national office privacy officer:

    Privacy officer

    Canadian Cancer Society
    55 St. Clair Avenue West.
    Suite 300
    Toronto, Ontario
    M4V 2Y7

    Tel: 416 961-7223

    If you have a concern about the Society’s privacy practices, please contact the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

    Privacy Commissioner of Canada

    112 Kent Street
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 1H3

    Tel: 1-800-282-1376
    Fax: 613 947-6850

A-|A|A+

Stories

Photo of Pat Hartley It didn’t matter how much experience and knowledge I had about cancer. I was in shock.

Read Pat's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Politique de confidentialité de la Société canadienne du cancer

Merci de visiter le site cancer.ca et de prendre connaissance de cette information. En visitant le site Web de la Société canadienne du cancer à www.cancer.ca, vous acceptez implicitement notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels.

  • Témoins (« cookies »)

    Un témoin est un petit fichier de données que le serveur d’une page Web transfère dans votre navigateur et qui ne peut être lu que par le serveur qui vous l’a transmis. Il s’agit en fait d’une « carte d’identité »; ce fichier n’est pas un programme et ne peut servir à exécuter un code informatique ou être porteur d’un virus.

    Les témoins permettent aussi de personnaliser notre site selon vos intérêts ou d’emmagasiner l’information qui vous est propre (par exemple, des mots de passe ou des numéros d’identification personnels). Si jamais un site quelconque vous accueille en mentionnant votre nom, c’est sans doute parce qu’il utilise un témoin.

    La plupart des navigateurs sont configurés au départ pour accepter les témoins. Vous pouvez configurer votre navigateur pour qu’il vous avise lorsqu’un serveur vous envoie un témoin – vous avez ainsi la possibilité de l’accepter ou non. Pour en savoir plus sur les témoins et sur la modification de vos paramètres, consultez l’aide de votre navigateur. Il faut toutefois savoir que si vous choisissez de « filtrer » les témoins, vous risquez de recevoir fréquemment des messages d’alerte et que cela risque de devenir ennuyeux.

    Afin d’assurer l’amélioration continue de notre site, nous effectuons un suivi de vos visites à l’aide de témoins, sans toutefois tenir un registre des visites individuelles. La Société canadienne du cancer utilise également des témoins pour mettre à la disposition des visiteurs certaines fonctionnalités sur son site Web (par exemple, l’affichage de l’information en fonction de la langue et de la province ou du territoire que vous aurez choisis).

    Vous pouvez utiliser le site Web de la Société canadienne du cancer sans témoins, mais vous risquez alors d’avoir à fournir certains renseignements à chacune de vos visites.

  • Collecte d’information sur cancer.ca et utilisation de cette information

    Nous recueillons deux types de renseignements sur notre site Web :

    1. Les données d’ensemble portant sur la fréquentation de notre site en général. Les serveurs Web colligent ce type d’information de base pour tenir à jour leur registre de fréquentation. Nous ne tenons aucun registre concernant les visites individuelles.
    2. Les renseignements personnels que vous nous fournissez. La Société recueille le minimum d’information requis pour pouvoir établir et entretenir un lien avec vous, qu’il s’agisse de services, de bénévolat, de participation à des activités, de dons ou de programmes.

    Vous n’avez aucun renseignement personnel à fournir pour accéder à l’information du site cancer.ca. Dans certaines circonstances, toutefois, la Société canadienne du cancer peut vous demander des renseignements nominatifs.

    Le fait de fournir des renseignements personnels à la Société signifie que vous acceptez et consentez à ce que nous recueillions, utilisions et divulguions vos renseignements personnels conformément à notre politique de confidentialité. Si vous n’acceptez pas ces conditions, prière de ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels à la Société.

    La Division de l’Ontario de la Société canadienne du cancer utilise des pixels, ou images GIF transparentes, pour faciliter la gestion de la publicité en ligne. Ces fichiers GIF sont fournis par notre partenaire de gestion des annonces, DoubleClick. Ces fichiers permettent à DoubleClick de reconnaître un témoin unique sur votre navigateur Web, qui à son tour nous permet d’apprendre quelles annonces dirigent les utilisateurs vers notre site Web. Le témoin a été placé par nous, ou par un autre annonceur travaillant avec DoubleClick. Grâce aux témoins et à la technologie Spotlight, l’information que nous recueillons et partageons demeure anonyme et ne permet pas de vous identifier. Elle ne contient ni votre nom, ni votre adresse, ni votre numéro de téléphone, ni votre adresse électronique. Pour plus d’information sur DoubleClick, y compris sur la façon de refuser ces technologies, visitez http://www.doubleclick.net/us/corporate/privacy (en anglais).

  • Demandes de renseignements et formulaires par courriel

    Notre site Web comporte plusieurs liens et formulaires permettant aux visiteurs d’envoyer facilement un courriel afin d’obtenir plus de renseignements ou de transmettre leurs commentaires à la Société canadienne du cancer. Vous pouvez ainsi, par exemple, demander des renseignements à notre Service d’information sur le cancer, à notre webmestre ou à des personnes en particulier dans nos différentes divisions. Lorsque vous utilisez ces liens, votre adresse électronique et l’objet de votre demande sont transmis à la Société.

    Nous n’utilisons ces renseignements que pour répondre à votre demande et effectuer un suivi du service fourni. Cette information nous aide à améliorer notre site, à enrichir son contenu selon les besoins des utilisateurs et à le mettre à jour.

  • Sondages

    À l’occasion, la Société canadienne du cancer effectue des sondages afin de mieux connaître l’opinion, les besoins et le niveau de satisfaction des visiteurs de son site Web. Ces sondages permettent d’identifier les questions relatives au cancer qui vous préoccupent et d’améliorer la qualité des services que nous vous offrons.

    Les données d’ensemble résultant de ces sondages pourront être rendues publiques mais aucune donnée individuelle ne sera publiée ou transmise à une autre organisation.

  • Liens vers d’autres sites

    Le site Web de la Société canadienne du cancer propose des liens vers d’autres sites. La Société canadienne du cancer n’est responsable ni de leur contenu ni des liens qu’ils offrent, pas plus que des changements ou des mises à jour qu’ils subissent. Le fait d’offrir un lien vers un site Web ne signifie aucunement que Société canadienne du cancer endosse ce site.

    Sachez que la Société canadienne du cancer ne peut se porter garante des politiques des autres sites Web en matière de protection de la vie privée. Nous vous invitons donc à lire attentivement les politiques de tout site Web qui vous demande de fournir des renseignements personnels.

  • Renseignements sur les donateurs, les bénévoles et les clients

    Les renseignements personnels liés aux donateurs, aux bénévoles et aux clients sont recueillis au niveau provincial.  Si votre demande concerne la politique de confidentialité du bureau national de la Société canadienne du cancer, veuillez communiquer avec la responsable de la protection de la vie privée du bureau national :

    Responsable de la protection de la vie privée 
    55, avenue St. Clair Ouest, bureau 300
    Toronto, Ontario
    M4V 2Y7

    416 961-7223

    Si vous avez une inquiétude à propos des pratiques de la Société en matière de protection de la vie privée, veuillez communiquer avec le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

    Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada 
    112, rue Kent
    Ottawa, ON
    K1A 1H3

    Téléphone : 1 800 282-1376
    Télécopieur : 613 947-6850

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Researchers Dr Steve Manske and Dr Leia Minaker Les Drs Steve Manske et Leia Minaker s’appuient sur les résultats de la recherche sur le tabac pour poser des gestes concrets.

Plus de details

Financement d’essais cliniques qui sauvent des vies

Illustration d’instruments scientifiques

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne des essais cliniques d’une importance vitale, qui permettent aux personnes atteintes de cancer d’avoir accès aux plus récents types de traitement.

Apprenez-en plus