Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Privacy policy

The Canadian Cancer Society, New Brunswick is committed to protecting the privacy of the personal information of its donors, volunteers, employees, and other stakeholders. We value the trust of those we deal with, and of the public, and recognize that maintaining this trust requires that we be transparent and accountable in how we treat the information that you choose to share with us.

During the course of our various projects and activities, we frequently gather and use personal information. Anyone from whom we collect such information should expect that it will be carefully protected and that any use of or other dealing with this information is subject to consent.  Our privacy practices are designed to achieve this.

  • Defining personal information

    Personal information is any information that can be used to distinguish, identify or contact a specific individual. This information can include an individual’s opinions or beliefs, as well as facts about, or related to, the individual. Exceptions:  business contact information and certain publicly available information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers as published in telephone and web directories or search engines, are not considered personal information.

    Canadian Cancer Society, New Brunswick is in compliance with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA). The CCS may collect, use and disclose volunteer and employee personal information that is necessary to establish, manage or terminate the volunteer or employment relationship without consent, as long as the volunteer or employee is notified.  Notification may be waived where disclosure is required by law or in a medical emergency.  Where an individual uses his or her home contact information as business contact information as well, we consider that the contact information provided is business contact information, and is not therefore subject to protection as personal information.

  • Privacy practices

    Personal information gathered by our organization is kept in confidence. Our personnel are authorized to access personal information based only on their need to deal with the information for the reason(s) for which it was obtained. You have access to your own information at any time.  Safeguards are in place to ensure that the information is not disclosed or shared more widely than is necessary to achieve the purpose for which it was gathered. We also take measures to ensure the integrity of this information is maintained and to prevent its being lost or destroyed.

    We collect, use and disclose personal information only for purposes that a reasonable person would consider appropriate in light of the circumstances. We routinely offer individuals we deal with the opportunity to opt not to have their information shared for purposes beyond those for which it was explicitly collected.  Individuals can withdraw their consent at any time to use personal information. 

  • Website and Electronic Commerce

    We use password protocols and encryption software to protect personal and other information we receive when a product or service is requested and/or paid for online. Our software is routinely updated to maximize protection of such information.

  • Updating of privacy policy

    We regularly review our privacy practices for our various activities, and update our policy. Please check this website on an on-going basis for information on our most up-to-date practices.

    Click here to view full version of our privacy policy.

  • Contact Information

    Question, concerns or complaints relating to the privacy policy on the treatment of personal information should be addressed to:

    Canadian Cancer Society, New Brunswick
    133 Prince William Street; PO 2089
    Saint John, NB
    E2L 3T5

    Attention: Privacy Officer

A-|A|A+

Stories

Dr Troy Harkness Finding new ways to treat drug-resistant cancers

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Notre politique de confidentialité

La Société canadienne du cancer – division du Nouveau-Brunswick s’engage à protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels qui lui sont transmis par ses donateurs, ses bénévoles, ses employés et autres intervenants. Nous apprécions vivement la confiance du public et des personnes avec lesquelles nous faisons affaire. Nous reconnaissons que pour conserver cette confiance, notre comportement doit être transparent et nous devons assumer notre obligation de rendre des comptes en ce qui concerne notre traitement des renseignements que vous partagez avec nous.

Nous recueillons et utilisons fréquemment des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de nos nombreux projets et activités. Les personnes qui nous transmettent ces renseignements doivent pouvoir compter sur le fait qu’ils seront traités à titre confidentiel et que leur utilisation sera assujettie à l’obtention du consentement de ceux et celles auxquels ils s’appliquent.

  • Définition de «renseignements personnels»

    Le terme «renseignements personnels» s’applique à toute information pouvant être utilisée pour distinguer, identifier ou contacter un particulier. Cette information peut comprendre les opinions et les croyances de la personne en question, ainsi que divers faits la concernant. Exceptions : les coordonnées des entreprises et certains renseignements rendus publics - nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone publiés dans les annuaires de téléphone et les répertoires Web ou dans les moteurs de recherche ne sont pas considérés être des renseignements personnels.

    La Société canadienne du cancer – division du Nouveau-Brunswick se conforme à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques. Elle peut recueillir, utiliser et divulguer sans l’obtention de consentement, les renseignements personnels ayant trait aux bénévoles et aux employés, nécessaires pour établir, gérer ou mettre fin à une relation bénévole ou professionnelle, pourvu que le bénévole ou l’employé dont il est question soit avisé de la situation. Il est possible de déroger à cette notification lorsque la divulgation est exigée en vertu de la loi, ou dans le cadre d’une urgence médicale. Lors de l’utilisation des coordonnées résidentielles à titre de coordonnées d’affaires, la Société considère que les renseignements transmis sont des coordonnées d’affaires et ne bénéficient donc pas de la confidentialité accordée aux renseignements personnels.

  • Pratiques de confidentialité

    Les renseignements personnels recueillis par notre organisme sont conservés à titre confidentiel. Les employés sont autorisés à examiner ces renseignements seulement en vue de pouvoir donner suite aux questions qui ont motivé leur obtention. Vous avez accès en tout temps à vos propres renseignements. Les mesures de protection existantes assurent que cette information n’est ni divulguée ni diffusée plus largement que nécessaire pour réaliser l’objectif en vue. Nous prenons également des mesures pour assurer le maintien de l’intégrité des renseignements et pour prévenir leur perte ou destruction.

    Les renseignements personnels ne sont recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués qu’à des fins qui seraient jugées appropriées par une personne rationnelle, à la lumière de certaines circonstances données. Nous offrons couramment à nos collaborateurs la possibilité d’opter pour la non-divulgation de leurs renseignements à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles ils ont été explicitement recueillis. Les intervenants peuvent rétracter n’importe quand leur consentement autorisant la divulgation de leurs renseignements personnels.

  • Site web et commerce électronique

    Nous utilisons des protocoles de mot de passe et un logiciel cryptographique en vue de protéger les renseignements personnels et autres obtenus lors d’une demande de produits ou de services payés en ligne. Notre logiciel est fréquemment mis à jour afin d’assurer la protection de cette information

  • Mise à jour de la politique de confidentialité

    Nous passons régulièrement en revue nos pratiques de confidentialité dans le cadre de nos activités et mettons notre politique à jour. Veuillez consulter fréquemment ce site internet pour obtenir des renseignements concernant nos toutes dernières pratiques.

    Cliquez ici pour visualiser la politique de confidentialité en format PDF (en anglais seulement).

  • Renseignements

    Veuillez adresser toutes questions, préoccupations ou réclamations concernant notre politique de confidentialité des renseignements personnels à :

    Société canadienne du cancer, division du NB
    133, rue Prince William, CP 2089
    Saint John, NB
    E2L 3T5

    Attention : Responsable des questions de confidentialité

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Dr David Hammond Les cigarettes électroniques au Canada

Plus de details

Réconfort et sollicitude des bénévoles

Illustration de bénévoles

Dans les centres régionaux de cancer, les maisons d’hébergement et les hôpitaux communautaires, des milliers de bénévoles de la Société canadienne du cancer apportent leur soutien aux personnes qui reçoivent des traitements.

Apprenez-en plus