A A A

CCS/CIHR/BC Spark Grants: Novel Technology Applications in Cancer Prevention and Early Detection

Please see the eligibility and requirements section prior to creating an application.

Deadline dates

Program Launch: Mid-July 2020
Registration due date: August 28, 2020
Full application due date: October 16, 2020
Results announcement: January 8, 2021
Anticipated funding start date: January 15, 2021

The application guide can be found on the EGrAMS documentation for applicants page.

Program Launch Partners

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research - Institute of Cancer Research (CIHR-ICR), and Brain Canada Foundation (BC or Brain Canada) have committed a total of up to $2.4M over one year to jointly fund Spark Grants focused on Novel Technology Applications in Cancer Prevention and Early Detection.

Please see the ‘Partners description’ section below for more information on Brain Canada, CCS, and the CIHR Institute of Cancer Research.
 

Background

The intent of the Novel Technology Application in Cancer Prevention and Early Detection program is to “spark” and accelerate new activity in the development and/or application of truly novel approaches to cancer prevention and early detection. For example, the fields of artificial intelligence (AI) and digital solutions are rapidly evolving, but adoption by the health sector currently lags behind that in other sectors. The desire to improve the efficacy and efficiency of cancer prevention and control continues to drive multiple innovations into practice, including AI. Great potential exists with respect to machine learning, robotics, digital solutions and other emerging technologies for added value for patients, populations, organizations and systems. For instance, AI excels at recognizing complex patterns and thus offers the opportunity to transform aspects of cancer prevention and detection. AI can enable the aggregation of multiple data streams into powerful integrated diagnostic systems spanning radiographic images, genomics, pathology, electronic health records, and social networks. To accelerate progress and uptake in cancer prevention and early detection in the short- to medium-term, CCS, CIHR-ICR and BC are launching this funding opportunity to support Spark Grants designed to gather pilot data to drive the application of truly innovative new technologies, or the novel repurposing of existing technologies into the study of cancer prevention and early detection.

Program description

Spark Grants will support preliminary research to establish proof of principle in novel cancer prevention and early detection approaches. The goal is to fund high risk, high reward studies, that provide sufficient rationale and/or preliminary data to convince reviewers of the novelty and feasibility of the proposed work. Spark grants are intended to support the development of new partnerships and the exploration of highly novel concepts, involving researchers from any research area, and particularly from non-traditional cancer fields, such as engineering, AI, robotics, physics, nanoscience, statistics, informatics, computer and data sciences, behavioural science, and any other discipline poised to seed the next generation of disruptive technologies in cancer control. These grants are not intended to support research that is the “next logical step” in a program of work, but rather provide the evidence for future larger grants that will serve as “game-changers” in the way we approach cancer prevention and early detection, disrupting existing methods and displacing the status quo.

The objective of this funding opportunity is to harness the power of new technologies and interventions to prevent the onset of cancer and/or reduce its severity through early detection when the disease is at its most treatable, including the early detection of recurrence and metastatic spread.

Specifically, the goals of this funding opportunity are:

  • The development and/or application of a truly novel “out-of-the-box” technology to prevent cancer, or improve the sensitivity and/or specificity of primary diagnosis or detection of recurrence
  • The novel repurposing of existing technologies from other research fields or sectors, that could be applied to cancer prevention or early detection 
  • Establishment and development of new multidisciplinary collaborations, including those that bring together individuals with skill sets not generally applied in the cancer field to address prevention or early detection
  • Projects that, if successful, would disrupt existing methods and replace the status quo for cancer prevention and early detection

Funding can contribute towards generating pilot data for a new and exciting idea, establishing and developing new collaborations, testing a new technology or using an existing technology in an innovative way. We envisage that data generated or collaborations established through a Spark grant will form the basis for a more extensive future project within cancer prevention or early detection.

Projects that would be considered ineligible for this competition include:

  • Projects that focus on obvious next steps or incremental research associated with ongoing studies
  • Projects with no clear line of sight for useful application in the short-to medium-term
  • Projects not specifically focused on prevention and/or early detection

CCS, CIHR and BC are committed to equity, diversity and inclusivity and strive to promote inclusive excellence in our funding programs. We welcome all eligible applicants of diverse backgrounds to apply for our funding opportunities.

Scientific focus of the program

Eligible research areas include, but are not limited to:

  • Novel Imaging/mammography technologies, including computational imaging and bioinformatic algorithms for risk stratification
  • Novel applications in AI, machine learning, nanotechnologies, robotics, software data science, and other promising technologies and systems
  • Applications of liquid-based cytology and biopsies for detection of pre-malignant conditions and secondary screening for recurrence and spread
  • Novel diagnostic biomarkers with clear disruptive potential
  • Development and testing of new wearable technologies, such as a UV radiation exposure monitoring device
  • Developing new mobile apps, such as virtual care delivery text messaging for screening follow-up, mobile apps/video games for health education and promotion, e.g. colonoscopy prep, mobile images to raise awareness about specific cancers, 
  • Creation of innovative web-based communications strategies, such as social media to target prevention in young adults, online decision support tools for symptom checking
  • New tools to integrate and correlate complex, heterogeneous biological and health-related data

Funds available

Spark Grants will be for up to $150K each over a one-year period. Grants will be non-renewable. The total budget available for this competition is up to $2.4M to fund Spark grants under the areas noted below. The engagement of additional partners, or access to additional funds may increase this number.

Funding will be provided to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, salaries, and equipment associated with the proposed work. Equipment requests cannot exceed 10% of the requested budget. Indirect costs are not eligible.

Please note, that for this funding opportunity:

There will be two funding pools
  • Breast cancer
  • Other Cancers
Grants will be funded in rank order within each funding pool. Only those applications scoring equal or greater than 3.5 will be considered for funding. Projects with a focus on brain cancer will be co-funded by CCS and BC.

  • Up to $800,000 is available from CIHR-ICR to support Spark grants focused on breast cancer
  • Up to $800,000 is available from BC, subject to availability of funds from CCS, to support Spark grants focused on brain cancer
  • Up to $800,000 is available from CCS to support Spark grants on any cancer type

Peer review panel

A multidisciplinary peer review committee will be assembled for this competition comprised of individuals recommended by CCS, CIHR-ICR and BC.

The mandatory abstract registration will be used to assess relevance to the competition and to inform the composition requirements of the review panel.

Grants will be funded in rank order within the two funding pools.

Abstract registration

Abstract registration is mandatory and will include applicant details (Principal Investigators, Co-Applicants, Additional Authors), a public summary, a brief scientific summary, keywords, a clear description of how the proposed study, if successful, has the potential to disrupt status quo, and suggested reviewers and research tracking information. Specific guidelines for the abstract registration are available and should be closely consulted during preparation of the application.

For this competition, there is a limit of one application per nominated Principal Investigator or co-Principal Investigator. Please note that for those applications receiving funds from Brain Canada, a minimum of 2 Principal/Co-Principal Investigators are required, from different institutions (or distinct departments within the same institution).
Applications from Early- and Mid-Career Researchers (within 15 years of their first academic appointment) are strongly encouraged. In addition, researchers from non-traditional disciplines, outside the cancer field, are also strongly encouraged.

A relevance review of the abstract registration will be conducted to ensure alignment with the program description and scientific focus. Abstracts deemed relevant to the competition will be invited to submit a full application.

Any significant changes to the proposed project or applicant team after the Abstract Registration deadline should be communicated to the CCS (research@cancer.ca) as soon as they are known. Substantive changes that significantly alter the overall goals and aims of the proposal relative to the Abstract Registration are not permitted.

Full application

The proposal will contain no more than 5 pages of single-spaced text and 2 pages of figures/tables/charts and associated legends. Specific guidelines for the online application are available and should be closely consulted during preparation if the application.

Full applications include the following:

  1. A public summary of the proposed research that demonstrates how the research will lead to significant improvements in cancer prevention or early detection
  2. A scientific abstract that clearly states the aims of the overall proposal including any previous work done by team members in the area, experimental design(s), methods and analysis plans
  3. A clear description of how the proposed research represents a truly novel approach poised to dramatically improve the way we currently prevent or diagnose cancer
  4. A detailed proposal describing the work to be performed (including aims, previous work, experimental design, methods and analysis), and an indication of which member(s) of the research team will be responsible. Consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion principles in the composition of research team members must be evident.
  5. Considerations regarding sex and/or gender and/or diversity
  6. Relevance of the proposal to cancer prevention or early detection, including the impact that results will have on specific challenges in cancer prevention and early detection. 
  7. A detailed description of any products expected to result from this funding (if applicable).
  8. A detailed knowledge translation and mobilization strategy that chronicle potential next steps and which could include collaborations and partnerships with other research institutions, networks and/or sectors, as appropriate. 
  9. A detailed budget and justification for supplies, expenses, personnel and equipment to conduct the proposed research. This must include the number of personnel required to complete the work and a description of their experience and/or education level.

Review criteria

The review committee will prepare individual written critiques. The review criteria for the applications will include but not necessarily be restricted to the following:
  • the originality and feasibility of the proposed work and its relevance to cancer prevention and early detection
  • the potential for practical interventions in real world settings that will directly impact cancer prevention and early detection and disrupt the status quo
  • the background and scientific rationale for the proposed research
  • the qualifications and experience of the investigators leading and participating in the project
  • the appropriateness of the methods for the focus of the research
  • the appropriateness of the term and amount of support requested
  • the appropriate incorporation of sex as a biological variable and/or gender as a social determinant of health, where applicable
Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements page for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, and Canadian Cancer Society policies. In addition, research applications may be related but cannot be identical to any other currently funded projects. It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the funding Partners immediately should substantial overlap arise from new funding awards during the application and review process of this competition.

Partner description

Brain Canada Foundation is a national registered charity that enables and supports the very best in Canadian neuroscience research. Through the Canada Brain Research Fund, an innovative partnership between the Government of Canada (through Health Canada) and Brain Canada Foundation, the foundation fosters collaborative research, builds capacity of the Canadian brain research community, and accelerates the pace of discovery in order to understand the brain, in health and illness, to improve the lives of Canadians and achieve societal impact.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national charity that funds ground-breaking research, provides trusted information about cancer, offers programs and services to help people with cancer and their families cope, and advocates to governments for important social change to make healthy living easier. CCS has created the Centre for Cancer Prevention and Support (CCPS) to accelerate the progress of research into action, particularly in the areas of cancer prevention and survivorship. Through CCPS, CCS will play a more active role in facilitating knowledge translation and evidence dissemination for the research we fund.

The Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) mandate is to support research that reduces the burden of cancer on individuals and families through prevention strategies, screening, diagnosis, effective treatments, psychosocial support systems, and palliation.
 

Last modified on: July 21, 2020

Subventions Étincelle de la SCC, de l'IRSC et de BC : applications de technologies novatrices à la prévention et à la détection précoce du cancer

Veuillez vous reporter à la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations avant de créer votre demande.

Dates limites

Lancement du programme : mi-juillet 2020
Date limite d’inscription : 28 août 2020
Date limite pour le dépôt de la demande intégrale : 16 octobre 2020
Annonce des résultats : 8 janvier 2021

Date prévue de début du financement : 15 janvier 2021

Le guide de candidature est accessible sur la page EGrAMS documentation for applicants.

Partenaires pour le lancement du programme

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), l’Institut du cancer des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IC-IRSC) et Fondation Brain Canada (BC ou Brain Canada) se sont engagés à verser un total pouvant atteindre 2,4 millions de dollars sur un an pour financer conjointement les Subventions Étincelle sur des applications de technologies novatrices pour la prévention et la détection précoce du cancer.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Brain Canada, SCC et l’IC-IRSC, veuillez consulter la section « Description des partenaires » ci-dessous.

Contexte

Le programme d’applications de technologies novatrices pour la prévention et la détection précoce du cancer se veut une « bougie d’allumage » pour démarrer et accélérer de nouvelles activités dans le développement et/ou l’application d’approches véritablement novatrices de prévention et de détection précoce du cancer. Par exemple, les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) et des solutions numériques sont en rapide évolution, mais le secteur de la santé accuse actuellement un retard dans leur adoption par rapport à d’autres secteurs. Le souci d’améliorer l’efficacité et l’efficience des moyens de prévenir et de contrer le cancer continue de propulser de multiples innovations dans la pratique, y compris l’IA. L’apprentissage machine, la robotique, les solutions numériques et d’autres technologies naissantes présentent un énorme potentiel de valeur ajoutée pour les patients, les populations, les organismes et les systèmes. Ainsi, l’IA est un excellent outil de reconnaissance de profils complexes et crée une occasion de transformer des aspects de la prévention et de la détection du cancer. L’IA permet d’agréger de multiples flux de données en puissants systèmes diagnostiques intégrés couvrant les images radiographiques, la génomique, la pathologie, les dossiers de santé électroniques et les réseaux sociaux. Afin d’accélérer les progrès et l’adoption à court et à moyen terme de la prévention et la détection précoce du cancer, la SCC, l’IC-IRSC et BC lancent cette possibilité de financement pour des Subventions Étincelle qui serviront à recueillir des données pilotes favorisant l’application de nouvelles technologies réellement novatrices ou le repositionnement novateur de technologies existantes dans l’étude de la prévention et de la détection du cancer. 

Description du programme

Les Subventions Étincelle seront accordées pour des recherches préliminaires menant à la validation de principe pour des approches novatrices de prévention et de détection précoce du cancer. L’objectif est de financer des études à risque et à rendement élevés qui fournissent des données provisoires et des justifications suffisantes pour convaincre les examinateurs de l’originalité et de la faisabilité des travaux proposés. Les Subventions Étincelle ont pour but de soutenir l’établissement de nouveaux partenariats et l’exploration de concepts très novateurs, auxquels participent des chercheurs de n’importe quel domaine, en particulier de sphères non traditionnelles de recherche sur le cancer comme l’ingénierie, l’IA, la robotique, la physique, la nanoscience, les statistiques, l’informatique, les sciences de l’ordinatique et des données, les sciences du comportement et toute autre discipline qui pourrait devenir la source de la prochaine génération de technologies révolutionnaires dans le contrôle du cancer. Ces subventions sont destinées à soutenir non pas la recherche qui est la « prochaine étape logique » d’un programme de travail, mais plutôt celle qui génère des données probantes pour de futures subventions plus importantes qui transformeront notre approche de prévention et de détection précoce du cancer, bouleversant les méthodes existantes et délogeant le statu quo.

Cette possibilité de financement vise à exploiter la puissance de nouvelles technologies et interventions pour empêcher un cancer d’apparaître et/ou réduire sa gravité en le détectant tôt, lorsque le traitement a le plus de chances de réussir, y compris dans les cas de récidive et de métastases.

De façon plus précise, les buts de cette possibilité de financement sont les suivants :

  • Développement et/ou application d’une technologie novatrice qui sort véritablement des sentiers battus pour prévenir le cancer ou améliorer la sensibilité et/ou la spécificité d’un diagnostic primaire ou la détection d’une récidive
  • Repositionnement novateur de technologies existantes qui sont issues d’autres domaines de recherche ou secteurs et qui pourraient être appliquées à la prévention ou à la détection précoce du cancer 
  • Établissement et développement de nouvelles collaborations multidisciplinaires, notamment entre des personnes possédant des compétences généralement non appliquées dans le domaine du cancer, en vue d’améliorer la prévention ou la détection précoce
  • Projets qui, s’ils sont fructueux, bouleverseraient les méthodes existantes et remplaceraient le statu quo dans la prévention et la détection précoce du cancer

Le financement peut contribuer à l’obtention de données pilotes pour une idée inédite et emballante, à l’établissement et au développement de nouvelles collaborations, à l’évaluation d’une nouvelle technologie ou à l’utilisation novatrice d’une technologie existante. Nous prévoyons que les données recueillies ou les collaborations instaurées dans le cadre d’une Subvention Étincelle formeront la base d’un projet ultérieur de plus grande envergure sur la prévention ou la détection précoce du cancer.

Voici des exemples de projets qui seraient jugés inadmissibles à ce concours :

  • Projets qui sont manifestement des étapes subséquentes ou des recherches supplémentaires associées à des études en cours
  • Projets sans ligne de mire claire vers une application utile à court et à moyen terme
  • Projets non axés spécifiquement sur la prévention et/ou la détection précoce

La SCC, l’IC-IRSC et Brain Canada adhèrent aux principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion et s’efforcent de promouvoir l’excellence inclusive dans leurs programmes de financement. Nous invitons tous les candidats admissibles de divers horizons à soumettre une demande pour nos subventions.

Orientations scientifiques du programme

Les domaines de recherche admissibles comprennent, sans s’y limiter :

  • Nouvelles technologies d’imagerie ou de mammographie, dont des algorithmes d’imagerie computationnelle et de bio-informatique pour la stratification des risques
  • Applications novatrices de l’IA, de l’apprentissage machine, des nanotechnologies, de la robotique, de la science des données logicielles et d’autres technologies et systèmes prometteurs
  • Applications de cytologie et de biopsie en milieu liquide pour la détection d’états précancéreux et le dépistage secondaire d’une récidive et d’une propagation
  • Nouveaux biomarqueurs diagnostiques à potentiel perturbateur clair
  • Élaboration et évaluation de nouvelles technologies portables, comme un dispositif de surveillance de l’exposition aux rayonnements ultraviolets
  • Développement d’applis mobiles, tels que messages textes sur la prestation de soins virtuels pour le suivi de dépistage et applis mobiles/jeux vidéo pour l’éducation en santé et la promotion de la santé, comme la préparation à une coloscopie ou des images pour mobiles aux fins de sensibilisation à des cancers en particulier
  • Création de stratégies novatrices de communications fondées sur le Web, telles que recours aux médias sociaux pour cibler la prévention chez les jeunes adultes et outils en ligne d’aide à la décision pour la vérification des symptômes
  • Nouveaux outils d’intégration et de corrélation de données biologiques hétérogènes complexes et liées à la santé

Fonds disponibles

Les Subventions Étincelle seront d’au plus 150 000 $ chaqun sur un an. Elles ne seront pas renouvelables. Le budget total alloué à ce concours peut atteindre de 2,4 millions de dollars pour financer les Subventions Étincelle dans les domaines indiqués ci-dessous. L’engagement d’autres partenaires ou l’accès à des fonds additionnels pourraient accroître ce nombre.

Le financement sera fourni afin de couvrir les coûts directs de la recherche, dont les fournitures, les salaires et l’équipement associés au travail proposé. Les demandes pour l’équipement ne pourront pas dépasser 10 % du budget demandé. Les coûts indirects ne sont pas admissibles.

Points à noter pour cette possibilité de financement :

Il y aura deux catégories de financement

  • Cancer du sein
  • Autres cancers

Les subventions seront remises par ordre de priorité dans chaque catégorie de financement. Seules les demandes ayant obtenu un score égal ou supérieur à 3,5 seront prises en considération pour le financement. Les projets portant sur le cancer du cerveau seront cofinancés par la SCC et BC.

  • Un montant maximal de 800 000 $ est offert par l’IC-IRSC pour financer des Subventions Étincelle sur le cancer du sein
  • Un montant maximal de 800 000 $ est offert par BC, sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds du CCS, pour des Subventions Étincelle sur le cancer du cerveau
  • Un montant maximal de 800 000 $ est offert par la SCC pour des Subventions Étincelle sur n’importe quel type de cancer

Comité d'examen par des pairs

Un comité multidisciplinaire d’examen par les pairs sera mis sur pied pour ce concours, et sera constitué de personnes recommandées par la SCC, l’IC-IRSC et BC.

L’inscription obligatoire des résumés servira à évaluer la pertinence dans le cadre du concours et guidera les exigences pour la composition du comité d’examen.

Les subventions seront remises par ordre de priorité dans chaque catégorie de financement.

Inscription des résumés

L’inscription est obligatoire et devra contenir les renseignements sur les demandeurs (chercheurs principaux, codemandeurs, auteurs additionnels), un résumé public, un bref résumé scientifique, les mots clés, une description claire expliquant en quoi les éventuels résultats positifs de l’étude pourraient perturber le statu quo, le nom d’examinateurs suggérés et l’information pour le suivi de la recherche. Des directives spécifiques pour l’inscription des résumés sont disponibles et doivent être consultées attentivement au cours de la préparation de la demande.

Une limite d’une demande par chercheur principal désigné ou cochercheur principal a été fixée pour ce concours. Pour les subventions financées par Brain Canada, les demandes doivent être soumises par au moins deux chercheurs/cochercheurs principaux d’établissements différents (ou de départements distincts d’un même établissement).
Les demandes de chercheurs en début ou en milieu de carrière (occupant un poste universitaire depuis moins de 15 ans) sont fortement encouragées. De plus, les demandes de chercheurs provenant de disciplines non traditionnelles, dans un domaine autre que le cancer, sont aussi fortement encouragées.

Un examen de la pertinence des résumés inscrits sera effectué pour assurer l’alignement sur la description et les orientations scientifiques du programme. Pour les résumés jugés pertinents dans le cadre du concours, les candidats seront invités à soumettre une demande intégrale.

Tout changement majeur apporté au projet proposé ou à l’équipe de demandeurs après la date limite d’inscription des résumés doit être communiqué à la SCC (research@cancer.ca) dès qu’il est connu. Les changements substantiels qui modifient grandement les objectifs et buts généraux de la proposition faisant l’objet du résumé inscrit ne sont pas permis.

Demande intégrale

La proposition ne contiendra pas plus de cinq pages à interligne simple et pas plus de deux pages de chiffres, de tableaux, de diagrammes et de légendes qui les accompagnent. Des directives spécifiques pour les demandes en ligne sont disponibles et doivent être consultées attentivement au cours de la préparation de la demande.

Les demandes intégrales doivent comprendre les éléments suivants :
  1. Un résumé public de la proposition de recherche qui démontre comment la recherche donnera lieu à de grandes avancées en matière de prévention ou de détection précoce du cancer
  2. Un résumé scientifique qui énonce clairement les buts de la proposition dans son ensemble, notamment tous les travaux antérieurs menés dans le domaine par des membres de l’équipe, le ou les plans expérimentaux, les méthodes et les plans d’analyse
  3. Une description expliquant clairement en quoi la proposition de recherche représente une approche véritablement novatrice susceptible d’améliorer considérablement nos façons actuelles de prévenir ou de diagnostiquer le cancer
  4. Une proposition décrivant en détail les travaux à exécuter (dont les buts, les travaux antérieurs, le plan expérimental, les méthodes et l’analyse) et le nom du ou des membres de l’équipe de recherche qui en seront responsables. La prise en compte des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans la composition des équipes de recherche doit être évidente
  5. Des considérations relatives au sexe et/ou au genre et/ou à la diversité
  6. La pertinence de la proposition dans le contexte de la prévention ou de la détection précoce du cancer, notamment l’impact qu’auront les résultats sur des problèmes particuliers associés à la prévention et à la détection précoce du cancer
  7. Une description détaillée de tous les produits attendus à la suite du financement de ce projet (s’il y a lieu)
  8. Une stratégie détaillée de transfert et de mobilisation des connaissances qui relate les possibles étapes subséquentes et pourrait comprendre des collaborations et des partenariats avec d’autres établissements de recherche, réseaux et/ou secteurs, comme il convient
  9. Un budget détaillé et une justification pour les fournitures, les dépenses, le personnel et le matériel nécessaires pour le projet de recherche proposé. Le nombre de personnes requises pour l’exécution des travaux et une description de leur expérience et/ou degré de scolarité doivent y être précisés

Critères d'examen

Le comité d’examen préparera des critiques écrites individuelles. Les critères d’examen des demandes seront les suivants, sans toutefois s’y limiter :
  • l’originalité et la faisabilité du projet proposé et sa pertinence par rapport à la prévention et à la détection précoce du cancer
  • la possibilité d’interventions pratiques qui, dans des situations réelles, auront un impact direct sur la prévention et la détection précoce du cancer et perturberont le statu quo
  • le contexte et les fondements scientifiques du projet de recherche proposé
  • les qualifications et l’expérience des chercheurs qui dirigent l’équipe et des chercheurs qui participent aux travaux de celle-ci
  • le caractère approprié des méthodes pour les orientations de la recherche
  • le caractère approprié de la durée du projet et du montant d’argent demandé
  • l’intégration appropriée du sexe comme variable biologique et/ou du genre comme déterminant social de la santé, s’il y a lieu
Les demandeurs doivent penser à lire la page Admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour obtenir les détails sur les rapports scientifiques, la communication de l’information financière, la reconnaissance des bailleurs de fonds et les politiques de la Société canadienne du cancer. La demande de subvention peut être liée mais ne peut pas être identique à d’autres projets actuellement financés. Il incombe au demandeur d’aviser la SCC immédiatement si le projet devient admissible à une autre subvention pendant le processus de demande ou d’évaluation de ce concours.

Description des partenaires

Fondation Brain Canada (BC) est un organisme de bienfaisance national enregistré qui appuie l’excellence dans le domaine de la neuroscience au Canada. Grâce au Fonds canadien de recherche sur le cerveau, un partenariat novateur entre le gouvernement du Canada (par l’entremise de Santé Canada) et Fondation Brain Canada, la fondation encourage la recherche concertée, améliore les infrastructures de recherche, accroît la capacité de la communauté canadienne de recherche sur le cerveau et favorise l’accélération des découvertes afin de comprendre le cerveau, en santé et dans la maladie, pour améliorer la vie des canadiens et avoir un impact sociétal.

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est un organisme de bienfaisance national qui subventionne des projets de recherche novateurs, fournit des renseignements fiables sur le cancer, offre des programmes et des services pour aider les personnes touchées par le cancer et leurs familles à composer avec la maladie, et incite les gouvernements à apporter d’importants changements sociaux favorisant un mode de vie sain. La SCC a créé le Centre de soutien et de prévention du cancer (CSPC) afin d’accélérer la mise en application de la recherche, en particulier dans les secteurs de la prévention du cancer et de la survie au cancer. Grâce au CSPC, la SCC pourra jouer un rôle plus actif pour faciliter le transfert des connaissances et la diffusion des preuves scientifiques issues des travaux de recherche qu’elle finance.

L’Institut du cancer (IC) des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) a pour mandat d’appuyer la recherche visant à réduire le fardeau du cancer pour les personnes et les familles par des stratégies de prévention, le dépistage, le diagnostic, des traitements efficaces, des systèmes de soutien psychosocial et des soins palliatifs.

Dernière modification le: 21 juillet 2020