A A A

Emerging Scholar Award

Important note about eligibility:

Individuals may not hold a CCS Emerging Scholar Award (ESA) concurrently with other funding support of similar nature and goals. This means that recipients of salary awards and operating grants aimed at establishing the research program and/or advancing the career development of early career researchers at the time of the ESA funding start date (January 1, 2021) are not eligible to apply. These include, but are not limited to, Canada Research Chair awards, province-specific establishment grants, early career institutional chair awards and early career investigator operating grants.

Please review the eligibility and requirements section prior to creating an application.


Application guides can be found on the EGrAMS documentation for applicants page.

Competition Timeline:

LOI due: February 5, 2020
LOI results: early April 2020
Full applications due: July 7, 2020
Funding results: December 2020
Funding start date: January 1, 2021

Program description:

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is excited to launch the CCS Emerging Scholar Award program, aimed at establishing and advancing promising early career scientists and clinician scientists from across Canada with a focused commitment to undertaking cancer research. Through the CCS Emerging Scholar Award program, early career investigators will develop their cancer research programs in Canada and pursue important scientific advances of the highest quality and potential for impact. By making a significant investment in the advancement of our nation’s emerging scholars, CCS aims to the strengthen the future of the Canadian cancer research ecosystem.

Eligibility:

At the time of the award start date (January 1, 2021), applicants:
  • must be scientists or clinician scientists who hold a full-time appointment at an eligible Canadian research institution.
  • must be within 5 years* from the start of their first independent academic appointment (minimum assistant professor level, or equivalent).
  • must have (a) firm faculty appointment(s).
  • must not be recipients of awards aimed at advancing the career development of early career investigators (including CRCs).
*Career interruptions including, but not limited to, maternal and paternal leaves, extended sick leaves, medical leaves and family care will be considered, but must be described in the application. Justified career interruptions will not be included in the calculation of the five-year eligibility window.

In addition, applications must include a letter of commitment from the host institution guaranteeing the applicant protected time allocated to cancer research as well as a description of available mentoring support and resources provided. See below for more information.

CCS is committed to equity, diversity and inclusivity and strives to support all genders and backgrounds in its research programs. We welcome eligible applicants of diverse backgrounds to apply for our funding opportunities.

Funds available:

CCS is committed to supporting all areas and disciplines of cancer research and building capacity across Canada. Applications from the four pillars of health research (ie. biomedical; clinical; health services; and social, cultural, environmental and population health) are encouraged, and geographic and gender diversity will be strongly considered during the evaluation process.

Within the available funding envelope, we are aiming to fund competitive applications from across Canada in the following areas:
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Alberta)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (British Columbia)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Manitoba)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (New Brunswick)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Newfoundland and Labrador)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Nova Scotia)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Ontario)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (PEI)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Quebec)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Saskatchewan)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Prevention) (2-3 awards)
  • Emerging Scholar Award (Survivorship) (2-3 awards)
  • Successful applications must fall within the fundable range for CCS awards (>3.5).

    The current funding envelope for the ESA is $9M over 5 years, or 15 awards. Each award will be valued at $120,000 per year, tenable for 5 years. Awards will be non-renewable.

    Funding of up to $100,000 per year will be provided to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, salaries (trainees and research support staff), and equipment associated with the proposed work. $20,000 per year can be used for buy-out time from clinical or teaching duties (clinical applicants only) or professional development. Equipment requests cannot exceed 10% of the requested budget. Indirect costs are not eligible.

    Peer review:

    There will be a two-stage application and review process. Applicants will be required to submit a letter of intent (LOI) for review, and selected applicants will be invited to submit a full application. A multidisciplinary peer review committee consisting of scientific experts with broad expertise and with diverse geographical and gender representation from across Canada will be assembled to review the LOIs and full applications.

    Review Criteria:

    Applications will be assessed using the following criteria:
    • excellence of the applicant as demonstrated by their academic and publication record and research experience, including evidence of increasing independence
    • potential impact of the award on the applicant’s career path and trajectory
    • evidence of leadership qualities that would position the applicant to become a future leader in cancer research in Canada and internationally
    • the scientific merit of the proposed research and its potential impact on cancer prevention and/or control
    • institutional commitment and support provided by the host institution to ensure the success of the applicant
    • the content and quality of the applicant’s reference letters
    • degree to which the proposed research could ultimately address CCS’s mission to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life for people living with and beyond cancer
    The review panel will assess the above with due reflection and consideration for potential gender bias.

    Letter of Intent:

    The LOI submission will require the following:
    1. Applicant demographics and brief CV
    2. Scientific abstract
    3. Impact statement
    4. Brief scientific proposal
    5. Research team roles and responsibilities
    6. Draft budget
    7. Letter of commitment and support from the host institution

    Full application:

    1. Public (non-scientific) summary

    2. Scientific abstract (this can be updated from the LOI submission)

    3. Impact statement (this can be updated from the LOI submission). The statement should explicitly describe how the project will promote significant scientific advancements in cancer research, how the proposed work is of strategic value to the applicant’s institution/region/province as well as the impact of the award on the applicant’s career development.

    4. Scientific proposal, including the following:
    a. the aim(s) of the project
    b. experimental design, methods, and analysis. Previous work done in the area of research may be included.
    The proposal will contain no more than 5 pages (21,000 characters) of single-spaced text. In addition, 3 pages of data figures/tables/charts plus 2 pages of supporting non-data schematics/flow diagrams and their associated legends are allowed.

    5. Details and roles of team members involved in the proposed project

    6. Career development plan (maximum 2 pages) describing:
    a. the applicant’s previous training and research experience
    b. the applicant’s career development plan and goals, and how the CCS Emerging Scholar Award will enable the applicant to achieve these goals
    7. Mentorship plan (maximum 2 pages) describing the training strategies the applicant will implement to foster the growth of their research team. The applicant must clearly describe what best practices will be taken to ensure that training and development opportunities will be equitably provided to all members of the research team.

    8. Host institution’s commitment statement (1 page) (this can be updated from the LOI submission) including, but not limited to, the following:
    a. confirmation that the applicant holds a firm appointment
    b. confirmation that at least 75% of the applicant’s time will be allocated to cancer research
    c. description of the research environment, resources and mentoring support available to the applicant. In particular, detailed information on the following are requested: mentorship from senior investigators; evidence of start-up funds available to the applicant; a brief description of the dedicated research space provided; access to core facilities and research infrastructure; administrative support; and strategies that will be employed by the host institution to support the applicant in securing research funding (i.e. guidance on grant application development)
    d. confirmation that the host institution will provide the applicant access to an internal peer review process led by senior investigator colleagues during the tenure of the award, at a minimum.
    9. Budget justification related to the supplies, equipment and personnel associated with the research project. This must include the number of personnel required to complete the work and a description of their experience and/or education level and their commitment to the project.

    10. 3 letters of references supporting the applicant and the research program, one of which is from a former supervisor. At least two of the letters must be from a referee who is not affiliated with the host institution.

    Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding:

    There must not be substantive overlap (more than 50%) with any pending application (including those at the abstract or Letter of Intent submission stage) to any other Canadian Cancer Society Research program as of this competition due date. Duplicate applications will not be accepted. The onus is on the applicant to indicate the extent (or absence) of overlap.

    Grantees may not hold concurrent awards aimed at career development. This includes Canada Research Chairs (CRCs). Please contact CCS (research@cancer.ca) for more information.

    Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements section for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, Canadian Cancer Society policies on open access and tobacco related funding.

    Last modified on: February 10, 2020

Prix pour un chercheur prometteur de la Société canadienne du cancer

Remarque importante sur l'admissibilité:

Aucun individu ne peut être simultanément récipiendaire d’un Prix pour un chercheur prometteur et d’une autre forme de soutien financier dont la nature et l’objectif sont semblables à ceux d’un Prix pour un chercheur prometteur. Cela signifie que tout récipiendaire de bourses salariales et de subventions de fonctionnement visant à démarrer un programme de recherche ou à faire avancer sa jeune carrière de chercheurs, à la date de début du financement d’un Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (1er janvier 2021), n’est pas admissible à présenter une demande. Ces bourses et subventions comprennent, sans toutefois s’y limiter, le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, les subventions provinciales de démarrage, le financement de chaires décernées par des établissements aux chercheurs en début de carrière et les subventions de fonctionnement pour les chercheurs en début de carrière.

Veuillez lire la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations avant de créer votre demande.

On peut se procurer les guides de présentation des demandes à la page EGrAMS documentation for applicants (en anglais seulement). 

Échéancier du concours :

Date limite de réception de la lettre d’intention : 5 février 2020
Résultats de la lettre d’intention : mai 2020
Date limite pour la demande intégrale : 12 novembre 2020
Résultats du financement : avril 2021 (tentative)
Date de début du financement : 1er mai 2021 (tentative)

Description du programme :

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est ravie de lancer le programme des Prix pour un chercheur prometteur de la SCC, lequel vise à consolider et à faire progresser les carrières prometteuses de nouveaux chercheurs et cliniciens-chercheurs de l’ensemble du Canada qui sont particulièrement engagés à participer à la recherche sur le cancer. Grâce au programme des Prix pour un chercheur prometteur de la SCC, des chercheurs en début de carrière pourront établir leurs programmes de recherche sur le cancer au Canada et contribuer à d’importantes avancées scientifiques dont la qualité et les retombées potentielles seront très grandes. En offrant une subvention considérable pour faire avancer la carrière des chercheurs prometteurs canadiens, la SCC espère façonner un brillant avenir du milieu de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada.

Admissibilité :
Au moment où le prix entrera en vigueur (le 1er janvier 2021), les candidats devront :
• être des chercheurs ou des cliniciens-chercheurs occupant un poste à temps plein dans un établissement de recherche canadien admissible
• occuper leur premier poste universitaire indépendant (au minimum professeur adjoint ou l’équivalent) depuis moins de 5 ans*
• être titulaire d’une ou de plusieurs nominations permanentes au sein du corps professoral
• ne pas être les récipiendaires actuels de prix visant à faire avancer leur jeune carrière de chercheur (p. ex. Chaires de recherche du Canada)
* Les périodes d’interruption des activités professionnelles, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, les congés de maternité et de paternité ainsi que les congés de maladie, congés médicaux ou soins familiaux de longue durée, seront prises en compte; elles doivent cependant être clairement décrites dans le candidateur. Les périodes d’interruption justifiée des activités professionnelles ne seront pas incluses dans le calcul de la période d’admissibilité de 5 ans.

De plus, les candidatures devront comprendre une lettre d’engagement de la part de l’établissement hôte assurant que le candidat bénéficiera de temps réservé à la recherche sur le cancer et décrivant les ressources et les mesures de soutien offertes pour l’encadrer. Reportez-vous aux renseignements ci-dessous pour en savoir plus.

La SCC est attaché à l'équité, à la diversité et à l'inclusion et s'efforce de soutenir tous les genres et tous les antécédents dans ses programmes de recherche. Nous invitons les candidats éligibles de divers horizons à postuler à nos opportunités de financement.

Fonds disponibles :

La SCC s’engage à soutenir tous les domaines et toutes les disciplines de la recherche sur le cancer et à en augmenter les capacités partout au Canada. Les demandes touchant les quatre piliers de la recherche médicale (c.-à-d. la recherche biomédicale, la recherche clinique, la recherche sur les services de santé et la recherche sociale, culturelle, environnementale et axée sur la santé publique) sont les bienvenues. La diversité géographique et la diversité de genre occuperont également une place importante dans le processus d’évaluation.

À l’aide du montant de financement total disponible, nous prévoyons de répondre à des demandes concurrentielles à travers le Canada, dans les régions suivantes :
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Alberta)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Colombie-Britannique)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Manitoba)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Nouveau-Brunswick)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Nouvelle-Écosse)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Ontario)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Québec)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (Saskatchewan)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (prévention) (2 à 3 prix)
• Prix pour un chercheur prometteur (survie) (2 à 3 prix)
Les demandes retenues doivent se situer dans la fourchette de financement des prix décernés par la SCC (> 3,5).

Actuellement, le montant de financement total disponible pour le prix est de 9 000 000 $ sur cinq ans ou 15 prix. Chaque prix consistera en 120 000 $ remis chaque année pendant cinq ans. Les prix ne seront pas renouvelables.

Le financement accordé (jusqu’à 100 000 $ par année) devra servir à soutenir les coûts directs de la recherche, incluant les fournitures, les salaires (stagiaires et personnel de soutien de la recherche) et le matériel associés au projet proposé. Un montant de 20 000 $ par année peut être utilisé en remplacement des heures consacrées aux tâches cliniques ou à l’enseignement (candidats cliniciens seulement), ou encore au développement professionnel. Les demandes pour le matériel ne peuvent pas dépasser 10 % du budget demandé. Les coûts indirects ne sont pas admissibles.

Évaluation par les pairs :

Le processus de candidature et d’évaluation se déroulera en deux étapes. Les candidats devront présenter une lettre d’intention qui sera évaluée et les candidats retenus seront invités à soumettre une demande intégrale. Un comité multidisciplinaire d’examen par les pairs composé de scientifiques ayant une vaste expertise et provenant de diverses régions du Canada sera formé pour évaluer les lettres d’intention et les demandes intégrales.

Critères d’évaluation :

Les candidatures seront évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :
• excellence du candidat, déterminée par son dossier scolaire, ses publications et son expérience en recherche, incluant la preuve d’une indépendance croissante
• retombées potentielles du prix sur la carrière et le cheminement du candidat
• preuves que le candidat possède des qualités de meneur qui contribueront à ce qu’il devienne un futur chef de file dans la recherche sur le cancer au Canada et à l’échelle internationale
• mérite scientifique du projet de recherche proposé et retombées potentielles sur la prévention ou la lutte contre le cancer
• engagement de l’établissement hôte et soutien offert par celui-ci pour assurer le succès du candidat
• contenu et qualité des lettres de recommandation du candidat
• degré auquel le projet de recherche proposé pourrait ultimement faire avancer la mission de la SCC, qui est d’éradiquer le cancer et d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes qui en sont ou qui en ont été touchées
Le comité d'examen évaluera ce qui précède en prenant dûment en considération les éventuels préjugés sexistes.

Lettre d’intention :

Les éléments suivants devront être fournis avec la lettre d’intention :
1. Données démographiques et court CV du candidat
2. Résumé scientifique
3. Déclaration sur l’impact
4. Courte proposition scientifique
5. Rôles et responsabilités de l'équipe de recherche
6. Projet de budget
7. Lettre d’engagement et de soutien de la part de l’établissement hôte

Demande intégrale :

1. Résumé public (non scientifique)

2. Résumé scientifique (peut être une version mise à jour du résumé présenté lors du dépôt de la lettre d’intention)

3. Déclaration sur l’impact (peut être une version mise à jour de la déclaration présentée lors du dépôt de la lettre d’intention) : cette déclaration devrait décrire en termes explicites comment le projet permettra de promouvoir des progrès scientifiques majeurs dans la recherche sur le cancer, description de la valeur stratégique du projet proposé pour l’établissement/la région/la province du candidat, ainsi que l’impact de la bourse sur le développement de carrière du candidat.

4. Proposition scientifique, incluant les éléments suivants :
a. but(s) du projet
b. concept expérimental, méthodologie et analyse : Le travail mené précédemment dans le domaine concerné par la recherche peut être inclus.
La proposition ne doit pas excéder 5 pages (21 000 caractères) de texte à simple interligne. De plus, 3 pages de figures/tableaux/graphiques de données ainsi que 2 pages de schémas/organigrammes de soutien (n’illustrant pas de données) accompagnés de leurs légendes sont permises.

5. Renseignements (y compris le rôle) sur tous les membres de l’équipe participant au projet proposé

6. Plan de carrière (maximum de 2 pages) décrivant :
a. la formation antérieure et l’expérience de recherche du candidat
b. le plan et les objectifs de carrière du candidat, et comment le prix permettra au candidat d'atteindre ces objectifs
7. Plan de mentorat (maximum de 2 pages) décrivant les stratégies de formation que le candidat mettra en œuvre pour promouvoir la croissance de son équipe de recherche. Les candidats doivent décrire les meilleures pratiques qui seront adoptées pour garantir que les possibilités de formation et de perfectionnement soient fournies de manière équitable à tous les membres de l’équipe.

8. Déclaration d’engagement de l’établissement hôte (1 page) incluant entre autres les éléments suivants :
a. confirmation que le candidat occupe un poste permanent
b. confirmation qu’au moins 75 % du temps de travail du candidat sera dédié à la recherche sur le cancer
c. description du milieu de recherche, des ressources et du soutien offerts pour encadrer le candidat : la déclaration doit notamment fournir des renseignements détaillés sur l’encadrement par des chercheurs principaux, sur l’existence de fonds de démarrage accessibles au candidat, sur l’espace de recherche dédié fourni au candidat (brève description), sur l’accès aux installations centrales et à l’infrastructure de recherche, sur le soutien administratif ainsi que sur les stratégies que l’établissement hôte emploiera pour aider le candidat à obtenir du financement pour son projet de recherche (p. ex. accompagnement lors des demandes de subvention).
d. confirmation que l’établissement hôte s’assurera que le candidat a accès à un processus interne d’évaluation par les pairs mené par des collègues chercheurs principaux pour la durée du financement associé au prix, au minimum
9. Justification budgétaire concernant les fournitures, le matériel et le personnel liés au projet de recherche : cette justification doit comprendre le nombre de personnes requis pour mener à bien le projet, une description de leur expérience ou de leur niveau de scolarité ainsi que leur degré d’engagement par rapport au projet.

10. 3 lettres de recommandation appuyant le candidat et le programme de recherche, dont une rédigée par un ancien superviseur : au moins 2 des lettres doivent provenir de recommandataires qui ne sont pas affiliés à l’établissement hôte.

Demandes multiples/sources de financement multiples :

Il ne doit pas y avoir de chevauchement important (plus de 50 %) avec des demandes en instance (y compris celles qui en sont à l’étape du résumé ou du dépôt de la lettre d’intention) auprès de tout autre programme de recherche de la SCC à compter de la date d’échéance du présent concours. Les demandes en double ne seront pas acceptées. Il incombe au candidat d’indiquer l’étendue (ou l’absence) de tout chevauchement.

Les récipiendaires ne peuvent être simultanément récipiendaires d’autres prix visant à faire avancer leur carrière. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la SCC (research@cancer.ca).

Nous rappelons aux candidats de passer en revue la section Admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour en savoir plus sur la présentation de l’information scientifique et financière, la mention reconnaissant le fournisseur de fonds, les politiques de la SCC sur le libre accès et le financement lié au tabac.

Dernière modification le: 1 septembre 2020