A A A

Evaluation criteria

Bernard and Francine Dorval / William E. Rawls Prizes (early career prizes):

Nominees will be evaluated according to the criteria described below.

Overall contributions to cancer research and potential to lead to (or evidence of having led to) improved cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatments, care, support or cancer control will be considered.

Circumstances which may have impacted the nominee’s academic career progression and research productivity are taken into consideration, including but not limited to:
  • Additional training requirements and career interruptions (personal (including ‘two-body’ problem in academia*), family responsibilities, medical leaves, etc.) contributing to a non-linear or unconventional career trajectory
  • Inequitable distribution of institutional resources including start-up packages, laboratory or office space and formal mentorship
  • Historical policies and procedures that perpetuate biases in hiring, tenure and promotion
  • Biases in assignment of authorship roles in publications (e.g. first and last author roles)
  • Underrepresentation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities) among conference keynote speakers and/or panelists and invited lecturers

Expectations for excellence will be commensurate with the research discipline and relative career stage of the nominee.

Criteria:

  • Research productivity: nominee’s publication record in peer-reviewed journals, quality and type of scholarly work published, degree of contribution, number of citations, and continuity of publication production (barring any interruptions); other forms of research outputs including, but not limited to, conference proceedings, policy reports, patents, and commercialization products.
  • Research grant funding: as the lead investigator and as part of multi-investigator teams (noting that multi-investigator teams may require additional time/effort to generate successful outcomes); nominee’s role(s) and potential impact of contribution(s) to the team will be considered. 
  • Fellowships, honours, and/or awards received by the nominee; scope and relevance (i.e. provincial, national, or international) of distinctions received will be considered. 
  • Training the next generation of researchers: relative to career stage and other considerations (career interruptions, for example), evidence of participation in a meaningful way and to an appropriate degree towards the mentorship and support of trainees and fellows; evidence that trainees and fellows have been subsequently recognized for excellence themselves. 
  • Contributions made to date to scientific discipline: details of these and how critical they are/have been for advancing the knowledge in their immediate research field and the general scientific body of cancer research; potential for future contributions based on track record will be considered. 
  • Evidence (potential) of (for) leadership on a national and international scale: senior author publications in high quality journals (and citations thereof); success in securing peer-reviewed research funding as a lead investigator; invitations to present at national and international conferences; participation on peer review panels and other professional contributions; community outreach; forging national and international collaborations; and importantly, impact (or likelihood of impact) on cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, care and/or support in the Canadian population and internationally.

View the nominee rating scale for the Bernard and Francine Dorval & William E. Rawls Prizes (early career)

 

Robert L. Noble / O. Harold Warwick Prizes (established career prizes):

Nominees will be evaluated according to the criteria described below.

Overall contributions to cancer research and the significance of their accomplishments to cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, care, support or cancer control in Canada and internationally will be considered.

Circumstances which may have impacted the nominee’s academic career progression and research productivity are taken into consideration, including but not limited to:

  • Additional training requirements and career interruptions (personal (including ‘two-body’ problem in academia*), family responsibilities, medical leaves, etc.) contributing to a non-linear or unconventional career trajectory
  • Inequitable distribution of institutional resources including start-up packages, laboratory or office space and formal mentorship
  • Historical policies and procedures that perpetuate biases in hiring, tenure and promotion
  • Biases in assignment of authorship roles in publications (e.g. first and last author roles)
  • Underrepresentation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities) among conference keynote speakers and/or panelists and invited lecturers

Criteria:

  • Research productivity and outputs: nominee’s publication record in peer-reviewed journals, quality and type of scholarly work published, degree of contribution, number of citations, and continuity of publication production (barring any interruptions); other forms of research outputs including, but not limited to, conference proceedings, policy reports, patents, and commercialization products.
  • Research grant funding: as the lead investigator and as part of multi-investigator teams (noting that multi-investigator teams may require additional time/effort to generate successful outcomes); nominee’s role(s) and potential impact of contribution(s) to the team will be considered. 
  • Honours, and/or awards received by the nominee: scope and relevance (i.e. provincial, national, or international) of distinctions received will be considered. 
  • Training the next generation of researchers: relative to career stage and other considerations (career interruptions, for example), evidence of participation in a meaningful way and to an appropriate degree towards the mentorship and support of trainees and fellows; evidence that trainees and fellows have been subsequently recognized for excellence themselves and/or gone on to realize cancer research impacts themselves 
  • Contributions/discoveries made to cancer research: details of these and how critical they have been for advancing knowledge both in their immediate research field and for the general scientific body of cancer research; the importance of resulting impacts on cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, care, support or cancer control in Canada and internationally will be considered. 
  • Evidence of leadership on a national and international scale: recognition as an expert by peers, senior author publications in high quality journals, success in securing peer-reviewed research funding as a lead investigator, invitations to present at national and international conferences, participation on peer review panels, editorial boards and other professional contributions, community outreach, national and international collaborations will be considered; and importantly, demonstrated impact on cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, care and/or support in the Canadian population and internationally.

View the nominee rating scale for the Robert L. Noble & O. Harold Warwick Prizes (established career)

 

Canadian Cancer Society Lifetime Contribution Prize (established career prize):

Nominees will be evaluated according to the criteria described below.

Primary consideration will be given to the nominee’s contributions to cancer research that extend beyond traditional research accomplishments and outputs to have a significant impact on the Canadian cancer research ecosystem.

Circumstances which may have impacted the nominee’s academic career progression and research productivity are taken into consideration, including but not limited to:

  • Additional training requirements and career interruptions (personal (including ‘two-body’ problem in academia*), family responsibilities, medical leaves, etc.) contributing to a non-linear or unconventional career trajectory
  • Inequitable distribution of institutional resources including start-up packages, laboratory or office space and formal mentorship
  • Historical policies and procedures that perpetuate biases in hiring, tenure and promotion
  • Biases in assignment of authorship roles in publications (e.g. first and last author roles)
  • Underrepresentation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities) among conference keynote speakers and/or panelists and invited lecturers

Criteria:

  • Contributions to the Canadian cancer research ecosystem, and internationally, as applicable: vision and leadership in building networks, fostering collaborations, developing resources and infrastructure, and other contribution(s) that have/has significantly enhanced the cancer research ecosystem in Canada and internationally. The degree to which these contributions have impacted those affected by cancer, in Canada and internationally, as applicable, will be considered.
  • Other considerations (to a lesser degree) include:
    • research productivity and outputs: publication record in peer-reviewed journals, quality and type of scholarly work published, degree of contribution, number of citations, and continuity of publication production (barring any interruptions); other forms of research outputs including, but not limited to, conference proceedings, policy reports, patents, and commercialization products
    • research grant funding: as the lead investigator and as part of multi-investigator teams (noting that multi-investigator teams may require additional time/effort to generate successful outcomes); the nominee’s role(s) and potential impact of contribution(s) to the team. 
    • honours, and/or awards: scope and relevance (i.e. provincial, national, or international) of distinctions received will be considered. 
    • training the next generation of researchers: relative to career stage and other considerations (career interruptions, for example), evidence that the nominee participates in a meaningful way and to an appropriate degree towards the mentorship and support of trainees and fellows; evidence that trainees and fellows have been subsequently recognized for excellence themselves, including securing academic positions in cancer research 
    • participation on peer review panels, editorial boards and other professional contributions, as well as community outreach and advocacy

View the nominee rating scale for the Canadian Cancer Society Lifetime Contribution Prize (established career)

 

Canadian Cancer Society Inclusive Excellence Prize (any career stage prize):

Nominees will be evaluated according to the criteria described below.

Demonstrated leadership in the advancement of equity, diversity and inclusion leading to significant, measurable improvements in the diversity of Canada’s cancer research ecosystem will be considered.

Circumstances which may have impacted the nominee’s career progression and research productivity (where applicable) are taken into consideration, including but not limited to:

  • Additional training requirements and career interruptions (personal (including ‘two-body’ problem in academia*), family responsibilities, medical leaves, etc.) contributing to a non-linear or unconventional career trajectory
  • Inequitable distribution of institutional resources including start-up packages, laboratory or office space and formal mentorship
  • Historical policies and procedures that perpetuate biases in hiring, tenure and promotion
  • Biases in assignment of authorship roles in publications (e.g. first and last author roles)
  • Underrepresentation of individuals from the four designated groups (women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minorities) among conference keynote speakers and/or panelists and invited lecturers

Criteria:

  • Demonstrated leadership in the advancement of equity, diversity and inclusion as it relates to the Canadian cancer research ecosystem including but not limited to: administrative/committee work; development and implementation of programs/strategies/policies; and/or recruitment, training and mentorship activities
  • Evidence of impact: measurable (i.e. tangible) improvements in the diversity of Canada’s cancer research landscape as a result of nominee’s efforts in fostering inclusive excellence

View the nominee rating scale for the Canadian Cancer Society Inclusive Excellence Prize (any career stage)

* Refers to dual-academic couples facing the challenge of both individuals obtaining desirable positions within a reasonable commuting distance.

Last modified on: October 1, 2020

A A A

Critères d’évaluation

Prix Bernard et Francine Dorval et prix William E. Rawls (prix attribués à des chercheurs débutants) :

Les candidats seront évalués en fonction des critères décrits ci-dessous.

Les contributions globales à la recherche sur le cancer et leur potentiel d’améliorer la prévention, le diagnostic, les traitements, les soins, le soutien ou le contrôle du cancer (ou les indications qu’elles ont déjà mené à de telles améliorations) seront pris en compte.

Les circonstances particulières pouvant avoir eu une incidence sur l’avancement de la carrière universitaire du candidat et sur la productivité de sa recherche seront prises en considération, notamment :
  • Exigences de formation additionnelle et interruptions de carrière (dues à des raisons personnelles, dont un « problème à deux corps »* dans le milieu universitaire, des responsabilités familiales, des congés de maladie, etc.) ayant mené à un parcours professionnel non linéaire ou inhabituel
  • Distribution inéquitable des ressources institutionnelles, y compris des enveloppes de démarrage, de l’espace de bureau ou en laboratoire et des mentorats officiels
  • Politiques et procédures non mises à jour qui perpétuent les partis pris dans l’embauche, la titularisation et l’attribution des promotions
  • Partis pris lors de l’attribution des rôles des auteurs des publications (p. ex. premier auteur et dernier auteur)
  • Sous-représentation des personnes appartenant aux quatre groupes désignés (femmes, autochtones, personnes handicapées et personnes qui font partie des minorités visibles) parmi les conférenciers principaux ou les membres des comités et les présentateurs invités
Les attentes concernant l’excellence seront établies en fonction de la discipline de recherche du candidat et d’où il en est dans sa carrière.

Critères :
  • Productivité en recherche : historique des publications dans des revues évaluées par un comité de lecture, qualité et type de travaux universitaires publiés, degré de contribution, nombre de citations et continuité de la production de publications (en excluant les interruptions); autres formes de produits de la recherche incluant, de façon non exhaustive, les actes de conférences, les rapports sur les politiques, les brevets et les produits commercialisés.
  • Subventions finançant la recherche : à titre de chercheur principal et en tant que membre d’équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs (notez que les équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs peuvent avoir besoin de temps et d’efforts additionnels pour produire des résultats avec succès) – Les rôles du candidat et les retombées possibles de sa participation à l’équipe seront pris en compte.
  • Bourses, distinctions et prix reçus par le candidat – La portée et la pertinence (c.-à-d. échelle provinciale, nationale ou internationale) des distinctions reçues seront prises en compte.
  • Formation de la prochaine génération de chercheurs : en tenant compte d’où le candidat en est dans sa carrière et d’autres considérations (interruptions de carrière, par exemple), indications qu’il participe de façon significative et à un degré adéquat au mentorat et au soutien des stagiaires et des boursiers; indications que les stagiaires et les boursiers ont par la suite été eux-mêmes reconnus pour leur excellence
  • Contributions apportées à ce jour à la discipline scientifique : détails de ces contributions et importance de leur incidence sur l’avancement des connaissances dans le domaine de recherche du candidat et sur le corpus scientifique général de la recherche sur le cancer – Le potentiel de contributions futures sera pris en considération en fonction des réalisations passées.
  • Indications ou potentiel de leadership à l’échelle nationale et internationale : auteur en chef de publications dans des revues de haute qualité (et citations de ces publications); réussite d’obtention du financement de recherche avec évaluation par les pairs en tant que chercheur principal; invitations à être présentateur lors de conférences nationales et internationales; participation à des comités d’évaluation par les pairs et autres contributions professionnelles; portée communautaire; collaborations nationales ou internationales; en particulier, retombées (actuelles ou possibles) sur la prévention, le diagnostic, le traitement, les soins et le soutien du cancer pour la population canadienne et sur le plan international
Téléchargez l'échelle pour les Prix Bernard et Francine Dorval et William E. Rawls (chercheurs débutants) (en anglais seulement)

 

Prix Robert L. Noble et prix O. Harold Warwick (prix attribués à des chercheurs chevronnés) :

Les candidats seront évalués en fonction des critères décrits ci-dessous.

Les contributions globales à la recherche sur le cancer et l’ampleur des réalisations en matière de prévention, de diagnostic, de traitement, de soins, de soutien ou de contrôle du cancer au Canada et sur le plan international seront prises en compte.

Les circonstances particulières pouvant avoir eu une incidence sur l’avancement de la carrière universitaire du candidat et sur la productivité de sa recherche seront prises en considération, notamment :

  • Exigences de formation additionnelle et interruptions de carrière (dues à des raisons personnelles, dont un « problème à deux corps »* dans le milieu universitaire, des responsabilités familiales, des congés de maladie, etc.) ayant mené à un parcours professionnel non linéaire ou inhabituel
  • Distribution inéquitable des ressources institutionnelles, y compris des enveloppes de démarrage, de l’espace de bureau ou en laboratoire et des mentorats officiels
  • Politiques et procédures non mises à jour qui perpétuent les partis pris dans l’embauche, la titularisation et l’attribution des promotions
  • Partis pris lors de l’attribution des rôles des auteurs des publications (p. ex. premier auteur et dernier auteur)
  • Sous-représentation des personnes appartenant aux quatre groupes désignés (femmes, autochtones, personnes handicapées et personnes qui font partie des minorités visibles) parmi les conférenciers principaux ou les membres des comités et les présentateurs invités

Critères :

  • Productivité et résultats en recherche : historique des publications dans des revues évaluées par un comité de lecture, qualité et type de travaux universitaires publiés, degré de contribution, nombre de citations et continuité de la production de publications (en excluant les interruptions); autres formes de produits de la recherche incluant, de façon non exhaustive, les actes de conférences, les rapports sur les politiques, les brevets et les produits commercialisés.
  • Subventions finançant la recherche : à titre de chercheur principal et en tant que membre d’équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs (notez que les équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs peuvent avoir besoin de temps et d’efforts additionnels pour produire des résultats avec succès) – Les rôles du candidat et les retombées possibles de sa participation à l’équipe seront pris en compte.
  • Distinctions et prix reçus par le candidat : La portée et la pertinence (c.-à-d. échelle provinciale, nationale ou internationale) des distinctions reçues seront prises en compte.
  • Formation de la prochaine génération de chercheurs : en tenant compte d’où le candidat en est dans sa carrière et d’autres considérations (interruptions de carrière, par exemple), indications qu’il participe de façon significative et à un degré adéquat au mentorat et au soutien des stagiaires et des boursiers; indications que les stagiaires et les boursiers ont par la suite été eux-mêmes reconnus pour leur excellence ou ont eux-mêmes accompli des réalisations ayant eu des retombées pour la recherche sur le cancer
  • Contributions et découvertes liées à la recherche sur le cancer : détails de ces réalisations et importance de leur incidence sur l’avancement des connaissances dans le domaine de recherche du candidat et sur le corpus scientifique général de la recherche sur le cancer – L’ampleur des retombées sur la prévention, le diagnostic, le traitement, les soins, le soutien ou le contrôle du cancer au Canada et sur le plan international sera prise en compte.
  • Indications de leadership à l’échelle nationale et internationale : reconnaissance par les pairs en tant qu’expert; auteur en chef de publications dans des revues de haute qualité; réussite d’obtention de financement de recherche avec évaluation par les pairs en tant que chercheur principal; invitations à être présentateur lors de conférences nationales et internationales; participation à des comités d’évaluation par les pairs ainsi qu’à des comités de rédaction et autres contributions professionnelles; portée communautaire; collaborations nationales ou internationales; en particulier, retombées sur la prévention, le diagnostic, le traitement, les soins et le soutien du cancer pour la population canadienne et sur le plan international

Téléchargez l'échelle pour les prix Robert L. Noble et O. Harold Warwick (chercheurs chevronnés) (en anglais seulement)

 

Prix pour l’ensemble de la contribution de la Société canadienne du cancer (prix attribué à un chercheur chevronné) :

Les candidats seront évalués en fonction des critères décrits ci-dessous.

Les contributions du candidat à la recherche sur le cancer qui dépassent les réalisations et les résultats habituellement attendus en recherche et qui ont eu des retombées significatives sur l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada seront considérées en priorité.

Les circonstances particulières pouvant avoir eu une incidence sur l’avancement de la carrière universitaire du candidat et sur la productivité de sa recherche seront prises en considération, notamment :

  • Exigences de formation additionnelle et interruptions de carrière (dues à des raisons personnelles, dont un « problème à deux corps »* dans le milieu universitaire, des responsabilités familiales, des congés de maladie, etc.) ayant mené à un parcours professionnel non linéaire ou inhabituel
  • Distribution inéquitable des ressources institutionnelles, y compris des enveloppes de démarrage, de l’espace de bureau ou en laboratoire et des mentorats officiels
  • Politiques et procédures non mises à jour qui perpétuent les partis pris dans l’embauche, la titularisation et l’attribution des promotions
  • Partis pris lors de l’attribution des rôles des auteurs des publications (p. ex. premier auteur et dernier auteur)
  • Sous-représentation des personnes appartenant aux quatre groupes désignés (femmes, autochtones, personnes handicapées et personnes qui font partie des minorités visibles) parmi les conférenciers principaux ou les membres des comités et les présentateurs invités

Critères :

  • Contributions à l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada et sur le plan international, s’il y a lieu : vision et initiative pour créer des réseaux, entretenir des collaborations, élaborer des ressources ou des infrastructures et apporter d’autres contributions ayant fait ou faisant grandement progresser l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada et sur le plan international – L’ampleur des retombées de ces contributions sur les personnes touchées par le cancer au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde, s’il y a lieu, sera prise en considération.
  • Autres éléments (moins prioritaires) pris en considération :
    • Productivité et résultats en recherche : historique des publications dans des revues évaluées par un comité de lecture, qualité et type de travaux universitaires publiés, degré de contribution, nombre de citations et continuité de la production de publications (en excluant les interruptions); autres formes de produits de la recherche incluant, de façon non exhaustive, les actes de conférences, les rapports sur les politiques, les brevets et les produits commercialisés.
    • Subventions finançant la recherche : à titre de chercheur principal et en tant que membre d’équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs (notez que les équipes comptant de nombreux chercheurs peuvent avoir besoin de temps et d’efforts additionnels pour produire des résultats avec succès); rôles du candidat et retombées possibles de sa participation à l’équipe
    • Distinctions et prix reçus : La portée et la pertinence (c.-à-d. échelle provinciale, nationale ou internationale) des distinctions reçues seront prises en compte.
    • Formation de la prochaine génération de chercheurs : en tenant compte d’où le candidat en est dans sa carrière et d’autres considérations (interruptions de carrière, par exemple), indications que le candidat participe de façon significative et à un degré adéquat au mentorat et au soutien des stagiaires et des boursiers; indications que les stagiaires et les boursiers ont par la suite été eux-mêmes reconnus pour leur excellence, notamment en obtenant des postes universitaires dans le milieu de la recherche sur le cancer
    • Participation à des comités d’évaluation par les pairs ainsi qu’à des comités de rédaction et autres contributions professionnelles; sensibilisation et portée communautaire

Téléchargez l'échelle pour l’ensemble de la contribution de la Société canadienne du cancer (chercheur chevronné) (en anglais seulement)

 

Prix d’excellence en matière d’inclusion de la Société canadienne du cancer (prix attribué à n’importe quel point de la carrière d’un chercheur) :

Les candidats seront évalués en fonction des critères décrits ci-dessous.

Les initiatives pour promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion ayant mené à des améliorations significatives et mesurables dans la diversité de l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada seront prises en compte.

Les circonstances particulières pouvant avoir eu une incidence sur l’avancement de la carrière du candidat et sur la productivité de sa recherche (s’il y a lieu) seront prises en considération, notamment :

  • Exigences de formation additionnelle et interruptions de carrière (dues à des raisons personnelles, dont un « problème à deux corps »* dans le milieu universitaire, des responsabilités familiales, des congés de maladie, etc.) ayant mené à un parcours professionnel non linéaire ou inhabituel
  • Distribution inéquitable des ressources institutionnelles, y compris des enveloppes de démarrage, de l’espace de bureau ou en laboratoire et des mentorats officiels
  • Politiques et procédures non mises à jour qui perpétuent les partis pris dans l’embauche, la titularisation et l’attribution des promotions
  • Partis pris lors de l’attribution des rôles des auteurs des publications (p. ex. premier auteur et dernier auteur)
  • Sous-représentation des personnes appartenant aux quatre groupes désignés (femmes, autochtones, personnes handicapées et personnes qui font partie des minorités visibles) parmi les conférenciers principaux ou les membres des comités et les présentateurs invités

Critères :

  • Initiative pour promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion au sein de l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada, ce qui inclut, de façon non exhaustive : activités administratives ou participation à un comité; élaboration et mise en œuvre de programmes, de stratégies et de politiques; activités de recrutement, de formation et de mentorat
  • Indications des retombées : améliorations mesurables (c.-à-d. concrètes) dans la diversité du milieu de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada résultant des efforts du candidat pour encourager l’excellence en matière d’inclusion

Téléchargez l'échelle pour la prix d’excellence en matière d’inclusion de la Société canadienne du cancer (n’importe quel point de la carrière d’un chercheur) (en anglais seulement)

* Le « problème à deux corps » désigne une situation difficile où les deux partenaires d’un couple œuvrent dans le milieu universitaire et se voient chacun offrir un poste enviable à une distance de transport raisonnable l’un de l’autre.

Dernière modification le: 1 octobre 2020