You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Lesbian, bisexual & queer women and breast cancer screening

It can be hard to make breast screening a priority. Maybe you don’t identify with your breasts. Maybe you’re concerned that you may experience homophobia or biphobia at the screening facility. Perhaps you’re worried that a mammogram could be uncomfortable or upsetting. Or, maybe you just don’t want to think about cancer.

But if you’re a woman age 50 and over, it’s important to get screened for breast cancer. This means finding cancer before there are any symptoms by getting a mammogram every two years. Regular screening is the best way of finding breast cancer early, when treatment is most effective.

So, is it worth the hassle and discomfort? The answer is yes. Because your health is worth it. Because your body is worth it. Because cancer doesn’t discriminate. 

Find out more about breast cancer screening and answer questions that you might have.

Words matter

We refer to cancer in breast tissue as breast cancer, and to the tissue itself as breasts. That said, we recognize that some lesbian, gay, bisexual and queer women do not identify as having breasts, feel ambivalent about having breasts or perhaps prefer the term “chest.”


Explore related articles

Trans women and breast cancer screening

Trans men and chest cancer screening

Going for a mammogram (video)

Continue reading

A-|A|A+

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Dépistage du cancer du sein chez les femmes lesbiennes, bisexuelles et allosexuelles

Il peut être difficile de faire du dépistage du cancer du sein une priorité. Vous ne vous identifiez peut-être pas par vos seins. Vous vous préoccupez peut-être de faire face à l’homophobie ou à la biphobie dans l’établissement de dépistage. Vous vous préoccupez peut-être de l’inconfort associé à la mammographie. Ou bien, vous ne voulez tout simplement pas penser au cancer.

Si vous êtes une femme de plus de 50 ans, il est important de subir un dépistage pour le cancer du sein. Cela signifie trouver le cancer avant d’avoir des symptômes en passant une mammographie tous les deux ans.

Alors, est-ce que les tracas et l’inconfort en valent la peine? La réponse est oui. Parce que votre santé en vaut la peine. Parce que le cancer ne discrimine pas.

Obtenez plus d’information sur le dépistage du cancer du sein et des réponses aux questions que vous pourriez avoir.

Termes choisis

Certaines femmes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et allosexuelles (queers) ne s’identifient pas comme ayant des seins, se sentent ambivalentes ou préfèrent peut-être le terme poitrine. À des fins de clarté, dans ce site Web, nous désignerons le cancer dans les tissus mammaires comme cancer du sein et le tissu lui-même comme seins.


Explorez des articles connexes

Dépistage du cancer du sein chez les femmes trans

Dépistage du cancer dans la poitrine chez les hommes trans

Passer une mammographie (video)

Continuer la lecture

A-|A|A+