Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma gets its name because the lymphoma cells have characteristics of both lymphocytes and plasma cells. It is an uncommon type of B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL).

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma usually occurs in older adults. The average age at diagnosis is 60. It is usually slow growing (indolent). But it can sometimes change into a fast-growing (aggressive) type of NHL.

Symptoms

With lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma, the lymphoma cells are usually found in the bone marrow, lymph nodes and spleen. People with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma tend to bleed easily. They also have fatigue and weakness. Most people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma do not have B symptoms (unexplained fever, drenching night sweats and unexplained weight loss).

The lymphoma cells make varying amounts of a protein called immunoglobulin M (IgM, or macroglobulin). Higher than normal amounts of this protein in the blood can make it thick (called hyperviscosity syndrome). When this occurs, the condition is called Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia. This can lead to problems with circulation and less blood flow to the brain, the eyes or other organs, which can cause:

  • dizziness
  • headache
  • blurred vision or loss of vision
  • shortness of breath
  • numbness and tingling of the fingers or toes (called peripheral neuropathy)
  • muscle weakness
  • confusion

Treatments

You may be offered one or more of the following treatments for lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma.

Watchful waiting

Watchful waiting (also called active surveillance) may be offered for lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma because it develops slowly and may not need to be treated right away. The healthcare team will carefully monitor the person with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma and start treatment when symptoms appear, such as hyperviscosity syndrome, or there are signs that the disease is progressing more quickly.

Chemotherapy

People with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma who have symptoms or hyperviscosity syndrome are usually given chemotherapy. Chemotherapy drugs that may be used with or without prednisone include:

  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

Combinations of chemotherapy drugs that may be used include:

  • DRC – dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone), rituximab (Rituxan) and cyclophosphamide
  • BRD – bortezomib (Velcade) and rituximab, with or without dexamethasone
  • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone
  • R-CVP – CVP with rituximab
  • thalidomide (Thalomid) and rituximab

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells.

Targeted therapy drugs used alone or in combination to treat lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma include rituximab, bortezomib and ibrutinib (Imbruvica).

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy works by stimulating, boosting, restoring or acting like the body’s immune system to create a response against cancer cells. Immunomodulatory drugs are a type of immunotherapy that interferes with the growth and division of cancer cells.

Thalidomide is a type of immunomodulatory drug that may be used to treat lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma.

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy may be used to treat lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma that develops outside of the lymphatic system (called extralymphatic disease), but this is rare.

Stem cell transplant

Some people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma may be offered a stem cell transplant. It may be used if the lymphoma comes back (recurs) after treatment or doesn’t respond to other treatments (called refractory disease). Many people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma are older or may not be in good health, so a stem cell transplant may not be a good treatment option for them.

Stories

Dr Shawn Li I’m extremely grateful to the Canadian Cancer Society for funding my research with an Innovation Grant.

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how 16 factors affect your cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life! Presented in partnership with Desjardins.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire

Le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire est ainsi nommé parce que les cellules qui le composent ont des caractéristiques des lymphocytes et des plasmocytes. C'est un type rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) à lymphocytes B.

Le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire apparaît habituellement chez les aînés. L’âge moyen lors du diagnostic est de 60 ans. En général, il évolue lentement (indolent). Mais il se transforme parfois en un type de LNH qui évolue rapidement (agressif).

Symptômes

Dans le cas du lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire, on observe habituellement les cellules du lymphome dans la moelle osseuse, les ganglions lymphatiques et la rate. Les personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire ont tendance à saigner facilement. Elles éprouvent aussi de la fatigue et de la faiblesse. La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire n’ont pas de symptômes B (fièvre inexpliquée, sueurs nocturnes importantes et perte de poids inexpliquée).

Les cellules du lymphome fabriquent diverses quantités d’une protéine appelée immunoglobuline M (IgM, ou macroglobuline). Une quantité supérieure à la normale de cette protéine dans le sang peut le faire épaissir (syndrome d'hyperviscosité). Quand cela se produit, on parle de macroglobulinémie de Waldenström. Cette affection peut engendrer des troubles circulatoires et une diminution du débit sanguin vers le cerveau, les yeux ou d’autres organes, ce qui risque de causer les effets suivants :

  • étourdissements
  • maux de tête
  • vision légèrement floue ou perte de vision
  • essoufflement
  • engourdissements et picotements dans les doigts ou les orteils (neuropathie périphérique)
  • faiblesse musculaire
  • confusion

Traitements

On peut vous proposer l’un ou plusieurs des traitements qui suivent pour le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire.

Observation vigilante

On peut proposer l’observation vigilante, aussi appelée surveillance active,  pour le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire puisqu’il se développe lentement et n’a peut-être pas besoin d’être traité immédiatement. L’équipe de soins surveille attentivement la personne atteinte d’un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire et commence le traitement quand des symptômes apparaissent, comme le syndrome d'hyperviscosité, ou s’il y a des signes que la maladie évolue plus rapidement.

Chimiothérapie

On administre habituellement une chimiothérapie aux personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire qui ont des symptômes ou le syndrome d'hyperviscosité. Les agents chimiothérapeutiques qu’on peut employer avec ou sans prednisone sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

On peut avoir recours aux associations d'agents chimiothérapeutiques suivantes :

  • DRC – dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone), rituximab (Rituxan) et cyclophosphamide
  • BRD – bortézomib (Velcade) et rituximab, avec ou sans dexaméthasone
  • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone
  • R-CVP – CVP et rituximab
  • thalidomide (Thalomid) et rituximab

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales.

Les médicaments ciblés qu’on emploie seuls ou qu’on associe pour traiter le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire sont entre autres le rituximab, le bortézomib et l’ibrutinib (Imbruvica).

Immunothérapie

L’immunothérapie stimule, renforce, rétablit ou imite le système immunitaire du corps afin d’engendrer une réaction contre les cellules cancéreuses. Les immunomodulateurs sont un type de médicament immunothérapeutique qui nuit à la croissance et à la division des cellules cancéreuses.

La thalidomide est un type d’immunomodulateur qu’on peut employer pour traiter le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire.

Radiothérapie

On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie externe pour traiter un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire qui apparaît hors du système lymphatique (maladie extralymphatique), mais cela est rare.

Greffe de cellules souches

On peut proposer la greffe de cellules souches à certaines personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire. On peut y avoir recours quand le lymphome réapparaît (récidive) après le traitement ou quand il ne réagit pas à d'autres traitements (réfractaire). De nombreuses personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire sont âgées ou ne sont pas en bonne santé, alors la greffe de cellules souches risque de ne pas être une option de traitement adéquate pour elles.

  • Besoin de plus d’information?

    Appelez-nous sans frais au 1 888 939-3333

    « Ou écrivez-nous. Nous vous répondrons par courriel ou par téléphone si vous nous laissez vos coordonnées. Si nous ne pouvons pas vous joindre par téléphone, nous vous laisserons un message vocal. »

    Si vous êtes à l'extérieur du Canada

    Nous pouvons fournir des renseignements sur les soins et les services de soutien pour le cancer au Canada uniquement. Si vous recherchez un organisme de lutte contre le cancer dans votre pays, visitez les sites de l’Union For International Cancer Control ou de l’International Cancer Information Service Group.

Histoires

Je suis reconnaissante de la chance que nous avons eue, et je veux que toutes les familles aient la même. C’est pour cette raison que la Société canadienne du cancer figure dans mon testament.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez comment 16 facteurs peuvent affecter votre risque de cancer et comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie! Présenté en partenariat avec Desjardins.

Apprenez-en plus