You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Dr Michael Ohh

Bernard and Francine Dorval Prize co-recipient in 2010

Dr Michael OhhDr Ohh is an associate professor in the department of laboratory medicine and pathobiology at the University of Toronto. He is known for his paradigm-shifting work in the field of oxygen-sensing pathways in cancer development and progression. His work of deciphering these pathways at cellular and molecular levels has led to innovations in novel anti-cancer therapies. His laboratory is also an excellent training ground for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and clinician-scientists interested in basic cancer biology and translational research.

Dr Ohh received his PhD from the University of British Columbia in 1995 and was a Medical Research Council (CIHR) and National Cancer Institute of Canada postdoctoral fellow at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at Harvard Medical School prior to joining University of Toronto. He holds a Canada Research Chair in Molecular Oncology.

Dr Ohh has published over 50 peer-reviewed papers in high-impact journals such as Nature Medicine and Science with over 5,000 combined citations. He is frequently invited to present his concept-provoking ideas and findings at both basic research and clinical meetings in Canada, the United States and Europe. combined citations. He is frequently invited to present his concept-provoking ideas and findings at both basic research and clinical meetings in Canada, the United States and Europe.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Eleanor Rudd We realize that our efforts cannot even be compared to what women face when they hear the words ... ‘you have cancer.’

Read more

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Dr Michael Ohh

Prix Bernard et Francine Dorval corécipiendaire en 2010

Dr Michael OhhLe Dr Ohh est professeurs agrégé au Département de médecine de laboratoire et de biologie pathologique de l’Université de Toronto. On lui doit d’avoir proposé un nouveau paradigme relativement aux voies de détection de l’oxygène lors du développement et de la progression du cancer. Le décryptage qu’il a effectué de ces voies à l’échelle cellulaire et moléculaire a engendré des traitements novateurs contre le cancer. Son laboratoire constitue également un excellent lieu de formation pour les étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles, pour les boursiers postdoctoraux et les cliniciens-chercheurs intéressés par la biologie fondamentale du cancer et la recherche translationnelle.

Le Dr Ohh a obtenu son doctorat à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 1995 et a été boursier postdoctoral du Conseil de recherches médicales (IRSC) et de l’Institut national du cancer du Canada au Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (Harvard Medical School), avant d’entrer à l’Université de Toronto. Il est détenteur d’une chaire de recherche du Canada en oncologie moléculaire.

Le Dr Ohh a publié plus de 50 articles examinés par des pairs dans des revues influentes, telles que Nature Medicine et Science, avec plus de 5000 citations combinées. Il est souvent invité à présenter ses concepts et découvertes lors de réunions tant scientifiques que cliniques au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Rebecca and James Hamm Nous trouvions très important que la collecte se fasse en l’honneur de mon oncle, car c’était un formidable moyen pour nous de lui manifester notre solidarité.

Lisez l’histoire de James et Rebecca

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus