Innovative look at old molecule could lead to better outcomes for a hard-to-treat cancer

30 October 2013

GUELPH -

An unconventional way of looking at a long-known molecule has garnered a Guelph scientist new funding and could lead to better treatment options for lung cancer, the Canadian Cancer Society announced today in recognition of Lung Cancer Awareness Month in November.

With a low survival rate of only 17%, lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death in Canada, taking the lives of more Canadians than breast, prostate and colorectal cancers combined. Dr Roger Moorehead, Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Guelph, has been awarded $200,000 for new research looking at the role a molecule called Akt plays in lung cancer.

Researchers have been interested in Akt and its role in cancer growth for some time. In fact, a compound that inhibits this molecule is currently being tested in clinical trials for lung cancer. While it’s known that there are a few different forms of the molecule, the conventional view has been that all forms promote cancer growth.

However, Dr Moorehead and his team made an important discovery that challenges this widely accepted view. His team discovered that the forms of Akt are not the same and, in fact, one actually prevents cancer growth.

Dr Moorehead’s team will study two different versions of the Akt molecule in greater detail to further understand their effects. They will also examine whether using a compound that inhibits only the cancer-promoting form of Akt is a more effective treatment strategy for lung cancer than targeting all forms.

“I’m grateful for the Canadian Cancer Society’s funding because this support allows us to explore an unconventional idea that very few are examining,” says Dr Moorehead. “Seeing opposing actions for different forms of this molecule is not widely accepted. It is crucial that we examine this view further, as it could improve treatment for lung cancer and help save lives.”

Including the new Innovation Grant, Dr Moorehead has received a total of nearly $700,000 in research funding from the Society since 2009, and the Society is pleased to continue supporting his research and innovative ideas.

“We’re committed to investing in innovative research that takes a bold approach to cancer research, to help generate new ways to look at the cancer puzzle and find more effective therapies for patients, especially for hard-to-treat cancers such as lung cancer,” says Dr Siân Bevan, Director of Research, Canadian Cancer Society. “We couldn’t make this impact without the support of our donors and supporters.”

Quick facts

  • Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death for both men and women. In 2013, it is estimated:
    • 20,200 will die from lung cancer.
    • 9,200 will die from colorectal cancer
    • 5,000 women will die from breast cancer
    • 3,900 men will die from prostate cancer
  • Lung cancer deaths represent 27% of all cancer deaths in 2013.
  • 5-year relative survival (estimates for 2006–08): Males 14%; Females 20%.

About the Innovation Grants

The Society’s Innovation Grants were developed to support innovative and creative problem-solving in cancer research. The goal is to support unconventional concepts, approaches or methodologies to address problems in cancer research. A total of 37 new grants worth more than $7 million across the country were announced in August, with 18 in Ontario alone. The Canadian Cancer Society is the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada. For more information about the Society’s research funding, visit cancer.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Un regard novateur sur une molécule connue pourrait mener à de meilleurs résultats pour un cancer difficile à traiter

30 octobre 2013

Guelph -

Une manière non conventionnelle d’examiner une molécule bien connue a permis à un scientifique de Guelph d’obtenir une nouvelle subvention pour une recherche qui pourrait mener à de meilleurs choix de traitements pour le cancer du poumon, a annoncé la Société canadienne du cancer aujourd’hui pour souligner le Mois de la sensibilisation au cancer du poumon en novembre.

Avec un taux de survie faible de seulement 17 %, le cancer du poumon est la principale cause de décès par cancer au Canada, emportant plus de Canadiens que les cancers du sein, de la prostate et colorectal combinés. Le Dr Roger Moorehead, professeur au département des sciences biomédicales de l’Université de Guelph, a reçu 200 000 $ pour une nouvelle recherche qui examine le rôle d’une molécule appelée Akt dans le cancer du poumon.

Les chercheurs s’intéressent à la molécule Akt et à son rôle dans la croissance du cancer depuis quelque temps. En fait, un composé qui bloque cette molécule est présentement à l’essai dans des essais cliniques sur le cancer du poumon. Bien que nous sachions qu’il existe plusieurs formes différentes de cette molécule, l’explication classique est que toutes les formes stimulent la croissance du cancer.

Cependant, le Dr Moorehead et son équipe ont fait une découverte importante qui met en doute cette explication largement acceptée. Son équipe a découvert que les formes d’Akt ne sont pas les mêmes et, qu’en fait, une prévient la croissance du cancer.

L’équipe du Dr Moorehead étudiera plus en détail deux versions différentes de la molécule Akt afin de mieux comprendre leurs effets. Elle essaiera aussi de déterminer si l’utilisation d’un composé qui bloque seulement la forme d’Akt qui stimule la croissance du cancer est une stratégie de traitement plus efficace pour le cancer du poumon que de cibler toutes les formes.

« J’apprécie la subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer car ce soutien nous permet d’explorer une idée non conventionnelle que peu de chercheurs examinent », dit le Dr Moorehead. « Le fait de voir des actions opposées pour différentes formes de cette molécule n’est pas largement accepté. Il est crucial que nous examinions cette façon de la percevoir car cela pourrait améliorer le traitement du cancer du poumon et aider à sauver des vies. »

Incluant cette nouvelle Subvention pour l’innovation, le Dr Moorehead a reçu un total de presque 700 000 $ en subvention de recherche de la Société depuis 2009 et la Société est heureuse de continuer à appuyer sa recherche et ses idées novatrices.

« Nous sommes engagés à investir dans la recherche novatrice sur le cancer qui prend une approche audacieuse, afin de déterminer de nouvelles manières d’examiner le casse-tête du cancer et de découvrir des traitements plus efficaces pour les patients, surtout pour des cancers difficiles à traiter, comme le cancer du poumon », dit la Dre Siân Bevan, directrice de la recherche, Société canadienne du cancer. « Nous ne pourrions pas avoir cet impact sans la générosité des donateurs et des partisans. »

Quelques faits

Le cancer du poumon est la principale cause de décès par cancer chez les hommes et les femmes. En 2013, on estime que :

  • 20 200 personnes décéderont d’un cancer du poumon
  • 9 200 personnes décéderont d’un cancer colorectal
  • 5 000 femmes décéderont d’un cancer du sein
  • 3 900 hommes décéderont d’un cancer de la prostate

À propos des Subventions pour l’innovation

Les Subventions pour l’innovation de la Société ont été développées pour résoudre d’une manière innovatrice et créative des problèmes dans le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer. L’objectif est de soutenir des concepts, approches ou méthodologies non classiques pour aborder les problèmes de la recherche sur le cancer. Un total de 37 nouvelles subventions représentant un investissement de plus de 7 millions de dollars répartis partout au pays ont été annoncées en août, dont 18 en Ontario. La Société canadienne du cancer est le plus important organisme de bienfaisance national à subventionner la recherche sur le cancer au Canada. Pour plus d’information sur l’investissement de la Société dans la recherche, visitez www.cancer.ca.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, consultez notre site Web à www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026