You are here: 

National Impact Awards

The Canadian Cancer Society’s volunteer Impact Awards are the highest honour that an individual or a group of volunteers can receive. The volunteer Impact Awards recognize the remarkable generosity and commitment of our amazing collective of volunteers that go above and beyond to advance our mission.

From coast-to-coast, we are recognizing over 100 volunteers, participants and partners who are making a difference in the face of cancer in 2019 through Our Impact Awards.

We want to express our sincere congratulations to the winners of this year’s Impact Awards. We are deeply grateful for their support, time and energy in improving the cancer experience for the 1 in 2 Canadians who are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime. Together, we are a force-for-life in the face of cancer. We respect the privacy preferences of our recipients and not all award recipients are listed here.

For more information contact: 

  • 2019 National Awards

    Outstanding Youth Leadership
    Brysen Howe - Prairies

    Lifetime Achievement
    Darcy Hulston - Prairies

    Leadership in Public Policy
    Murray Gibson - Prairies

    Leadership In Community Engagement
    Grand Lodge of Manitoba Ancient and Accepted Masons - Prairies

    Inspirational Leadership
    Jennifer Traub - BCY

    Spring Yard Clean up for Cancer - Ontario

    Distinction in Mission Impact
    Dorey Fox - Prairies

    Corporate Champion
    The Baranyk Family, Pratts Wholesale Food Service - Prairies

    Community Team Spirit Nose Creek Kodiaks - Prairies

    Medal of Courage
    Cheryl Golosky - Prairies
    Yaslyma Ramsankar - Ontario

  • 2019 Regional Awards - Prairies

    Regional Community Team Spirit Award
    Riff Raff
    Nose Creek Kodiaks

    Regional Corporate Champion Award
    Kaizen Automotive Group
    The Baranyk Family, Pratts Wholesale Food Service

    Regional Dedication in Volunteerism Award
    Shirley Blythe
    Darcy Hulston

    Regional Distinction in Mission Impact
    Pattie Clark
    Dorey Fox
    Ed & Betty Macyk

    Regional Fundraising Award
    Carnival Cocktails for Cancer
    Rhonda MacDOnald - Gamers Giving Back

    Regional Inspirational Leadership Award
    Doug Dahl
    Eric Bennett
    Kirsty McGowan

    Regional Leadership in Community Engagement Award
    Jordana Buchan
    Grand Lodge of Manitoba Ancient and Accepted Masons
    Janet Dixie

    Regional Leadership in Public Policy
    Heather Gray
    Chase Genser
    Jeannie Labelle-Potvin
    Murray Gibson

    Regional Outstanding Youth Leadership Award
    Brysen Howe
    Shayne Merritt



Dr Peter Dirks A driving force behind relapse in childhood brain cancer

Read more

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more