Flavoured tobacco ban takes effect in Newfoundland & Labrador

30 June 2017

St. John's -

Starting on July 1, 2017 flavoured tobacco, including menthol, will no longer be sold in Newfoundland & Labrador. The Canadian Cancer Society applauds the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador for its leadership in working to implement policies to curb youth smoking.

“Legislation to ban the sale of flavoured tobacco, including menthol, will reduce smoking rates,” says Matthew Piercey, Executive Director of the Canadian Cancer Society, Newfoundland & Labrador. “Given that the overwhelming majority of smokers start smoking in their teen years, it’s critical that governments restrict tobacco products that attract youth,” says Piercey. “Tobacco products that taste like strawberry and chocolate in flashy packaging are attractive to children and encourage them to experiment with tobacco.”

Adult smoking rates in Newfoundland and Labrador have dropped from 28% in 2000 to 18.5% in 2014. This dramatic shift can be credited to changes in public policy and support programming. Late last year, Premier Ball committed to reducing the smoking rate in Newfoundland by four percent. “It’s critical that we continue to make inroad against tobacco related disease and death in Newfoundland,” says Piercey.  “Tobacco use is the leading cause of preventable disease and death in Canada and in Newfoundland and is responsible for nearly one-third of all cancer deaths.”

The Canadian Cancer Society advocates for healthy public policies to reduce cancer risk. The following outlines the need for the kind of legislation to be implemented on July 1.
  • The national Youth Smoking Survey for the 2012-13 school year found that of Newfoundland high school students who use tobacco, 53% use flavoured tobacco. And among Newfoundland high school students who smoke, 36% smoke menthol.
  • The new legislative measures will reduce youth tobacco use and will prevent tobacco-caused cancer and deaths
Newfoundland is the 7th province to implement a ban on flavoured tobacco. Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Alberta, Ontario, and Quebec have already implemented bans. 

In addition to flavoured tobacco, the new Newfoundland legislation will:
  • prohibit all water-pipe smoking in places where smoking is banned, making Newfoundland the 5th province to do so
  • prohibit retail displays of e-cigarettes, with an exception for e-cigarette specialty stores. Eight provinces have adopted similar legislation.

About the Canadian Cancer Society
5 years, the Canadian Cancer Society hasFor75 years, the Canadian The Canadian Cancer Society is a national, community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life of people living with cancer. Thanks to our donors and volunteers, the Society has the most impact, against the most cancers, in the most communities in Canada. Building on our progress, we are working with Canadians to change cancer forever. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).