A A A

Results chain framework

As funds awarded by the CCS are raised almost entirely through public donations, it recognizes that it is accountable to the public for the value it creates through research.  As such, CCS engages in ongoing progress monitoring and periodic evaluation studies to ensure that its programs and initiatives are relevant and aligned with its mission, as well as being successful, cost effective and sustainable. In other words, CCS strives to ensure that the research it funds has the most impact in the fight against cancers. It is important to note that in this context, research impacts refer not only to the impacts on cancer patients and the population at large (i.e. health and socio-economic impacts), but also the advancement of knowledge, capacity building and informing decision-making.

The CCS has implemented an approach to results planning, measurement, evaluation and reporting which has been based on what is known as a ‘Bennett hierarchy’ 1. The approach has informed planning activities and the reporting of progress for accountability, and is being used as a framework to monitor and evaluate CCS research impacts.

The ultimate goals of CCS research initiatives and programs are often ambitious and long term, such as having an impact on cancer incidence rates, cancer mortality rates or the quality of life of people living with cancer.  As such, it is imperative to develop strong program descriptions providing details not only on the intended long-term outcomes but the short-term and intermediate outcomes that precede it and the sequence in which they are likely to take place. The results chain hierarchy provides a simplified description of a program and is organized according to seven levels of results. It shows the logical relationships among the resources that are invested, the activities that take place, and the sequence of changes that result.

Underpinning the results chain hierarchy is the idea that CCS research programs are taking place within circles or spheres of influence 2:

  • In sphere 1 – the sphere of control – resources are spent, activities are conducted and outputs are delivered. In this sphere, choices are made about how much to invest in activities and services and their respective intensity. Levels 1 – 3 of the results chain hierarchy are understood to be operating in this sphere of control.
  • In sphere 2 – the sphere of direct influence – clients, intermediaries, partners or stakeholders are directly reached by a program’s activities or services.  The groups directly reached, and their reactions, use, knowledge, aspiration or behaviour changes represent the sphere of direct influence. Levels 3 – 6 of the results chain hierarchy are understood to be operating in this sphere of direct influence.
  • In sphere 3 – the sphere of indirect influence – change is sought in broad communities. The results in this sphere tend to be related to an organization’s mission or program’s ultimate goals. Levels 6 – 7 of the results chain hierarchy are understood to be operating in this sphere of indirect influence.

This figure shows the results chain hierarchy with the spheres of influence and the seven levels of events/results on the left-hand side along with the matching levels of evidence on the right-hand side.

The results chain hierarchy has been adapted by CCS to demonstrate the many ways in which research activities can have impacts. As shown in this example, key activities and results can be mapped vertically, according to the results chain hierarchy levels, and horizontally, across time and the research spectrum. The example should be read from left to right and from the bottom up. The results chain approach attempts to build in an appreciation of the multi-year build up of research results and knowledge, while showing both the short-term and intermediate outcomes that come before the long-term impacts and the sequence in which they are likely to occur. As such, it recognizes research activity as part of a science and innovation pathway of connections and shows the cause and effect relationships of research activity. This framework also shows how research impacts can feed back into the lower levels of the results chain potentially creating inputs for future research and influencing the diffusion and impacts of other research. Ultimately, these results categories can be tracked over time to tell a performance story.

CCS also published an article on the use of the results chain hierarchy in evaluating research impacts.

 

1 Bennett, Claude and Kay Rockwell 1995. Targeting Outcomes of Programs (TOP): an Integrated Approach to Planning and Evaluation. Nebraska, USA: Nebraska Cooperative Extension Service.

2 Montague, S 2000. Circles of Influence: an Approach to Structured, Succinct Strategy available at http://www.pmn.net/library/Circles_of_Influence_An_Approach.htm

Last modified on: September 22, 2017

A A A

Chaîne hiérarchique des résultats

Étant donné que les fonds octroyés par la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) reposent dans leur quasi‑totalité sur des dons publics, la Société estime avoir une responsabilité envers le public quant à la valeur qu’il crée grâce à la recherche. Dans cette optique, la SCC mène des études d’évaluation périodiques et surveille continuellement les progrès réalisés pour garantir la pertinence de ses programmes et initiatives et leur compatibilité avec la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer, ainsi que leur efficacité, leur rentabilité et leur viabilité. Bref, la SCC s’emploie à faire en sorte que les travaux de recherche qu’il finance aient l’impact le plus significatif dans la lutte contre le cancer. Il est important de noter que, dans ce contexte, l’impact de la recherche s’entend non seulement de l’impact pour les patients atteints d’un cancer et la population en général (c’est‑à‑dire l’impact sur la santé et l’impact socio‑économique), mais également de l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances, de la création de capacités et de la facilitation du processus décisionnel.

La Société canadienne du cancer a mis en œuvre une méthode de planification, de mesure, d’évaluation et de présentation des résultats qui repose sur une théorie appelée la « hiérarchie de Bennett » [1]. Cette méthode a sous‑tendu les activités de planification et les rapports de progrès s’inscrivant dans le cadre de la politique de responsabilisation, et sert actuellement de cadre à la surveillance et à l’évaluation de l’impact des travaux de recherche subventionnés par la SCC.

Les objectifs ultimes des programmes et projets de recherche subventionnés par la SCC sont souvent ambitieux et s’inscrivent dans le long terme. Ils consistent notamment à avoir un impact sur l’incidence du cancer, sur les taux de mortalité par cancer et sur la qualité de vie des personnes aux prises avec le cancer. Il est donc impératif de décrire les programmes avec force de détails, non seulement sur les résultats attendus sur le long terme mais également sur les résultats à court terme et à moyen terme qui les précèdent et sur l’ordre dans lequel ils devraient être atteints. La chaîne hiérarchique des résultats fournit une description simplifiée d’un programme. Elle est structurée en sept niveaux de résultats et indique les liens logiques entre les ressources investies, les activités entreprises et la suite de changements qui en résulte.

L’idée qui sous‑tend la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats est la suivante : les programmes subventionnés par la SCC sont déployés à l’intérieur de cercles ou de sphères d’influence [2] :

  • Dans la première sphère, la sphère du contrôle, les ressources sont affectées, les activités sont exécutées et les résultats sont obtenus. Dans cette sphère, des choix sont faits quant au montant des investissements dans les activités et services et quant à l’importance respective des activités et services concernés. Les niveaux 1 à 3 de la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats se situent dans cette sphère de contrôle.
  • Dans la deuxième sphère, la sphère d’influence directe, les clients, les intermédiaires, les partenaires ou les intervenants sont directement touchés par les activités ou les services s’inscrivant dans le cadre du programme. Les groupes directement touchés et leurs réactions, leurs habitudes d’utilisation, leurs connaissances, leurs aspirations ou leurs changements de comportement font partie de la sphère d’influence directe. Les niveaux 3 à 6 de la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats se situent dans cette sphère d’influence directe.
  • Dans la troisième sphère, la sphère d’influence indirecte, le but est d’opérer un changement qui intéresse les collectivités au sens large. Les résultats qui entrent dans cette sphère sont souvent liés à la mission de l’organisme ou aux buts ultimes du programme. Les niveaux 6 et 7 de la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats appartiennent à la sphère d’influence indirecte.

Les diagrammes qui suivent illustrent la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats. Les sphères d’influence et les sept niveaux d’événements/de résultats sont indiqués dans la partie gauche alors que les niveaux de preuves correspondants sont indiqués dans la partie droite.

La chaîne hiérarchique des résultats a été adaptée par la SCC pour illustrer les multiples façons dont les activités de recherche peuvent avoir un impact. Comme le montre l’exemple ci‑dessous, les activités et les résultats clés peuvent être envisagés à la verticale, en fonction des niveaux de la chaîne hiérarchique des résultats, et à l’horizontale, en fonction du temps et du champ de la recherche. Il faut lire l’exemple de gauche à droite et de haut en bas. La méthode de la chaîne de résultats vise à se faire une idée des résultats de la recherche et des connaissances accumulés au fil des ans tout en indiquant les résultats à court terme et à moyen terme qui précèdent l’impact à long terme ainsi que l’ordre dans lequel ils sont susceptibles d’être observés. Elle permet ainsi d’appréhender la recherche, en tant qu’activité dans le cadre d’un réseau axé sur les innovations et les connaissances scientifiques, tout en indiquant les liens de causalité inhérents à cette activité. Ce cadre indique également l’impact « à rebours » que peut avoir la recherche sur les niveaux inférieurs de la chaîne des résultats, impact qui peut créer les moyens nécessaires à la conduite de recherches ultérieures ou qui peuvent influencer la diffusion et l’impact d’autres travaux de recherche. Enfin, ces catégories de résultats peuvent faire l’objet d’un suivi dans le temps et permettre ainsi d’établir l’historique de la performance.

[1] Bennett, Claude et Kay Rockwell, 1995. Targeting Outcomes of Programs (TOP): an Integrated Approach to Planning and Evaluation. Nebraska, États‑Unis : Nebraska Cooperative Extension Service.

[2] Montague, S., 2000. Circles of Influence: an Approach to Structured, Succinct Strategy. Accessible depuis http://www.pmn.net/library/Circles_of_Influence_An_Approach.htm 

 

Dernière modification le: 22 septembre 2017